We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wellington Helicopters Limited

Closed Now: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Book In Advance
Tours from Wellington Helicopters Limited tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
22
All photos (22)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent85%
  • Very good10%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“scenic flight”(4 reviews)
“south coast”(5 reviews)
“seal colony”(3 reviews)
About
Helicopter flight tours and charters.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: < 1 hour
Contact
Jervois Quay | Shed 6, 19, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Website
+64 21 917 499
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Wellington Helicopters Limited
from $84.40
More Info
from $210.30
More Info
from $140.00
More Info
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
42
4
0
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
42
4
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scenic flight south coast seal colony awesome experience helicopter ride longer flight safety instructions minute flight wonderful trip bucket list new zealand pilot seals caves scenery harbour
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 49 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2018

Disappointing. 15 min flight was actually 11 minutes. We were on the wrong side for the views and if you are not in a window seat the experience is really reduced. Nearly $400 for two people did not feel like good value.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank edhuckerby
DaiD120, Manager at Wellington Helicopters Limited, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2018

Hi Ed. I'm disappointed to hear that the flight did not meet your expectations. Please email us with the details of the flight (date/time) and i will look into this further. Thank you Dai

Reviewed August 11, 2018

Our 15 min flight was actually 11 minutes. Nearly $400 for 2 of us felt like a lot of money for such a quick trip. We were seated on the wrong side of the helicopter to get the best views and if you are not...More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank edhuckerby
DaiD120, Manager at Wellington Helicopters Limited, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Hi Ed. I'm disappointed to hear that the flight did not meet your expectations. Please email us with the details of the flight (date/time) and i will look into this further. Thank you Dai

Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

Treated my husband to a scenic flight for our first wedding anniversary. It was fantastic!! I had thought we had booked a harbour flight, so we were pleasantly surprised to find ourselves zipping down the south coast. The stop at the seal colony really was...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Emsy22
Dai D, Manager at Wellington Helicopters Limited, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

Great to hear that you enjoyed the experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Cheers

Reviewed February 14, 2018

While this trip is short, it is very worthwhile as it gives you the most amazing views and aerial insights to our capital city. Travelling at speeds of around 250k per hour, you feel like you are just taking a leisurely stroll as there is...More

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank TrinaS283
Dai D, Manager at Wellington Helicopters Limited, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

Thanks for the review Trina! We're glad that you enjoyed the experience. Cheers from the team!

Reviewed January 31, 2018

I recently went on my first ever helicopter ride over Wellington on a stunning day and it was brilliant, but a little too brief literally, as we filmed it and it was only 7 and a half minutes - just a bit disappointed as it...More

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank ChristineB6548
Dai D, Manager at Wellington Helicopters Limited, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2018

Hi Christine, Thank you for taking the time for the review. I'm disappointed to hear that it did not fully meet your expectations. The City flight (I'm making an assumption this was the flight booked?) is advertised as a 9 minute flight. All our flight...More

Reviewed January 22, 2018

We booked late and I was blown away by the level of service. We were kept up to date with what was happening and got to fly the day after booking. We were both first time helicopter flyers and the trip itself was unreal. The...More

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank 148brucea
Dai D, Manager at Wellington Helicopters Limited, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2018

Thank you for the great review! We're very glad that your first time helicopter experience was a positive one. We look forward to seeing again in the future. Cheers Dai

Reviewed January 13, 2018

This was a Xmas present - and the best present ever! Professional & competent personnel made for an awesome experience. Wellington was on it's best behaviour as well, which made the experience truly amazing. Highly recommended - just WOW!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Sabine_Scholl
Dai D, Manager at Wellington Helicopters Limited, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2018

Thank you for the kind review. It always helps when the Wellington weather puts on a good show! Please visit us again sometime. Cheers Dai

Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

Friends, If you are looking for a bit of excitement, looking for a view of Wellington unlike anything you have seen before, then this is for you! Pilot Dan took myself and two of my best friends for a Helicoptor trip! One Helicoptor virgin (...More

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank WayneShaw1967
Dai D, Manager at Wellington Helicopters Limited, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2018

Thank you for the review. It's great to hear that you had a great flight with Dan and that he looked after you so well. We are very lucky in what we are to showcase in the Wellington region. Cheers Dai

Reviewed December 31, 2017

I booked the flight as a surprise for my daughter's birthday. It certainly turned out to be that for her! We had the most wonderful experience and loved it all. The weather conditions were perfect and our pilot was delightful. Thanks so much for giving...More

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank JRandCB
Dai D, Manager at Wellington Helicopters Limited, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Great to hear that you had a fantastic experience with us here at Wellington Helicopters! I'll make sure to pass on your comments to the team. Cheers Dai

Reviewed December 30, 2017

We went for a 10-minute scenic flight across Wellington city on a clear sunny day as a birthday gift. We went in the morning when the sky was cloudless - beautiful views. We saw Malborough Sounds and the snowy peaks of Kaikoura. 6 people to...More

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Paavitha
Dai D, Manager at Wellington Helicopters Limited, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your experience with the team and that the weather was so good! We look forward to seeing you with your folks the next time. Cheers Dai

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 48 nearby hotels
InterContinental Wellington
1,738 reviews
.12 miles away
ibis Wellington
2,413 reviews
.15 miles away
Doubletree By Hilton Wellington
79 reviews
.19 miles away
Quest on Johnston
195 reviews
.19 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,079 nearby restaurants
Chameleon Restaurant
412 reviews
.10 miles away
Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant
994 reviews
.04 miles away
Charley Noble Eatery & Bar
948 reviews
.07 miles away
Pravda
492 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 396 nearby attractions
Wellington Museum
1,166 reviews
.06 miles away
City to Sea Bridge
255 reviews
.21 miles away
Wellington Underground Market
186 reviews
.15 miles away
Civic Square
178 reviews
.15 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Wellington Helicopters Limited staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines