We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bluebridge Cook Strait Ferry

50 Waterloo Quay | Wellington Terminal, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
+64 4-471 6188
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Weekend Trip.

Booking process online was easy.Had to change crossing times at the last minute.No problems with... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Karen M
,
Rothwell, Australia
via mobile
The Good & the Bad

Traveled Wellington to Picton early September on 2.30AM service. Staff at check-in counter blunt... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Christopher172
,
Brisbane, Australia
Read all 444 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
Bluebridge Cook Strait Ferry sails several times a day between New Zealand’s North and South Islands. The Bluebridge experience offers warm, friendly ‘Kiwi’ hospitality amidst stunning New Zealand scenery.
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good43%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“blue bridge” (17 reviews)
“wake up call” (9 reviews)
“south island” (35 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
50 Waterloo Quay | Wellington Terminal, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 4-471 6188
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booking process online was easy.Had to change crossing times at the last minute.No problems with that and no extra charges. Amazing experience from driving on and off both ends Picton and Wellington.Staff were very obliging and welcoming.Got a cabin last minute once on the ferry.Staff...More

Thank Karen M
Reviewed 1 week ago

Traveled Wellington to Picton early September on 2.30AM service. Staff at check-in counter blunt, rude, no concept of customer service. Once on board the Staff/Crew seemed quite grumpy; perhaps the early morning start may have been the issue. Several days later I traveled Picton to...More

1  Thank Christopher172
Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I travelled on the Bluebridge ferry from Picton to Wellington and had a nice experience. As some of my relations were there we were in a large group and they kindly upgraded us into two cabins for free. Out on the deck,...More

Thank Sarah_Star19
Reviewed 1 week ago

I sailed Bluebridge from Wellington to Picton at 8am last Saturday morning. I thought I would buy myself a chicken panini for breakfast. As I was eating it I bit into a number of chicken bones, hurting my teeth. As a lady working on the...More

Thank lilyroelofs
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Blue bridge offer a much more refined ferry experience. Unlike Interislander which follows a old railways" could not give a toss attitude" , staff are kinder, cleaner and so much more caring. Food options are healthy and entertainment free. Boarding and waiting times are reasonable....More

Thank cash642014
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was helping my parents move down south and we had a kerfuffle with the other ferry company who wouldn't accept a rental Toyota Dyna truck onboard without ferry lashing points. We rushed down to Bluebridge to see what they could do. The team at...More

Thank lcmortensen
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had great experience on bluebridge so far, but also sometimes quite disappointing...mainly good ones Though (great movies and good working stations). Service is mostly very slow, but you have a minimum of 3,5 hours to get your order anyway - so not bad if...More

Thank Isabell8785
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

Used when crossing both ways. Easy to book. Staff are superb when booking and on ferry as well. Very efficient operation.Runs like clock work.Vehicle loading staff know what they are doing.

Thank mark c
Reviewed August 21, 2017

Sometimes sharing the boat with smelly sheep trucks, this is the second best option for a boat across the waters to South Island

1  Thank happysheepChina
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

I booked an overnight cabin between Wellington and Picton and was expecting to board early (~11pm). Unfortunately, there was a delay with the incoming vessel and we didn't get to drive on until 1am. Would have been nice to get a little more sleep since...More

Thank kyu2010
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Thistle Inn
485 reviews
.19 miles away
Portlander Bar & Grill
514 reviews
.18 miles away
Wagamama Wellington
449 reviews
.24 miles away
Coffix
10 reviews
.22 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Old St Paul's
941 reviews
.27 miles away
Parliament Buildings
1,385 reviews
.27 miles away
Northern Explorer Train
377 reviews
.09 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Vienna S
October 7, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Julie M | Reviewed this property |
It is advisable to check the company website as prices vary according to the season, holiday time and special offers. We prefer this option for crossing Cook Strait. Happy travelling!
0
Votes
Manjula T
March 26, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BluebridgeNZ | Property representative |
Hi Manjula, thank you for your message. Unfortunatly we are not able to hold onto luggage overnight, however there is a backpackers directly across the road from the terminal called Waterloo Hotel and Backpackers which does... More
0
Votes
patricious
October 10, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BluebridgeNZ | Property representative |
Our bus will pick you up from the ship when it arrives and then take you back to the passenger terminal to collect your luggage, from there you hop back on our bus and this will take you to the I-site where the Intercity bus... More
1
Vote