We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SeaLink Northern Territory

Darwin, Australia
More
About SeaLink Northern Territory
Sealink NT operates tours and ferry services to remote Northern Territory locations, making them easily accessible everyone. Explore the indigenous community of the Tiwi Islands on a cultural day tour, spend a relaxing day cruising the coast to Crab Claw Island for a seafood buffet lunch or come along for a 45 minute harbour sightseeing tour on Cruise 45.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by SeaLink Northern Territory

Tiwi By Design Day Tour

Discover nearly untouched Aboriginal culture on a full-day tour to the Tiwi Islands. Only a limited number of tourists may visit Bathurst Island, making it a rare travel experience. Join your Tiwi guide to learn about the local history, along with the unique rituals still practiced by some residents. Try your hand at traditional art during a class lead by Aboriginal artists, before return to Darwin.
Read more
9 hours
from $251.83

Darwin Harbour Sightseeing Cruise

Set sail around Darwin Harbour for a scenic 45-minute sightseeing cruise and enjoy serene views of the Northern Territory capital. Hop on board a comfortable catamaran and listen to the live on-board commentary as you float along Lameroo Beach, glide around Stokes Hill Wharf and spot waterside landmarks like Bicentennial Park, the Larakeyah Barracks and the sunken USS Peary.
Read more
45 minutes
from $28.14

Crab Claw Island Resort Cruise and Seafood Buffet

Enjoy a full day harbour cruise from Darwin to the remote Crab Claw Island Resort in Bynoe Harbour disembarking right on the beach where you’ll indulge in a delicious all-Australian seafood buffet lunch.

Sit back and take in the view from the harbourside bar with a drink, relax in one of the two resort pools or explore further afield through the private Island wildlife sanctuary.
Read more
7 hours
from $111.84
191Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 124
  • 51
  • 6
  • 5
  • 5
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Liesel wrote a review Oct 24
13 contributions
I have never felted compelled to write a negative review ever, but this was such an aweful experience that I would have preferred to have had a more realistic expectation before embarking on this experience. This was an incredible disappointment! I'm not sure where the name "Island of smiles" came from, but they could not have been referencing Wurrumiyanga on Bathurst island. The locals did not appear to care much for visitors. The map provided by the ferry service was absolutely useless, and yet it would not be hard for them to do it properly. While we have visited many indigenous villages around the world, this was the most disappointing ever. The "attractions" we're all closed... and it's not November yet.... the church, the museum. The only accessible toilet that we found in the village was at Tiwi by design, which unfortunately was also a spot just for overpriced local art. It's clear that much of their stock hasn't moved in years. The Bima Wear store had no signage on it, and is hidden behind another unnamed building. Stepping inside the less than 8 square metre space, there were no staff to be seen, and a hand full of clothing items hanging on two rails. I saw a sleeveless vest for $40 and a sleeveless t-shirting dress for $140. We left within 10 seconds of entering and had very little else to go and "explore" while waiting the 4 hours for the return ferry trip. There is only one man made shaded structure on the island for Visitors to seek shelter in. There are no facilities to refill water bottles or purchase a cold drink from. The saddest of all was the disgusting state of the area. I have never seen a place in Australia (or a tourist hot spot in any other country) as filthy and littered as this one. My mother and I found a picnic bench under a tree to go and wait out our time. Within half an hour, we had picked up enough litter strewn at the waters edge (which you can't swim in!!) to half fill an empty municipal wheely bin....which had strategically been placed within meters of the picnic bench. It would appear that the locals make fires here, and leave the empty meat trays, coke bottles and empty syringes on the ground where they've sat. One consolation was that amongst all of the street dogs that roam the village, none of them appeared ill or malnourished. On the ferry trip home, we met some locals from Melville island who advised us next time, to rather visit the two communities there as they promised that their communities are far more welcoming to visitors who wish to learn more about their culture and way of life. There won't be a next time. This unfortunately is a disastrous tourist trap with no facilities once you are stranded there, and it should not be on the list of "must do's" when visiting Darwin.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
SimmoAdelaide wrote a review Oct 14
Adelaide169 contributions74 helpful votes
Excellent day trip. The boat trip of 2 1/2 hours on Sealink was pleasant; The boat had all the required catering facilities, food drinks etc. The Tour was well organized with a nice slow pace in the heat. The Welcome and smoking ceremony were interesting, engaging with some good humour as well. Then morning tea/coffee with some excellent damper and jam. Went on a tour of the old church and was told some very interesting stories. The tour also gave a much greater understanding of the people and their culture. Lunch was a prepared box style with a choice of fresh sandwiches, fruit, cake, drink box and chocolate. Nobody went hungry. Then we watched and later did our own screen printing which was great. The Tiwi people were warm, welcoming and interesting. A day very well spent.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
KazWh1te wrote a review Sep 2020
Dalby, Australia11 contributions13 helpful votes
Was really looking forward to this, but was disappointed. Very expensive for what we got to see on the island. Saw only a small amount of the Tiwi culture and didn’t get to see much of the island. Experience for money ratio low.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from Compass37969229614, Guest Relations Manager at SeaLink Northern Territory
Responded Sep 24, 2020
We are sorry to hear that you did not find this tour value for money. The Tiwi Islands are a long way away by ferry and this tour is in the small town of Wurrumiyanga, which is on the bottom tip of Australia's second-largest Island group. To see the whole Island is impossible given the fact that permits are required beyond the town. There are also some closures due to the downturn of tourism and community requests, so we understand that your expectations may not have been met. We have endeavored to provide up to date information the best we can and are working with what we have in these difficult times.
Read more
WendyAus74 wrote a review Sep 2020
Adelaide, Australia20 contributions5 helpful votes
We took the 11:55am Harbour cruise from Cullen Bay. We arrived early and had a walk around & grabbed a coffee/smoothie from a water side cafe. Cruise was very pleasant with an informative commentary. Staff were great & cruise was pleasant with enough information for interest but not over done. We walked down from Darwin City & grabbed a scooter back.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Anita G wrote a review Sep 2020
6 contributions
Great staff, happy and friendly. From the time we arrived at the Cullen Bay ferry terminal, over to Mandorah and to our return trip, we felt perfectly safe in crews hands sailing across the harbour. It is also great sailing across the waters seeing other boats and on the return the lights of Darwin. Thanks everyone, fantastic trip.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Previous