Game Over

Game Over, Queenstown: Hours, Address, Game Over Reviews: 4.5/5

Auto Racing Tracks • Game & Entertainment Centers
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
About
Game Over is Queenstown's most exciting indoor entertainment centre - Located at Remarkables Park, Frankton and only minutes from Queenstown Airport, we offer a Grand Prix Indoor Karting track with state of the art electric go-karts! We offer high speed Italian built go-karts, around our exciting 290m track with a unique bridge and tunnel! There is plenty of fun to be had for the whole family, or challenge your mates to beat your time! Game Over's Lazer Tag is a live action packed 250 square metre lazer arena with the latest technology, lighting and sound. You'll be kitted out in all the gear for entering the Jurassic Arena - There are plenty of spaces to hide but nowhere is completely safe! Watch out for the opposition and the dinosaurs! Plus....check out Lazer Web Maze, Sports Challenge and much more! Game Over is also the ultimate destination for your next birthday party or corporate event. For an exciting experience like nothing else, visit Game Over Queenstown! Open 7 days, from 10am. Whatever the weather.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Popular mentions

4.5
351 reviews
Excellent
246
Very good
65
Average
21
Poor
7
Terrible
12

Allan T
129 contributions
Tagged & left behind
Sep 2021 • Family
We booked a game of Lazer tag, 9 of us we had so much fun, we booked another game & also a blast on the electric go carts "O for awesome" best fun in ages.
Go carts just keep your foot flat to the floor, she'll be right!
Written October 14, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Clo871
Queenstown, New Zealand6 contributions
So much fun!
Mar 2021
We did the laser tag as a staff day out together. It was so much fun! I 100% recommend it. There was 15 of us and we did 3 'missions' in the laser tag room. I highly recommend doing 3, as they are only 15 minutes each and it does get addictive once you figure out the good hiding spots. I haven't laughed that much in ages! The girl that did our briefing was friendly and helpful and made it all easy to understand.
I also strongly recommend light clothing because it gets very hot and sweaty in there!
Written March 2, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jesse Haskins
Dunedin, New Zealand9 contributions
Hot lap!
Jan 2021 • Couples
When we arrived I was a little bit disappointed in the price of the kart race, but was soon impressed by the course and even how well everything is explained especially from a health and safety stand point, really really enjoyed myself and so did my partner! Will be returning this week defintly
Written January 24, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Jessehaskins, Thanks for taking the time to provide a review - we're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves! Hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, The Game Over team
Written February 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Thurston 245
1 contribution
Brilliant
Jan 2021 • Family
Great experience, kids loved it. Friendly staff that made the experience even better. Would definitely recommend
Written January 24, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Thurston245, Thanks for taking the time to review us - we're so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves! We hope to see you again next time you're in Queenstown! Warm regards, The Game Over team
Written February 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

dallasbaird
Cromwell, New Zealand70 contributions
Fun times
Jan 2021
Our 11 and 9 year old grandsons had a ball on the go karts. They are keen to go back to improve their times, especially our oldest grandson who got fastest lap this month
Written January 19, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI dallasbaird, Thank you for taking the time to review us - we're so pleased that your grandsons enjoyed it! We hope to see you all again soon so the boys can set another fastest lap! Warm regards, The Game Over team
Written February 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

PBJ
Wanaka, New Zealand6 contributions
Perfect Party for our 9-year old and her friends!
Dec 2020
We celebrated our daughter's 9th birthday with 4 of her friends; totally wonderful! The kids were beside themselves the whole time, and the attendants (Paul and John?) were beyond helpful. We booked a party package that included snacks, drinks, lazer tag and a junior kart race. We also chipped in for each kid to have a go in the arcade, which was a big hit. Overall, this was so easy for the adults and so fun for the kids. A few of ours weren't keen on karting and the staff treated them to extra credits at the arcade. Lazer tag is a must do, everyone felt like a badass!
Written December 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi PBJHutter, Thanks for taking the time to review us - we're so pleased that everyone enjoyed the birthday party so much. Paul and Joe truly appreciated the positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, The Game Over team
Written February 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Johncena
1 contribution
Not Great
Nov 2020
Not a great experience here... You will find the laser tag more annoying than fun as you spend more time waiting for your timer to go down than you do shooting. The area you play in is really small and cramped I fell over 3 or 4 small kids in my one game. Worst of all is the arcade. All the machines are 2 dollars a play, which is extremely expensive compared to the timezone arcades around the country and the games last about 30 seconds each. As for the sports simulator it hardly works at all and the tracking of the ball is so poor its borderline unplayable. Overall I'd give this absolute shambles a miss and head over to site or literally anywhere else.
Written December 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Jonathancena, From our perspective it's always intriguing when someone joins Trip Advisor for the first time with the sole intention of giving a bad review - we're sorry that you felt so negatively about us that you needed to do that. It's a shame you didn't discuss your concerns with one of us on the day as perhaps we could have helped make you feel better. For the benefit of customers reading your review I'd just like to clarify a few points: 1. Our laser tag equipment is world leading and features in arenas in all NZ's biggest cities, as well as Australia and the US. We follow the suppliers recommendations with regard to 'down-time' after a laser hit. 2. The arena is large enough to be enjoyable. Describing it as 'small and cramped' is untrue. We deliberately limit the number of players to ensure an enjoyable experience. 3. Laser tag is good for anyone 4+ who wants to play and we mix the groups. The vast majority of groups have a great time. If this was not the case for you then I wish you would have let us know at the time so that we could have fixed it. 4. In terms of the arcade, again what you have said is untrue as we are not more expensive than Timezone. Different games are different lengths and some of our games including Terminator (5 mins); Crazy Speed (5 mins) and Jurassic Park (5 mins) are set the maximum time settings from the manufacturer. $2 for 5 minutes entertainment in an arcade is a good deal. Overall though, we wholeheartedly dispute your use of the word 'shambles' to describe us. Our facility, team members and processes are impeccable. Once again, if you had discussed your concerns with us on the day we would have gone out of our way to fix them. We are not in the business of making people unhappy. Warm regards, The Game Over team.
Written February 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Craig
1 contribution
Dull,dull and dull, a bit like the weather on the day.
Oct 2020
In the thrill filled capital of the Southern Hemisphere comes the most dull and controlled go carts this side of a teacup and saucer ride at a children's funfair.
I have been on many adult electric go carts over the years and these are by far the slowest and most controlled one's yet, you are basically a 'passenger' while the guy controlling you, yes, controlling your speed, is trying his best to stop you having any fun/excitement that you thought you were going to have, and don't you dare to try and race or overtake anyone because 'daddy' will shut you down with his remote control and give you a warning.
I understand safety will always be at the forefront of their operation but please let people have a little bit of fun, I barely touched one of the carts as I was trying get passed a slower rider, SHUT DOWN!! How absurd of me to think I was in a race.
It's good for kids but not for adults seeking a bit of fun.
If you want excitement of this sort go on the luge instead of wasting your money on remote controlled cars.
Written October 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hey Taff_Robbo, We aim to please and the vast majority of our customers have a great time. They absolutely love our go-karts and many return several times in the same trip. Obviously not the case for you. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Queenstown. Kind regards, The Game Over team
Written December 14, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Emily G
1 contribution
Awesome fun
Sep 2020
We had some friends come to town with their kids and we went to Lazer tag 4 days in a row!!! OMG such fun, if my daughter didn't have a broken wrist we would have been go karting each day also. The staff are so friendly, helpful and made the kids feel really special, I couldnt fault the place. Go there, have fun!!!
Written September 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hey EmilyG3212, Thanks for the awesome review! Pleased you all enjoyed it and we look forward to seeing you again! Warm regards, The Game Over team
Written December 14, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jesse M
3 contributions
Go-Karting and Lazer Tag
Aug 2020
Well after a small stuff up on our part booking the wrong day, the manager at Game Over still honoured our booking as we weren't going to be in town.

We were the only group in the whole building. The Go Karts were so fun, pretty fast, and the operator allowed us to have a few extra laps which was incredibly generous. The lazer tag was epic as well.

Just wanted to say a massive thank you to the staff working the afternoon of 26th August- you were so welcoming and easy to get along with. Thank you for a great end to our couple of days in Queenstown
Written August 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hey jissibru, Thanks for the awesome review! Pleased you all enjoyed it and we look forward to seeing you again! Warm regards, The Game Over team
Written December 14, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 347
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Game Over

Game Over is open:
  • Sun - Sat 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM