Off Piste 4WD Tours
Off Piste 4WD Tours
5
Multi-day Tours4WD, ATV & Off-Road ToursNature & Wildlife ToursWine Tours & Tastings
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
About
Off Piste 4WD Tours is up market, off-road adventure company, unlocking thrilling journeys to hard-to-reach places, showcasing the hidden and rugged beauty of the South Australia's Fleurieu Peninsula. Idyllically nestled between Adelaide and Kangaroo Island, the team tailor and deliver a delicious day out experiencing McLaren Vale's best food and wine being ecologically minded, highly flexible, and informative. Small group, exclusive touring through unforgettable landscapes, beach drives, amazing wildlife encounters while highly entertained by owner, and local, Ben and his team of highly passionate guides.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(16 reviews)
(9 reviews)
(2 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles144 reviews
Excellent
136
Very good
3
Average
2
Poor
0
Terrible
3

palmsGeorgia
Florida53 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019
We spent an afternoon with Off Piste on the very first day of our Aussie holiday and it was the perfect start to an amazing trip! Ben was awesome to work with, as we had a unique situation in that we were arriving from the US that morning and needed to get to Cape Jervis for a stay on Kangaroo Island. Off Piste was recommended by the lodge where we were staying and were able to not just provide the transfer, but create a great touring experience along the way. Nathan was our guide and took great care of us (including getting us to the ferry on time and even waiting to make sure our luggage made it on the ferry). We were quite lucky with the weather as well and the wildlife was abundant. We got such good koala pictures we seriously didn’t look for any the rest of our entire trip. Our daughter said she saw so many kangaroos on the way to Cape Jervis she stopped mentioning them and was actually disappointed that there were fewer on Kangaroo Island. So - thanks so much to Ben, Nathan and the Off Piste team for going above and beyond to get our family trip of a lifetime off to a perfect start. We can’t recommend them enough!
Written January 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi PalmsGeorgia, well, this has to be right up there with our top reviews received in 7+ years of operation. Thank you ever so much for this pearler and taking the time to share your vivid touring impressions. We love to take on touring challenges and work hard to deliver beyond expectations with creativity and flare. Steve Lane and the team at Sea Dragon Lodge on Kangaroo Island provide a very unique stay and we're highly appreciative for the 5-year ongoing partnership. Moreover, thrilled to hear the whole family enjoyed the trip through the Fleurieu down to the Sealink ferry and the exclusive itinerary inclusions. We absolutely nailed it with the weather, right? From all of here at Team Off Piste thanks again and we thoroughly look forward to having you guys back on tour soon. All the best for 2020. Cheers, Ben
Written February 3, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sophie B
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 • Friends
I cannot recommend Off Piste 4WD Tours more highly for locals and visitors alike. I am a southern Adelaide local and often forget about all of the beautiful places we have in our own back yard.
We had such a fantastic day, starting off at the beautiful Onkaparinga River National Park, with stunning views and such interesting information about the land and history from the owner of Off Piste, Ben. We got to see some wildlife and 4WD down to the bottom enjoy some delicious local wine & nibbles down by the river. We then headed toward McLaren Flat to the laidback, cosy atmosphere at McCarthy’s Orchard where we enjoyed a wine and cider tasting and a great chat with the owner of this gem, Mark. We then went on to Benny’s family home where we got to relax with a few wines under the shade of a beautiful big tree right next to the vineyard. We then got to experience one of the most incredible meals I have had the pleasure of enjoying on behalf of the amazing chef, Mo. My dietary requirements were catered to with such consideration and effort that everyone was able to enjoy all of the food together. Not only was the meal exceptional but the company was too - Benny, Mo, and Lorraine were so kind, interesting, and welcoming and being able to spend our afternoon in the backyard of their family home enjoying their food, wine and conversation was such a pleasure.
We ended the day by heading to Sellicks Beach and enjoyed the last of the afternoon sun by the ocean.
What a fantastic day, I would recommend Off Piste 4WD tours to anyone and everyone.
Written April 26, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Nortay
Christchurch, New Zealand36 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020
Thank you Ben for making my birthday a bit special during the chaos in all of our world's at the moment. I feel super lucky to have squeezed in just in time. We had a great time and it was really good to be escorted by someone with not only the knowledge but the lived experiences in the area. Hope to see you bounce back once all this craziness is behind us.
Written March 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Lumen F
Toronto, Ontario9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 • Couples
Ben Neville was our guide/driver and host. We enjoyed the day spent with him, listening to him playing the didgeridoo while we had some wine and nibbles by the river.
Had a delicious meal at his home prepared by his
partner and checked out the cool wine cellar. Some other guests were able to join in as well which made for a nice group along with his mum. and his colleague Richard.
Highly recommend!
Written March 23, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

DAD11
Toronto, Canada244 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 • Friends
Just finished an absolutely unbelievable day with Ben, owner of Off Piste. Everything was perfect, from driving thru National Park, wine & cheese by the river,
Wine tasting @ an unique winery, amazing lunch outside overlooking vineyards, and we learned so much about the area. This tour will definitely be one of our Australian trip highlights.
Written March 23, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Annie001197
Sydney, Australia10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2016 • Friends
This tour exceeded all of our expectations.
We were totally captivated by the abilities knowledge, care and professionalism that Ben delivered throughout the day. Not only does this guy know his stuff, he is a true ambassador for the Mclaren Vale and Fleurieu Region. We were delighted with a myriad of surprises that ranged from meeting wonderful personalities, and incredible private locations along the way.

Ben has a true passion for the Fleurieu and obviously is highly respected amongst the places we visited. What we really enjoyed about this tour was the organisation, the flexible itinerary and the day not being rushed. Ben is highly attentive of his customers wishes and will work hard to create the perfect day.

Great food, great wine and great company!
Written December 4, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wow, Annie, thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a sensational review – its reviews such as this one which help propel Off Piste to even bigger and better things! I was truly moved by your response and am so happy to hear that the tour met and exceeded your expectations. It was a pleasure having you on board to uncover the hidden gems of McLaren Vale and the Fleurieu Peninsula. We’re ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed the mix of food, wine and experiences which were crafted and tailored to the group on board and so grateful to you for explaining your highlights of the day. This feedback will be incredibly useful in evolving and adapting tours to continually meet and exceed the expectations of future guests. We hope you had a safe journey home and would love to cross paths again in future! Yours sincerely, Ben.
Written December 5, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rebecca S
Brisbane, Australia13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2019 • Couples
We had a great time as a private party of six. Tim was our tour guide and a wealth of knowledge of the area. Ben met us along the way with a beautiful morning tea in spectacular surrounds and then again for a gorgeous lunch :)
Stops included Onkaparinga Gorge and Chapel Hill winery and both were great choices. We would all thoroughly recommend this tour.
Written June 4, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi imlovinparadise, what a sensational day! Thank you kindly for the glowing review and your compliments towards Tim's inaugural tour, I'll proudly pass them on. It was a pleasure meeting you all and thrilled the weather behaved considering we've just entered the winter months. From all of here at Team Off Piste we're highly grateful you chose us to host your group's annual trip away and having the chance share our patch of Fleurieu paradise. Super news: great food and wonderful wines will be here ready and waiting when we see you again next year.. ;) Thanks again, and hope you all had a comfortable trip back to Queensland. Warm regards, Ben
Written August 15, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LVLTO
Toronto, Canada90 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2018 • Couples
Our full day tour was in February 2018. It was a great day and a wonderful overview of the McLaren Vale. We learned a great deal about the local flora and fauna and finally saw some kangaroos. The alfresco lunch at the home of the owner’s mother was exquisite and one of the best memories of our time in Australia. Unfortunately the vehicle was rather crowded but we understand that was a booking glitch. Highly recommend.
Written February 20, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi LVLTO, Thanks so much for your 5-star review and feedback! We're all so thrilled you enjoyed the time and presented itinerary in what was super busy time here in Adelaide. We experience a massive surge in visitor numbers around this time of year due to the ever popular international Fringe, music & ADL festivals taking place. This, in turn does strengthen numbers who a super keen to tour with us so a big thank you for joining us on a shared basis. Native wildlife, great wine, delicious food and exclusive locations is what we love to combine so once we're incredibly happy you enjoyed the offerings and overall Fleurieu experience. Safe onward travels, and thanks again. Ben
Written April 21, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Gemma W
5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2018 • Friends
Myself and a group of friends attended a charity dinner last year at which there was an auction to raise money for individuals with cancer from remote locations and their families. We successfully bid on a private 4WD tour for 4 including wine and lunch. Not long after I started trying to book with Ben at Off Piste Tours. I sent an email and called several times, and finally got a text message back after a week and a half. We briefly chatted by text but I was unable to secure a date. The dates were limited as the conditions were it could not be on a weekend. Ben was evasive only ever answering to say dates I suggested were not available. He then further booked out the whole of April as he was busy. When asked what dates he did have available he would ignore these messages. Finally out of frustration I contacted the charity organisation I had bought the tickets through. They then went on to contact Ben and also offer our money back. Of course we declined as it was for charity. We did hear from Ben though and a date was finally booked. However on the morning we were to go, Ben emailed the charity and cancelled despite having my direct contact details which meant we were at the meeting place before we found out about cancellation. He said his mother was unwell so we gave him the benefit of the doubt. We did manage to book another date though. 2 days before this booking however he cancelled as possible showers forecast and other equally lame excuses (turned out the most sunny and perfect day!). Since then my attempts to rebook have once again been ignored. This frustration of being messed around has been over the last 6 months now. 6 months of getting nowhere with a business who is happy to donate their services to a charity and reap the reward of exposure and publicity, but lacks the integrity to honour that donation. This is the lowest I could possibly expect from any small business. I write this in hope that no one else has to go through this kind of ordeal. I see from a previous review however that is not the case and this lack of respect for financial gain has been done before along with poor communication. Shame on you Ben Neville at Off Piste Tours!
Written July 10, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Gemma W, We acknowledge the receipt of your review with great disappointment and surprise. Firstly, we are truly sorry that you’ve felt compelled to share your frustration with the Trip Advisor community. As you can see, we have a super overall rating and from counting back through, at least 6 or 7 excellent reviews are from PAST CHARITY TOURS that we have donated. Our high standing in the community comes partly as a result of ALWAYS honouring our touring commitments, no matter what form they are. We have never withdrawn your charity donation tour, and as mentioned, we will be more than happy to conduct the tour at anytime with a date that suits all parties. This has also been agreed with the management at the Faces of Cancer, who we have a close, ongoing working relationship with, based on mutual respect. Yourself, as a member that works in the health industry, we are extremely saddened that you’ve shared highly personal information on a public domain (that totally violates guidelines) and linking it to some other review that doesn’t exist. Again, disappointing. We clearly state on out Terms & Conditions that we may take up to 3-days to reply due to being out of reception. We conduct multi day tours and will endeavour to get back to customers as soon as we can. Moreover, your charity donation tour still is on offer and you and your friends/family are more than welcome to join us on a tour that I would be thrilled to personally host. Unfortunately, you have declined this offer but as a reputable South Aussie tourism operator the tour will remain open for yourself/friends/family to take up and enjoy. Feel free to call anytime - 0423 725 409 - Best regards, Ben
Written October 21, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

queenieowen
Auckland Central, New Zealand6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2016 • Couples
We did the Half Day McLaren Vale 4 Wheel Drive Adventure with Wine Tasting. we were lucky to have Ben Neville the owner as our guide. He was knowledgeable, interesting, fun, attentive and very competent. he went out of his way to make the trip personalised and special including setting up a table in a gorgeous spot with a checked table cloth and lovely food produced by locals including wine from his own family vineyard. he had access to areas of the national park that no one else does. he even managed to get us a table for that evening at a fully booked top restaurant! if you have limited time as we did this is a perfect trip to see a bit of the McLaren vale in a absolute comfort.
Written July 13, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello queenieowen, I was thrilled to receive your amazing review of our half day Vale Adventure tour. Thank you so much for your very kind compliments and we’re ecstatic to hear about your perfect day! At Off Piste 4WD Tours, we really strive to go above and beyond in every tour, personalising and customising each experience as much as we can to create the best experience possible for guests on board. I thoroughly hope you enjoyed your evening dining experience and made it home safely to New Zealand. We feel that we were very lucky to have you on board for the day as well and would love to host you again in the future. Wishing you all a very merry Christmas and a productive new year. Warmest regards, Ben
Written December 5, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 140

Off Piste 4WD Tours - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Adelaide HotelsAdelaide Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Adelaide
All things to do in Adelaide
Day Trips in Adelaide
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars