We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Orokonui Ecosanctuary

Features Animals
Closed Now: 9:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Open today: 9:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Sirocco the kākāpō

We were very fortunate that our visit coincided with a special viewing with Sirocco the kākāpō at... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
julieadamson2015
,
Sunshine Coast, Australia
A gem that needs better advertised

This great value place is worth the trip. Even the drive is wonderful with the views. Saw plenty of... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Colm C
,
Edinburgh
via mobile
Read all 287 reviews
145
All photos (145)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good19%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“native birds”(23 reviews)
“bird song”(18 reviews)
“native nz”(8 reviews)
About
Our 307 hectare Ecosanctuary is the only area of native forest in mainland South Island where indigenous plants and animals can live in the wild without threat from most introduced pests. It is home to some of New Zealand's most fascinating and rare...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:30 AM - 4:30 PM
See all hours
Contact
600 Blueskin Road | Waitati, Dunedin 9059, New Zealand
Website
+64 3-482 1755
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Dunedin
from $132.60
More Info
from $132.60
More Info
from $116.60
More Info
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
212
52
9
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
212
52
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews native birds bird song native nz bell birds eco sanctuary feeding station perimeter fence new zealand guided walk nature reserve bird watching wood pigeon rare birds friendly helpful staff plants and trees excellent cafe port chalmers
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 276 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were very fortunate that our visit coincided with a special viewing with Sirocco the kākāpō at the sanctuary. This was an evening visit and bookings were arranged in advance. A bucket list occasion to meet Sirocco, he is an amazing character. Thank you to...More

Thank julieadamson2015
Orokonui, Public Relations Manager at Orokonui Ecosanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

<3

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This great value place is worth the trip. Even the drive is wonderful with the views. Saw plenty of birds and loved the centre and the way things are laid out

Thank Colm C
Orokonui, Public Relations Manager at Orokonui Ecosanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

<3 Thank you!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went out on their Toyota day. Heaps of people there but it's such a big place you hardly noticed. There's the main tracks then there is a track that takes you to the tallest tree in NZ. Beware it's almost 6 km round trip,...More

Thank Juan G
Orokonui, Public Relations Manager at Orokonui Ecosanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks Juan <3 Wildlife here are beginning to nest during September/October. This could have been why you did not see many of our resident creatures! They are abundant throughout the rest of the year, particularly at our sugar-water feeding stations :) Do come back another...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Apart from the various kinds of birds they already have, loved the stunning view that we got to have from the starting tickets counter. Appreciate the effort you guys put in to protect the wildlife.

Thank BhashithaA
Orokonui, Public Relations Manager at Orokonui Ecosanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

<3 Thank you kindly <3

Reviewed September 8, 2018

First walked it prior to the fence being complete. Now we have walked the outer perimeter several times (3hrs ) It a peaceful walk but in places strenuous and not for those who wouldn’t want to hang on down one particular part of the walk....More

Thank MarkF3416
Orokonui, Public Relations Manager at Orokonui Ecosanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Well done! The fence walk is steep in places! A great work out for locals! We rely on our volunteers walking this route to check the integrity of the fence, a good way to keep fit and contribute to conservation. If you are interested, let...More

Reviewed August 4, 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed two hours walking around this excellent ecosanctuary on a Sunday morning. We were thrilled to see and hear so many birds. The tracks are very well formed and signed posted making walking easy. The staff were very friendly and more than happy...More

1  Thank FourTravel2013
Orokonui, Public Relations Manager at Orokonui Ecosanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank You! We are glad to hear you had a good day. We rely on our volunteers to keep Orokonui going! Great people, we are very proud. <3

Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

Second visit to the Ecosantuary. Got up close to three takahe - amazing photo opportunities. Took the walk down the NZ’s tallest trees. A good walk - not too step but probably better in summer than winter. Plenty of native birds. Would definitely visit again....More

Thank RGV55
Orokonui, Public Relations Manager at Orokonui Ecosanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

<3 Thank you

Reviewed July 28, 2018

Orokonui isn't just about the visit, it is about looking after NZ's wildlife. I will happily keep paying my annual pass knowing that the next time I go back there will be Takahe, Tui, Kaka, Bellbird, Tom Tits, and many many other birds waiting for...More

1  Thank KenH2916
Orokonui, Public Relations Manager at Orokonui Ecosanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your support! The birds are singing your praises ;)

Reviewed July 25, 2018

Orokonui is a small but beautiful piece of wild New Zealand. There is ample parking space, and the pricing is quite reasonable for a sanctuary. We came on a weekday - around midday, and found that the place was relatively quiet. I found this to...More

Thank PaperbackPenguin
Orokonui, Public Relations Manager at Orokonui Ecosanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank You! I am yet to see a Brown Creeper myself! Glad you got the full experience <3

Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

I won't lie, the price isn't the nicest-looking. But you get your money's worth. The place is amazing. Nice tracks, up close interactions with animals (kakas were really keen on having a yarn), and a cozy and warm basr you can return to anytime, for...More

Thank leothekiwi
Orokonui, Public Relations Manager at Orokonui Ecosanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your feedback <3 We try to keep our price low enough as to not deter visitors. As you say, you could spend the whole day here, walking our various tracks and picnic-ing in the sun, or lunching at our Cafe. $20 is...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 60 nearby hotels
Otago Peninsula Motel
138 reviews
4.87 miles away
Portobello Motel Cottages
503 reviews
4.90 miles away
Larnach Castle Lodge
698 reviews
5.92 miles away
Harington Point Village Motels
16 reviews
5.99 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 405 nearby restaurants
Blueskin Nurseries Cafe
85 reviews
2.69 miles away
The Portsider
83 reviews
2.82 miles away
1908 Cafe Restaurant
484 reviews
4.88 miles away
The Galley Cafe and Bar
42 reviews
2.82 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 200 nearby attractions
Port Chalmers Golf Club
6 reviews
2.21 miles away
Happy Hens
48 reviews
4.79 miles away
Iona Church
18 reviews
2.75 miles away
Port To Port Cruises And Wildlife Tours
10 reviews
4.65 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Majik_12
August 26, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Orokonui | Property representative |
Hi there, public transport does not currently come past our gate, though you could arrange a taxi from Port Chalmers which is 15 minutes away. Thank you from the team at Orokonui
0
Votes
nzkiwiwoman
December 9, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Kejak70 | Property representative |
Dear Janine Please forgive my tardiness in getting back to you , somehow this has slipped through the emails. I hope that you haven't been and gone and we didn't get the chance to advise you on how valuable a guided tour is... More
0
Votes
varuns001
December 30, 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Kejak70 | Property representative |
Hello there Unfortunately we don't have penguins .. you will need to check out Penguin Place or the little blue penguins at Tairoa Head .. evening is best for penguins .. however we do have Takehe with a new chick as well... More
2
Votes