Melbourne Star Observation Wheel

Melbourne Star Observation Wheel: Hours, Address, Melbourne Star Observation Wheel Reviews: 4/5

Melbourne Star Observation Wheel

Melbourne Star Observation Wheel
4
Points of Interest & Landmarks • Observation Decks & Towers
Read more
This location was reported permanently closed
Write a review
About
Melbourne Star invites you to experience Melbourne in a whole new way - day or night. Take a flight of discovery through the Melbourne skies and see the city from a different perspective. Melbourne Star gives you a unique introduction to the city, with all its colour, culture and eccentricities. It's more than just a view - it's a complete experience, giving visitors and locals alike a new way to engage with Melbourne's vibrant cityscape. Opening Times: May to August 11am – 7pm daily September to April 11am – 10pm daily Christmas Day and ANZAC Day 1pm – 10pm Please note: Ticket sales close 45 minutes prior to advertised closing time Last flight departs 30 minutes prior to advertised closing time
Suggested duration
< 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Melbourne Star Observation Wheel and nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

4.0
1,814 reviews
Excellent
766
Very good
644
Average
268
Poor
95
Terrible
41

kevdeb5
Melbourne276 contributions
Couples
We went on the Melbourne Star today while on a city sojourn. We weren’t sure about opening times and bookings so I rang this morning to discover you can just show up which is what we did. We lined up for tickets and then lined up to go on the wheel.
Considering there are restrictions in place due to Covid 19, the line progressed fairly quickly and we were on the Star within half an hour. There was hand sanitiser everywhere and people were urged to keep 1.5 metres apart. There were only 5 in our cabin on the wheel.
Getting on and off was quite simple and we are 65 and 72. As the wheel rotates you are treated to various sights over 360degrees. We were able to see where the Maribyrnong River enters into Victoria Harbour and enjoyed picking out various landmarks around the CBD. We were amazed by the number of high rise buildings that have popped up in the last 10 years. The wheel took just on half an hour to go through the whole rotation.
I’d recommend it to all.
Written December 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello! Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us and were able to see so many great sights from inside one of our cabins. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! At night the Melbourne skyline twinkles from above and we love to wow our guests with our fantastic LED Light shows every single night. Kind Regards, Melbourne Star Team
Written December 30, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Peter G
Inverloch, Australia76 contributions
Family
We have resisted riding the Star ever since it was built; what a silly thing in a silly place. Yesterday we finally did it (using Scoopons - much cheaper!) and we loved it! The views (particularly as the sun set) were glorious. The three of us had a pod to ourselves which was good.
Could have been tempted by the second “flight” for only $2!
Only thing that could have improved it is that the windows needed cleaning. Must be a hard big job!
Written January 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Peter, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad we finally tempted you and your friends and family to come and experience a sunset ride with us. We have plenty of offerings to entice you again including Sparkling Flights, where you can take a drink of your choice along for the ride and packages for events and functions. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Kind Regards, Melbourne Star Team
Written January 29, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

ncy73
George Town, Malaysia33 contributions
Great place to view the Melbourne city. The LED light display is fantastic. I suggest to go up just before sunset. The management of the queue should have been better. I had to go the end of the queue after showing my online purchased ticket and wasted at least another 15 minutes.
Written April 7, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello! Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your evening flight with us. Our LED Lightshows are famous in Melbourne. We are sorry to hear that you had to queue for a longer time unnecessarily, your feedback has been passed on. Despite that minor set back, we do hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards, Melbourne Star Team
Written April 28, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jessica
12 contributions
Couples
After being on various different observation wheels/ observation buildings this one was a massive disappointment. The observation wheel it’s self is on the edge of the city, when you see it in person you can tell instantly it is in the wrong location. When we first got there, after expecting it to be rather busy, we were the only people there. We had already pre booked our tickets online, therefore went straight through no hassle to join a queue of 5 people (they were all part of the same group, to which we ended up sharing a carriage with). We had to wait no longer than 2 minutes before getting into a carriage. As there were only 7 of us in a carriage there were plenty of space for us all to move around or sit down if you wish to. As the carriage is moving there is a record playing pointing out certain landmarks and certain views to look out for. I think this is a great idea as you know more history/information on what you are actually looking at. However as we were not the only people in the carriage and were sharing with 2 very small children, you could not actually hear any of the commentary. As the wheel is located on the edge of the city, you can see a limited amount of things. Looking one way all you can see is shipping containers and roads and looking the other you can see skyscrapers, but not over them so you are limited to what you can see. As you can imagine with the dust and rain the city experiences, the glass was rather dirty and spectacled, which again limited to what you could actually see ruining the experience. The whole ride took around 30 minutes.
Written January 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Jessica, thank you for taking the time to review us, we value your feedback. Melbourne Star is located in Melbourne's waterfront precinct which offers our guests an alternative view of the city and surrounding areas not seen from other viewing platforms. We also offer a more private experience, guests share a cabin with no more then 20 guests. We are pleased you did not experience any wait times and were welcomed straight onto a spacious cabin. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to fully listen to the commentary and that Melbourne's recent weather limited your visibility. If for your next visit you would like an exclusive cabin, Private Cabin bookings are available. We would be more than happy to assist with booking this for you or alternatively this can be done directly on our website: https://www.melbournestar.com/experiences/private-cabins/ . We're sorry to hear that we didn't quite meet your expectations this time around, but we still hope to see you again some time. Kind Regards, Melbourne Star Team
Written January 22, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Sharon B
11 contributions
This area is Amazing , walk up the ramp, to this incredible Wheel that doesn't stop.. Beautiful Big Glass Cabins with a Seat in the Middle . Goes so slow , looks like the wheel isnt moving , Very Relaxing Sit or move around , to see every part of Melbourne and Beyond But the Views as you get Higher are great. Takes 30 mins to get around . Loved it .. Suitable for all ages , Very safe .
Written February 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Sharon, thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy to hear that your Melbourne Star experience was so fantastic. We encourage you to visit us again sometime. We offer a Sparkling Flight where guests can take a drink of their choice on board with them. It's worth a return visit for! Kind Regards, Melbourne Star Team
Written March 3, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Reearranger
Queenstown, New Zealand49 contributions
Couples
We went at night and once at the top some great views but most of the 30min we only saw the structure
Written March 28, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Reearranger, Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are very glad to hear you enjoyed an evening at the Melbourne Star. Maybe on your next visit you can enjoy a day flight, followed by a night flight later in the day, with our Sights and Lights tickets. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit! Kind Regards, the Melbourne Star Team
Written May 22, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

saschabhh
Melbourne, Australia101 contributions
Friends
I bought four tickets as a surprise for a friend's birthday.
When we got there, they didn't accept the electronic tickets to start with and I had to go back down to the sales windows to get printed tickets.

But the really annoying part is that they forced us into a full gondola.
We were the last group with 2 larger groups already inside a gondola and there was NOBODY waiting behind us. We wanted to board the next gondola, but the girl rose insisted we board the full gondola or not board at all, as per their protocol.

So there we were, squeezed like tuna in a can with 3 screaming toddlers on board.

The next and the subsequent gondolas remained completely empty - see pic.

I understand the need for protocols to have a smooth operation, but there has to be room for some common sense.

What a stupid experience - never again...
Written September 2, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Saschabhh, Thank you for your post. We have the highest safety accreditation available so coming with that we have batching procedures that our staff are to follow to ensure the safety of all our guests. We do offer private cabins use if guests prefer a private cabin. Kind regards, Nicole Hill
Written September 7, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

S R
Adelaide, Australia45 contributions
It was simple...we waited for the last ride of the day (so we could enjoy the view after sunset)..and it was a good choice...we were put on this secure slightly claustrophobic cabin with about 8-10 other people and we took a big round in a giant wheel appreciating the Melb landscape.. Others were fine but I thought that the space was limited..but ofcourse for about 30-40 mins of great romantic chilled out views, it was worth it..we took photos...chatted...and just moved around to view the city 360 degrees...you have to do it once at least...it's worth it
Written March 15, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. The evening flights are quite amazing.
Written March 16, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Bob T
Canberra, Australia1 contribution
Family
This is without doubt the worst locations for what could be such a great attraction. Whoever thought of putting this in the middle of Melbourne's industrial area, with the CBD blocking views of any of Melbourne's main attractions.

Ultimately this is a very pricey way to see the Costco roof and car park, a shopping centre and some apartments, and the railyards and container yards of the adjacent port and industrial area.

The commentary accompanying the trip is perhaps the most amusing, as it tells you all about the things you can't see - the botanic gardens, the MCG, the arts precinct, the tennis courts, etc. At the very least perhaps there could be some commentary on the things you can actually see - perhaps some history and interesting facts about the port and shipyards.

Worth it if you've never been on a wheel like this, just to experience the ride - and great for little kids.But ultimately the poor location will mean people don't come back for seconds and this will be its downfall.

I do agree the staff were friendly but you need more than that for $32.
Written June 9, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your feedback, we will share your positive comments regarding our great staff with them. We are currently reviewing the complementary in-cabin audio tour after six months of operation and incorporating feedback such as yours into the updates. Melbourne Star is delighted to be located in the city's waterfront precinct which continues to evolve; offering a new and uniquely different perspective of the dramatic city skyline, surrounding landmarks and views of up to 40km. The Star has identified eight 'Star Qualities' that makes Melbourne the incredible city that it is, including landmarks that are not visible from the Star due to our skyline; we are proud to be a part of Melbourne and promote all that is great about our city to Melburnians and visitors alike.
Written June 10, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Matthew S
Melbourne, Australia18 contributions
Family
Being a Melbourne native, I thought I'd go and see if the wheel was being unfairly derided. $7 for parking (because there's not a hint of on-street parking near Harbour Town) then $67 later (for 2 adults + 1 child) we hopped aboard one of the Star's gondolas. The set-up is great - easy access and friendly staff. Our journey was approx 20 mins duration (or as I like to think of it $3.50 per minute). We saw lots of the north western sides of the CBD/Docklands buildings + tollways and the docks.

I especially loved all of the in-gondola commentary about the MCG and everything to the east of the city. Make sure you have a great imagination because you'll need it (on account of not being able to see any of it due to the CBD buildings in the way).

If you wanted to build this "attraction" in the worst possible position then it's a raging success. It should be situated in the Southgate precinct - they'd get tons of happy people there then because it would actually showcase the best parts of Melbourne that people have heard about and would want to see.

I'm sure Londoners are quite rightly proud of their 'Eye' but the Star is embarrassing. You'd be better stopping in the emergency lane on the Bolte Bridge at dusk and watching the laser light show. Way more entertaining than a ride on the star and you can enjoy it for longer than 20 minutes if you wish.

Epic fail!
Written March 10, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for taking the time to share your family's experience of the Melbourne Star. We are disappointed that you felt the experience was not to your expectations but are appreciative of your positive comments regarding our staff. The Melbourne Star experience is not just about the views but also the opportunity to undertake a unique experience that can only be done in three locations in the world. The Melbourne Star cabin flight takes approximately 30 minutes and this is further supported by our pre and post boarding Tales of Melbourne which showcase some wonderful stories about Melbourne, part and present. Melbourne's nightly LED light show has now been extended until midnight for Melburnians and visitors to enjoy from up to 40 kilometres away.
Written March 11, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,706
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing