We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sydney Visitor Centre

24 Playfair Streets | Corner Argyle, Shop 1-2, The Rocks Centre, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 8273 0000
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Is it worth visiting?

Since I'm living in Sydney and don't intend to go somewhere else right now, I went to this Center... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
stinkwink
,
Sydney, Australia
Luggage storage in Sydney

Couldn't fault the fantastic service offered by Sydney visitor centre. We hopped off the cruise... read more

Reviewed September 8, 2017
tiffany b
,
wellington
via mobile
Read all 72 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Overview
More
Enjoy a warm Sydney welcome! Let the Visitor Information Centre team help you to make the most of your stay in Sydney with an extensive range of brochures, maps and other information about activities and events. Services include travel bookings for tours, experiences and accommodation, discounted attraction passes, interstate and countrywide itineraries; and a select range of souvenirs. Get local tips and recommendations from experienced consultants. Bilingual staff are also available to assist you.
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good34%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“rocks area” (3 reviews)
“walking tour” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
LOCATION
24 Playfair Streets | Corner Argyle, Shop 1-2, The Rocks Centre, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
The Rocks
CONTACT
Website
+61 2 8273 0000
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Since I'm living in Sydney and don't intend to go somewhere else right now, I went to this Center only from pure curiosity. Recently we paid a call on two visitor centers on the Northern Highlands, and I just wanted to compare my experiences. The...More

Thank stinkwink
Reviewed September 8, 2017 via mobile

Couldn't fault the fantastic service offered by Sydney visitor centre. We hopped off the cruise ship and walked 5min up the road and dropped our suitcases for storage for the day ($10per case) and stated the time we would pick them up. Upon our return...More

1  Thank tiffany b
Management response:Responded September 14, 2017

Hi Tiffany, Thank you for visiting our centre, we hope you enjoyed your time in Sydney. We are thrilled to hear our team made your short stay as easy as possible. See you next time!

Reviewed July 18, 2017

We thought we'd save time by booking our Blue Mountains Hop-On-Hop-Off bus and Scenic World tickets @ The Rocks visitor centre, Sydney before going. We read on the brochure that you can get the Lyrebird offer for both of these. But it actually works out...More

1  Thank saleenag403
Management response:Responded August 27, 2017

Sincere apologies for the delay in responding to you, unfortunately we've had some long-term problems with our listing that have just been resolved. Although we can only now respond, please be assured we were aware of this occurrence and it was addressed shortly after. We...More

Reviewed July 12, 2017

We booked the Blue mountains explorer bus + Scenic world entry at the Rocks centre in anticipation of saving time when we arrive amongst the tourist throng of Katoomba. They gave us the Bus ticket but didn't explain we needed to get a wristband from...More

Thank Anil G
Management response:Responded August 27, 2017

Hi Anil, Sincere apologies for the delay in responding to you, unfortunately we've had some long-term problems with our listing that have just been resolved. Although we can only now respond, please be assured we were aware of this occurrence and it was addressed shortly...More

Reviewed June 5, 2017

the staff found out that we were here on an assignment, then payed no interest in offering advice or information.More

Thank jcollins23
Management response:Responded August 27, 2017

Sincere apologies for the delay in responding to you, unfortunately we've had some long-term problems with our listing that have just been resolved. Although we can only now respond, please be assured we were aware of this occurrence and it was addressed shortly after. Thank...More

Reviewed June 5, 2017

My lecturer was more helpful than the staff. When my class and I approached the staff and figured that we were a tourism class wanting to have a look around, they weren't welcoming.More

Thank Pauline M
Management response:Responded August 27, 2017

Hi Pauline, Sincere apologies for the delay in responding to you, unfortunately we've had some long-term problems with our listing that have just been resolved. Although we can only now respond, please be assured we were aware of this occurrence and it was addressed shortly...More

Reviewed June 5, 2017

Although it's still renovaitng, It was alright, wasn't too bad ! But the staff was terrible, they had no help and their attitude was horrific. Besides the poor staff, The Rocks was a great place to visit and the experience wsa touching. I would visit...More

Thank Mary-Tania T
Management response:Responded August 27, 2017

Firstly, sincere apologies for the delay in responding to you, unfortunately we've had some long-term problems with our listing that have just been resolved. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to The Rocks, it's a fascinating place full of history! Thank you for your feedback...More

Reviewed June 5, 2017

I took my class of Tourism Students, always keen and I had told them how great the centre was. I had not realised they had moved, and assumed it was a temporary location whilst the other location was being renovated. The staff told me that...More

Thank FMC914
Management response:Responded August 27, 2017

Firstly, our apologies for the delay in responding to you, unfortunately we've had some long-term problems with our listing that have just been resolved. Thank you for your thoughts on the new centre, we appreciate the feedback. Visibility of the Visitor Centre was a strong...More

Reviewed June 5, 2017

Minimal info on other things except for Sydney which is dissapointing because the old one had alot more info that helped us plan the rest of our holiday when we were visiting Sydney. Staff werent that interesed in anything.More

Thank Scottie5678
Management response:Responded August 27, 2017

Thank you for visiting our centre in The Rocks, we appreciate the feedback and are always looking for ways to improve to better cater to the requests of our visitors. Our apologies for the delay in responding to you, unfortunately we've had some long-term problems...More

Reviewed April 7, 2017

About as usual for visitor's centers and great location. However, we felt the salesperson/staffer tried to steer us towards the paid walking tours and did not even mention the free tours; just happened to find their flyer on the well-stocked rack. We ran out of...More

Thank kathyfritts
Management response:Responded August 27, 2017

Thank you for visiting our centre, we hope you enjoyed your time in Sydney! Whether through our team, our brochures or our video footage, we're certainly happy we could assist you in discovering the right activities to make your stay enjoyable. Our apologies for the...More

Nearby
The Rocks
The first residents of the Rocks were convicts and
sailors from the old nation. As the oldest
neighborhood in the city, the area's cobblestone
streets host more than 100 heritage sites and
buildings, including the oldest house in Sydney,
Camden Cottage, which was built in 1816. Taste a “midi
“ or a “schooner” of beer and dine “al fresco” on the
waterfront at some of the oldest pubs in Sydney. The
...More
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
7Rocks Deli
6 reviews
.03 miles away
La Renaissance Cafe
443 reviews
.02 miles away
Playfair Cafe
383 reviews
.03 miles away
Sake Restaurant & Bar
1,308 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Rocks
6,985 reviews
.02 miles away
Circular Quay
3,199 reviews
.05 miles away
The Rocks Markets
1,617 reviews
.01 miles away
The Rocks Discovery Museum
391 reviews
.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sydney Visitor Centre staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit