Odyssey Sensory Maze
Odyssey Sensory Maze
4
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
About
As you journey through Odyssey you will experience amazing illusions, lights, sound effects, quirky obstacles and strange sensations that will invigorate and indulge your senses!
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Admission tickets
from $19.99
All you need to step foot in the door.

Top ways to experience Odyssey Sensory Maze and nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles323 reviews
Excellent
142
Very good
89
Average
49
Poor
14
Terrible
29

Jacky
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2020 • Family
This is our second time here, thought we would give them a second chance. Sadly, this would be our last time here. Spent $143 for 10min.
Lady at the counter has an accent and looks to be in a boring job, hence not very exciting in talking to my wife.
No toilet offered onsite, and were told to go accross the road using the public toilet near lake....

Will never come back again!
Written November 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kia Ora JLO0114, Thanks for taking the time to review Odyssey Sensory Maze. We’re sorry to hear you had mixed feelings about your experience. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience through Odyssey Sensory Maze. We have thousands of visitors every year who absolutely love their experience so we're sorry to hear you didn't fall into this camp. We’re sorry to hear you rushed through the experience. We do advise every group to take their time to explore each sensory space. We encourage every group to take their time inside Odyssey and there's no time limit to enjoy Odyssey. Typically, groups take around 20 - 30 minutes to complete one journey so despite our suggestions to take your time to explore perhaps the group rushed through the experience? Remember, you can also grab our one-hour unlimited re-entry option that offers customers more bang for their buck as you can re-enter as many times as you like within an hour and this ticket also includes a free pair of crazy goggles. Apologies we don't offer a toilet onsite, we prefer to offer the entire venue for our customer's to explore our attractions in-store instead. Thanks for visiting and for your feedback.
Written December 22, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

KC-NZ1
Auckland, New Zealand125 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 • Family
We did this as a filler - the advertising said it was about 30 minutes and we had a bit of time to kill so off we went. My husband and I were expecting we would just be tagging along behind our 13 year old. We all thoroughly enjoyed it! There is a bit of climbing through stuff to do (don’t want to give away too much!), but very manageable if you take your time. We did and took about 40 minutes. The having to use feet and hands was great, and a number of different things to try out. Our fave was the mirror maze. We’d definitely go again and wish we’d had more time to go through a second time! The manager was very friendly - always great when you get a smile and a laugh. Absolutely worth a visit.
Written April 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kia Ora KC-NZ1..., Thanks for your A-MAZE-ING review of Odyssey Sensory Maze. We're so pleased to hear you loved your experience and that our staff were friendly too. The mirror maze is an awesome space and we're stoked it exceeded your expectations. Thanks for visiting and for your feedback.
Written April 28, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

KarinaRNewZealand
Masterton, New Zealand270 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 • Friends
I had done this years ago on the Gold Coast Australia. Perhaps I expected more as that one was better. Maybe I’m too old for it. Wasn’t as exciting as I hoped however I’m sure younger ones will love it.
Written September 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Karina, Thanks for taking the time to review Odyssey Sensory Maze. We’re so pleased to hear you enjoyed your journey regardless of your age. We have stores in both Auckland and Queenstown as we 100% New Zealand based product Thanks for visiting and for your feedback.
Written September 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

The FroNZ
Invercargill, New Zealand1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2020 • Family
My son and I did this as a combo with Smashit. Had a great time getting all the stress out first in Smashit and then going through the mazes after. Felt like big kids in the sensory maze and loved it.
Written June 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Alyssa S
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2023 • Family
This is suited to older kids and is probably a great experience for them. I went through with 3 kids ranging from 20 months to 8 years and they struggled. No one mentioned it when I was booking in and it was advertised as suitable for all ages. It was very dark throughout all rooms. Trying to get 3 screaming kids through the pitch black room where you have to navigate obsticules was toture. The photos on the website don't make it look so dark. They were excited about the mirror maze but even in there the light turn completely off every 10 seconds or so for a few seconds. Which feels like forever with scared kids. It just turned into a race to get out as quick as we could.
I know it would take away some of the senses but it would be a lot more enjoyable for younger kids if they offered a time slot with the lights on. They enjoyed the foam pit.
Written July 14, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Alyssa, Thanks for your review of Odyssey. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. Could you kindly let us know on which plattform you have booked the tickets as we would like to follow up as usually we make it clear on our website as well as 3rd party platforms that we recommend Odyssey for children above 8 years as they can find the dark areas a bit daunting. We also mention the dark areas on our waiver form each customer must sign in before entering the maze. On top of that, we have posters positioned throughout the reception area mentioning the dark areas. Thanks for your feedback and visit.
Written July 19, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tahlia
6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 • Family
My family and I came to the odyssey sensory maze to do a fun activity and were beyond disappointed. For 2 adults and 2 children it came to a total of around 120 dollars and the service was pretty terrible. We completed the maze in 9 minutes and were left wondering where the rest of it was for the price that was paid? Would be good for kids under 7.
Written October 28, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for your review of Odyssey Sensory Maze. We’re sorry to hear that you did not like your experience and would like to hear more about that. We strive to provide the best customer service possible, so we are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with staff. Please feel free to shoot us an email and we will follow up on this: qtnmanager@odysseysensorymaze.co.nz In regard to the duration, we do encourage each and every group to take their time inside Odyssey and that there is no time limit to enjoy Odyssey. Typically, groups take around 20 - 30 minutes to complete one journey and you had an hour inside to explore. Thanks for visiting and for your honest feedback.
Written November 5, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Claudia C
Montevideo, Uruguay126 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2019
We were wondering around and found this maze, and we decided to experience this activity. It was so much fun, we laughed a lot, it was like being a child again. Very recommendable.
Written November 27, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Claudia C, Thanks for taking the time to review Odyssey Sensory Maze. We’re so pleased to hear you enjoyed your journey and that you'd recommend Odyssey to others. Thanks for visiting and for your fantastic feedback. Cheers, The Odyssey Team
Written December 1, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Eriikita
Montreal, Canada45 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2019 • Friends
It was an amazing experience, several rooms meant to stimulate your senses.
Everything was created with so much imagination.
You feel like each room is a different world, loved the fact that they waited before letting the other people go through, which made us feel like we were totally alone!
Would definitely come back and I recommended to everyone !
Written July 21, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Eriikita, Thanks for your five star A-MAZE-ING review of Odyssey Sensory Maze. We’re so pleased to hear you enjoyed your journey and would highly recommend Odyssey to others. Thanks for visiting and for your fantastic feedback. Cheers, The Odyssey Team
Written July 22, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Salmon
Queenstown, New Zealand15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2018 • Couples
Popped in to get lost in the Maze, and that certainly happened! Lot's of fun rooms (I won't giveaway what they are) to fool around in. You can take your time in each room and stay as long as you like. Awesome for big kids and imagine it would be epic for kids! Get in there.
Written June 26, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Salmon77, thanks for your 5 star A-MAZE-ING review of Odyssey Sensory Maze. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your sensory maze experience and took your time exploring each of the sensory environments. Thanks for not giving away what's contained in all of the rooms too. We love to keep Odyssey a bit of mystery for future customers to discover. Thanks again, The Odyssey Team
Written June 27, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

laughoutloud06
Chennai (Madras), India1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2018 • Couples
For starters, this place is not recommended for people who have claustrophobia. Before going in we informed the representative there about how we have claustrophobia but they said that will not be a problem(which wasn't the case) we felt trapped inside we tried calling out for help but no one was there to help us out as they were not monitoring on us and left us alone on ourselves. This was a very horrible experience for me and my wife and will not recommended this for anyone
Written April 22, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi laughoutloud06, Thanks for taking the time to review Odyssey Sensory Maze. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your sensory maze experience. You're absolutely right that we don't recommend the maze for people with claustrophobia. We highlight this and other similar conditions on our visitor check-in app. Should you still choose to enter the maze we do closely monitor our CCTV cameras in store. Sadly, the cameras do not offer audio so we cannot hear you so our team wouldn't have heard you calling out. If in distress we advise customers to locate a security camera and grab the attention of our crew to come and "rescue" you from the maze. If you feel this didn't happen for you, we'd love to hear more about your experience inside Odyssey. Please contact us with further details on info@odysseysensorymaze.co.nz Thanks again for your feedback. Cheers, The Odyssey Team.
Written April 25, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 316
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Odyssey Sensory Maze - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Queenstown HotelsQueenstown Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Queenstown
All things to do in Queenstown
Day Trips in QueenstownZoos & Aquariums in Queenstown
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars