We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cairns Fishing Charter

Features Animals
Finger C, Marlin Marina | Marina Mirage, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
+61 7 4034 3277
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Communication meltdown!!

Booked on line provided all details including card details.Arrived ready to enjoy the day.Nothing... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
selyts_12
,
Broadbeach, Australia
Is there a rating less then 1

Just don’t bother. Biggest waste of money I have ever spent. I think a wet fish would have been... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Gonefishingcairnsux
,
Cairns Region, Australia
via mobile
Read all 133 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good12%
  • Average3%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible31%
Travelers talk about
“barramundi” (13 reviews)
“sea eagles” (2 reviews)
“legal size” (2 reviews)
LOCATION
Finger C, Marlin Marina | Marina Mirage, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 7 4034 3277
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"barramundi"
in 13 reviews
"sea eagles"
in 2 reviews
"legal size"
in 2 reviews
"mangrove jack"
in 2 reviews
"half day trip"
in 5 reviews
"different locations"
in 2 reviews
"fingermark"
in 11 reviews
"grunter"
in 2 reviews
"undersized"
in 3 reviews
"species"
in 4 reviews
"sharks"
in 5 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Booked on line provided all details including card details.Arrived ready to enjoy the day.Nothing in terms and conditions re need for comfirmation. No youre not fishing today.Ive got a sole booking for 8 and thats your bad luck. All he needed to do is communicate.Looks...More

Thank selyts_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gone Fishing Ca... F, Owner at Cairns Fishing Charter, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

This customer booked online through email and was never confirmed. They did not travel with us and therefore shouldn’t be able to write a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just don’t bother. Biggest waste of money I have ever spent. I think a wet fish would have been more inviting but we wouldn’t know as we didn’t catch anything worth writing home about. I think he spent more time just driving the boat around...More

Thank Gonefishingcairnsux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2018 via mobile

That was the worst fishing charter I have ever been on and Jim is the worst guides and a embarrassment to Cairns. Please don't waste your money!

3  Thank gazybarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim103299, Owner at Cairns Fishing Charter, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

There were 8 of you that drank two cartons of beer in the first two hours of the charter. You were drunk and very obnoxious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

What a waste of time!! Jim has the personality of a wet rag. Sorry i dont call somebody throwing your line out and just leaving it there until you get a bite fishing. If we were going after Barra jim obviously didnt want to use...More

8  Thank rospascale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

Went out Barra fishing with gone fishing charters cairns, an absolute waste of money and time . Jim the tour guide needs to lighten up a little maybe this is not the right job for him , his people skills are non existent his arrogance...More

12  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

What a total waste of half a day in this beautiful place. Cairns doesn’t deserve operators that are cocky and arrogant. I didn’t know that part of my half day fishing that an hour and a half was spent watching Jim throw his net to...More

8  Thank nonuborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile

We went on a half day trip (morning) & was very disappointed....Jim is a rude man who treats everyone like idiots. We spent the first 45 mins watching him trying to catch bait (thought he should've been prepared & already had it organised). We didn't...More

2  Thank trace246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim103299, Owner at Cairns Fishing Charter, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

If you had of taken the time to read our brochure or website it says that all trips begin with the collection of live bait. My day already starts at 5.30am do you suggest it should start at 4.30am. It also says that locations are...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

I did the half day tour which took us to 3 locations where we caugh minimal fish ( not deep sea fishing). Jim attitude needs to change or he needs to change his careeer. This was a waste of time on my holiday. Its not...More

3  Thank Ambertalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile

Well it pains me to write this but my partner and I returned to the jetty at Cairns after a morning fishing with Jim. We both looked at each other as we walked away and said what a rude pig of a man. From the...More

3  Thank nugget20369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017

Jim is unfriendly and disrespectful, and he seems don't wanna people to keep fish, cause he never ask anyone wanna keep fish, he just release all day. We booked a full day fishing trip with gone fishing on 7/8/2017, and Jim confirmed that for us....More

2  Thank 三色貓 三
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 64 hotels in Cairns
Hilton Cairns
2,480 reviews
.02 miles away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
714 reviews
.08 miles away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
2,152 reviews
.11 miles away
Pullman Cairns International
2,380 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Tamarind
876 reviews
.11 miles away
Vivaldis Restaurant
427 reviews
.15 miles away
Bushfire Flame Grill
1,013 reviews
.08 miles away
Ochre Restaurant
355 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Green Island
1,967 reviews
.05 miles away
The Reef Hotel Casino
576 reviews
.08 miles away
Underart Gallery
29 reviews
.09 miles away
Anzac Park
14 reviews
.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Cairns Fishing Charter staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor