We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Funcats Watersports
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
40
All photos (40)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent87%
  • Very good11%
  • Average2%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travelers talk about
About
Funcats is one of Perth’s iconic must do activities and one of the few places in the world where you can sail directly in front of a major city. With no experience necessary, there is no better way to enjoy our picturesque city than a relaxing sail...more
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
Coode Street Jetty, Perth, Western Australia 6151, Australia
Website
+61 408 926 003
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
36
4
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
36
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews catamaran sailing great fun stand up paddle boarding life jackets the river instructions boats skiing lesson andrew blast foreshore
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lots of fun and easy to learn. I went with a bunch of friends and we hired two boats. (3 people per boat) I booked a few days before but it didn't seem necessary as there was plenty of boats. I recommend wearing bathers because...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Pschibli
andrewpZ6075UW, Owner at Funcats Watersports, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a nice review for us! We don’t usually bother too much about asking people to book in advance, unless you need three boats or more. As you mentioned we have lots of boats!! Thanks again...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We rented a Funcats - Hobie wave Catamaran for a family of 4 for only $55 and was given some valuable instructions how to sail a catamaran on our own. We enjoyed it so much!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank tripreview777
andrewpZ6075UW, Owner at Funcats Watersports, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for the lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your sail. Thanks also for the feedback on our pricing, we try very hard to keep it affordable for families!

Reviewed November 5, 2018

Visited Funcats with the family and loved it! Me and my son hired a sail boat and my wife and daughter got a stand up paddle board each, we all had a ball and the staff were amazing, they provided us with full lesson and...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Mark R
Andrew P, Owner at Funcats Watersports, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a nice review Mark. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your time at Funcats!

Reviewed February 5, 2018

A work function that included everyone’s family..... a great choice. The mini cats, kayaks and paddle boards meant there is something for everyone. I went in the kayak with our LO (2 years old) while hubby sailed with colleagues on one of the cats. Either...More

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank theoconnorfamily2016
Funcats, Owner at Funcats Watersports, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2018

Thanks for giving us such a nice review. We are looking at introducing more kayaks for next season, the only issue we have with this is trying to find the space to store them!

Reviewed January 21, 2018

Great boats that are easy to sail. Quick orientation to boat and to wind and river conditions and you're off. Wonderful river with exciting city views. Take a picnic lunch to have on the foreshore when you are finished.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank D2912ZVmattb
Funcats, Owner at Funcats Watersports, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2018

Thanks for taking the time to give us such a nice review Matt. We are delighted you enjoyed your sail!

Reviewed January 21, 2018 via mobile

I wasn’t sure how much my kids would like kayaking, but they loved it! Aged 3,5&6, I could take different combinations of 2 of them with myself on a single kayak. The staff were all very friendly and on hand to answer any questions we...More

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Travellin_w_kids
Funcats, Owner at Funcats Watersports, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. We are delighted you and your children enjoyed kayaking with us!

Reviewed January 16, 2018 via mobile

I can down with my girlfriend a couple of days ago and we were blown away with how great the team were at Funcats. Andrew and Jane were so helpful when I had come down to enquirer a few days previous about the sailing. The...More

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank danielcP7333XI
Funcats, Owner at Funcats Watersports, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2018

Thanks for the wonderful review Daniel. We appreciate your feedback

Reviewed January 6, 2018

I hit up Funcats for a morning of Stand Up Paddle Boarding for my first time, with a friend of mine, and it was great! $20 an hour for the board hire, per person, which is great value! The weather was ideal, no breeze, and...More

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank OzTravels80
Funcats, Owner at Funcats Watersports, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to to write such a nice review for our business. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and would love to have you return for another day of Watersports with us....maybe sailing next time!

Reviewed December 16, 2017

fun, easy, great service and advice, inexpensive. don't be discouraged if it takes a little while to get the catamaran sailing, once it gets going it's really fun. the staff were very upfront about the suitability of the wind conditions, so i don't think they...More

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Droopowerz
Funcats, Owner at Funcats Watersports, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We are always honest about what we think the weather conditions will be like because we want people to have a fun time, and too much wind, or not enough...More

Reviewed November 1, 2017

On our last day in Perth we had some time to kill and hopped on the ferry to the south shore where we came across FunCats Watersports. We've given this a five star review even though we didn't actually get a chance to experience the...More

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Richard C
Funcats, Owner at Funcats Watersports, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Thanks for reviewing our business Richard. I’m sorry you didn’t have a chance to head out on the river on your visit to Perth. We have taken your feedback onboard in relation to promoting ourselves. Currently we advertise in the Hello Perth magazine which is...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 66 nearby hotels
The Peninsula Riverside Apartments
274 reviews
.86 miles away
Metro Hotel Perth
788 reviews
.88 miles away
Crowne Plaza Perth
820 reviews
1.01 miles away
City Waters
159 reviews
1.04 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,605 nearby restaurants
Rambla on Swan
468 reviews
.70 miles away
Ciao Italia
510 reviews
.31 miles away
The Boatshed Restaurant
281 reviews
.03 miles away
Mister Walker
591 reviews
.70 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 460 nearby attractions
South Perth Foreshore
330 reviews
.91 miles away
Blue Tongue Photo Tours
17 reviews
.03 miles away
Perth Zoo
2,105 reviews
.63 miles away
Water Wanderers
40 reviews
.77 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Funcats Watersports staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines