We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dolphin Discovery Centre

Features Animals
Lot 830 Koombana Drive, Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia
+61 8 9791 3088
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
$42.95*
and up
90-Minute Dolphin Discovery Centre Eco Cruise
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
In May 2017 the Dolphin Discovery Centre began its redevelopment to improve and add to their existing facilities. Construction work began and our volunteer building and research room has been moved off its existing site to the block next door in preparation for our building the new Café/Restaurant. At the same time that this is happening the City of Bunbury is constructing a Coastline Revetment Wall for coastal protection, Department of Parks and Wildlife are building across the road and the Waterfront Project has begun with new landscaping and bridge work along Koombana Bay. So our area looks like an industrial zone BUT in fact we are still operating full steam throughout this whole process. Our Dolphin Eco Cruises will operate year round subject to weather and our Swim with Wild Dolphins will be operating next summer as usual. Much of the disruption will be finished by December and there will be new assets along Koombana Bay including a substantial playground, additional parking , a kiosk and a beach auditorium. The entire process for the DDC redevelopment including the new interpretive experience will be completed by November 2018 however elements will be progressively delivered. Entry to the DDC will be free over the winter months where most disruption is likely to occur so pop in and see what is happening. At times we might have alternate access to the beach for any dolphin visits and boat departures over the next 8 months. There are a lot of exciting times ahead and we appreciate your support through the process of building our new Café and Discovery Centre. The Dolphin Discovery Centre in Bunbury WA is 90 minutes south of Perth. Koombana Bay is home to local wild Bottlenose Dolphins who regularly visit the interaction zone at peak times during the year. Swim with Wild Dolphins or Dolphin Eco Cruises are a great opportunity to interact with the dolphins in their own environment. The philosophy behind the centre is to promote research, conservation and education of the Bottlenose Dolphins and other native marine life. The centre operates October to April 8am - 4pm (closed Christmas Day) and May to September 9am - 2pm.
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good32%
  • Average11%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“octopus” (50 reviews)
“eco cruise” (27 reviews)
“boat trip” (22 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
LOCATION
Lot 830 Koombana Drive, Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 8 9791 3088
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 160 of 522 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2016

We enjoyed our time here although the dolphins didn't come in to close(better in summer). The staff were helpful and well informed. we enjoyed the feeding of the eels and octopus! The dolphin shows/video/3d made you feel like you were under the water with them....More

Thank Leon P
DDCBunbury, Manager at Dolphin Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2016

Thank you for visiting us at the Dolphin Discovery Centre and for taking the time to write a review about the centre. It sounds like you truly enjoyed and took advantage of what the centre has to offer, which is awesome. The digital dolphinarium is...More

Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

My family and I visited the dolphin discovery centre in April 2016. It was a terrible experience, the worst we have ever had. Let's start with the 'Discovery Room' where you can find nothing but a turtle in a ridiculously tiny aquarium where it cannot...More

1  Thank Tom G
DDCBunbury, Manager at Dolphin Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for visiting us at the Dolphin Discovery Centre. I am very concerned to hear that you had such a disappointing experience, we usually receive positive feedback and strive to make a visitors experience as...More

Reviewed June 17, 2016

I had not previously visited the Centre so decided to accompany my wife and grandkids. Limited displays in tanks but kept the young ones happy, I did enjoy the theatre room and 3D display, very informative. Staff and/or volunteers very pleasant and willing to assist...More

Thank Dan L
DDCBunbury, Manager at Dolphin Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2016

Thank you for visiting us at the Dolphin Discovery Centre and for writing a review on Tripadvisor. I am very happy to hear that you experienced a good time while at the centre. We pride ourselves in being very child friendly and very interactive for...More

Reviewed June 10, 2016

One of those nice places to see Dolphins. It now has 3 free visits with no expiry date. Friendly staff!More

Thank yongtzewoon
DDCBunbury, Manager at Dolphin Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2016

Thank you for visiting us at the Dolphin Discovery Centre and for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We value all our feedback, especially as our funding has now been approved and we will be moving into a redevelopment phase soon. So...More

Reviewed June 5, 2016

As a local with children I have visited many times. The dark 360 theatre room is an amazing way to experience what it like for dolphins living in the ocean. If you are there around 11am you can usually watch the local dolphins swim by...More

Thank Robyn C
DDCBunbury, Manager at Dolphin Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2016

Thank you for visiting us at the Dolphin Discovery Centre and for your continued support. As a local you will get to watch the centre change from what it is now, to our redevelopment phase over the next two years, which should include a much...More

Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

Not worth a special trip but, if you are passing, don't miss it! No dolphins seen today but lots of good info and very knowledgable staff. The feeding of the octopus was especially noteworthy - what an amazing creature!More

Thank André U
DDCBunbury, Manager at Dolphin Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2016

Thank you for visiting us at the Dolphin Discovery Centre and for taking the time to write a review about us here at the centre. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit our Octopus feeding tends to be a favourite among our visitors and...More

Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

Several visits to the Discovery Centre over the years but this place is still magic! You are dealing with wild creatures and if they visit it is a bonus,if they do not,just come again and chance your luck. All the volunteers are dedicated to "the...More

Thank Iain S
DDCBunbury, Manager at Dolphin Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to visit us at the Dolphin Discovery Centre and for writing a review. I am delighted to hear that you have had an enjoyable experience on many occasions. Please come back and visit us when we move to our...More

Reviewed May 23, 2016

We went on the spur of the moment with our two sons. Entry was only 25 dollars and whilst we were there a family or a pod of dolphins came into the bay and we were urged to go into the bay were i waded...More

Thank Sean H
DDCBunbury, Manager at Dolphin Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2016

Thank you for your review we appreciate the feedback. How amazing that you got a wonderful experience with the wild dolphins of Koombana Bay in our interaction zone. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at the Dolphin Discovery...More

Reviewed May 16, 2016

Arrived at opening time and lucky enough that one dolphin came in to visit twice to check us out in the shallows. Did a dolphin watching boat trip and saw plenty of bottle ose dolphins quite close up. Just before we went on the trip,...More

Thank Elspeth-N
DDCBunbury, Manager at Dolphin Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback. I am so glad you had a wonderful time in our Interaction Zone with our wild dolphins and on our Eco Cruise. The dolphins which visit the Interaction Zone are wild animals and for this reason...More

Reviewed May 14, 2016 via mobile

We visited this centre on the way down the WA coast. I know Dolphins were never guaranteed and they give you 2 extra free visits if you see no Dolphins but the centre is pretty primitively and disappointing. Having more opportunities to see the Dolphins...More

Thank Paul B
DDCBunbury, Manager at Dolphin Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for visiting the Dolphin Discovery Centre. I am very disappointed to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience however you are made aware that we are working with wild dolphins when purchasing...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Corners on King
617 reviews
.57 miles away
Mojo's
343 reviews
.72 miles away
The Happy Wife
206 reviews
.55 miles away
Parade Hotel
54 reviews
.56 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Koombana Bay
181 reviews
.33 miles away
Marlston Hill Lookout Tower
137 reviews
.82 miles away
Bunbury Visitor Centre
76 reviews
.68 miles away
Leschenault Inlet
42 reviews
.30 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
automatic018
October 15, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from DDCBunbury | Property representative |
You can either leave the stroller with our staff at the centre and then just take your 4 year old on board, they are free to walk around - the vessel has high sides and is very stable. There is a short beach walk to board... More
0
Votes
automatic018
October 15, 2017|
Answer
Response from bandclavell | Reviewed this property |
Yes suitable for all ages and very family friendly. If you google Dolphin Discovery Centre Bunbury you can get all details. Operating hours, costs etc. It is undergoing renovations but understand still operating.
0
Votes
Marsya_tron
August 16, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from John V | Reviewed this property |
Enjoy your free visit. Obviously it is free because of the disruption but, if you can put up with that and know about it in advance, you should have a good time. I am sure, however, that they will appreciate a donation
1
Vote