We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ida Bay Railway

Closed today: Closed
Open today: Closed

Ida Bay Railway
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
106
All photos (106)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good33%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“train driver”(16 reviews)
“open carriage”(8 reviews)
“local history”(7 reviews)
About
Ida Bay Railway The heritage listed railway is one of the last operating bush tramways in Australia! Step aboard our historic WWII Diesel locomotive, enjoy an unforgettable 2-hour journey alongside the water’s edge, through bush planes and enjoy a...more
Closed today
Hours Today: Closed
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
328 Lune River Rd, Tasmania 7109, Australia
Website
+61 405 305 437
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Tasmania
from $507.60
More Info
from $98.60
More Info
from $135.10
More Info
from $80.30
More Info
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
91
67
18
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
91
67
18
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train driver open carriage local history beautiful beach enjoyable trip australian bush small train covered bbq area cockles rail line clean toilets return trip local area couple of hours early settlers hour trip a lot of fun
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 184 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2018

Pity this organisation didn't update their web site and inform everyone they are closed Very disappointing - a waste of time, money and fuel

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank T6993KXdavidm
Reviewed October 1, 2018

Terrible experience! Run down and deserted. Cafe was run by an elderly woman and an assistant who was also quite useless. We paid $45 per head to wait for the driver to slowly start the engine about 10 minutes later than the scheduled time. It...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank travelbug1232018
Reviewed September 23, 2018

The dedication of the employees and volunteers involved in this enterprise should not be dismissed lightly. However, the journey was a 'rough and noisy' ride.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Adpo01
Reviewed September 16, 2018

The train itself is a gem. The train ride was wonderful, through the bushland and out to a beach. The driver was friendly, communicative and a brilliant source of local information and history. The scenery is glorious - it's a delightful couple of hours that...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Fiona A
Reviewed August 3, 2018

A very quaint little train and carriages which take you through the history of the area and the sights are very pretty.. The train driver told some good stories of the area and with the stops along the way made it 2 hour round trip...More

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Saunter_About
Reviewed May 31, 2018 via mobile

This was a Birthday Surprise from my sister and brother-in-law in October 2017 while on a holiday in Tasmania. A lot of fun, beautiful scenery, train trip around the bay, excellent guide full of interesting information, walk on the beach - white silky sand. Friendly...More

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Melanie D
Reviewed May 14, 2018

Took my grandson for a ride on the railway as a follow up to visiting the Transport Museum. The hour long round trip is worth the drive for the young children.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank W3557OOpatrickc
Reviewed April 24, 2018 via mobile

Turned up looking forward to the train trip. Found that the price wasn’t as advised on the brochure and had risen from $32 to $45 pp. unfortunately we had a stand-in driver who only went into a little of the history. No history or background...More

Date of experience: April 2018
3  Thank Smithysawesome
IDABAYRAILWAY, Manager at Ida Bay Railway, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Hi Smithysawesome, We apologize for you were not well informed on the price change and the experience with the commentary. We actually had the old price for years without bringing it benchmark with the market. Due to the rocket raising cost for maintenance of tracks...More

Reviewed March 28, 2018

Rode on this quaint little railway on the way back from Cockle Creek. Lovely journey through the bush to the shores of Ida Bay and back. Wonderful informative train crew and a great way to spend a few hours.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Judi M
Reviewed March 23, 2018

Stopped at this attraction on my way to Cockle Creek. Told them I would be back for there next ride which I made with minutes to spare. What a wonderful two hour trip along a very narrow gauge railway. If you get a chance take...More

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank Judi M
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 170 nearby hotels
Smugglers Rest
98 reviews
10.57 miles away
Grand Hotel Huonville
20 reviews
29.31 miles away
Captains Cabin
15 reviews
32.96 miles away
Cascade Hotel
34 reviews
43.05 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2,386 nearby restaurants
Southport Hotel & Caravan Park
58 reviews
3.73 miles away
Post Office 6985
104 reviews
10.60 miles away
Bruny Island Wines Grill
206 reviews
17.87 miles away
Alonnah General Store
48 reviews
19.04 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,534 nearby attractions
Hastings Caves State Reserve
435 reviews
2.60 miles away
Esperance Adventures
11 reviews
10.55 miles away
South Cape Bay
35 reviews
12.26 miles away
Bruny Island Premium Wines
281 reviews
17.86 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
marie59sydney
February 28, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from IDABAYRAILWAY | Property representative |
Yes, Helene, if the train runs 3 trips that day at 10am, 12pm, and 2pm, normally you would be able to depart at 10am and get back at 2pm. Hope that helps, also please do call 0405 305 437 to confirm.
0
Votes
Helena P
October 15, 2016|
Answer
Response from ijforster | Reviewed this property |
hey Helena, i don't know where the south port lagoon is , there is no walk as such, when the train reaches the end of the line you have time to walk around the beach and the bush for maybe 15 minutes to half an hour, it's... More
0
Votes