We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Virgin Balloon Flights - Newark ‑ CLOSED

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
More
About Virgin Balloon Flights - Newark
Nottinghamshire is a beautiful region to see from the air. Drifting high above the Nottinghamshire countryside.The market town's crown jewel, the spectacular remains of a 12th century castle alongside the winding River Trent, may pass below your basket as well as views of the Church of St Magdalene. A Flight from Kelham Hall is a fascinating journey back in time.
Read more

Virgin Balloon Flights - Newark
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
3Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
David S wrote a review Nov 2019
Nottingham, United Kingdom15 contributions5 helpful votes
Once again it proves impossible to use this. I would be very interested to know the number of flights that happened this year versus the number of people who have purchased flights! Sorry but it’s a con, avoid!
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from VirginBalloonFlights, Public Relations Manager at Virgin Balloon Flights - Newark
Responded Nov 26, 2019
Hi David, We appreciate your disappointment with having your flight cancelled. We can assure you that no flight would be cancelled unless it is due to reasons of safety or legality. Cancellations are normal for a weather dependent activity such as ballooning but we always extend your vouchers free of charge so you have at least 6 months to re book your flight. There is no benefit to cancelling a flight as to do so is at our own detriment. For every active voucher, flights need to be scheduled which comes at a significant cost. There is the planning, mandatory balloon maintenance, inspection, specialised aviation forecasts up to 5000ft etc., all to ensure that when it’s safe and legal to fly we have everything ready to go. When a flight is cancelled, many of these costs are still incurred and the pilot receives no payment. Some companies pass these costs on in the form of booking fees however we will continue to extend vouchers due to cancellations free of charge making it always in ours and the pilot’s interest to fly you within the fewest attempts possible. As much as we'd love to control the weather, we simply can't. We are always happy to help if you need assistance with re booking your flight. Please do get in touch with us by phone on 01952 212750, email at customerservice@virginballoonflights.co.uk or on our Live Chat facility on our website. Kind regards, The Virgin Balloon Flights Team
Read more
Alicia B wrote a review Jun 2015
10 contributions13 helpful votes
I purchased the ballon flight for my dads birthday in the hope that we would get to fly that day. We were extremely lucky in that the weather was beautiful and the flight could go ahead. Nevertheless due to the lack of wind (and the nearby power station) at newark we were told that the launch would be at Grantham instead. Not an issue. We arrived and immediately began to help set out the balloon. Andy (I hope I have the right name), our ground crew member was positive, funny, kept things flowing and ensured there were no worries or health and safety issues. The procedure was swift and we met Rebecca our Pilot whilst setting up. Friendly, informative and nothing was too much trouble. She even got everyone to sing happy birthday to my dad half way around the flight which neither myself or my mother had asked her to do. The personality, passion and charisma that these individuals had really made our trip special. The flight lasted well over an hour as we struggled to land in a grass field. The views were spectacular and it felt almost like you were flying - Not like a tower with railing, wire or the tiny glass window in front of you like on a plane. It was so peaceful and quiet. I couldn't have predicted or dreamt of such a good ride. After packing up the balloon we were given a lift back to Belton Woods Hotel (the start Point) where we had a champagne toast and our certificates were signed by Rebecca. A must for the bucket list!! Thanks again to all the crew who made our day so special. I'm so in the good books now! (Due to certain weather rides can get cancelled and so you have to rebook but it is entirely worth it!!!)
Read more
Date of experience: June 2015
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from VirginBalloonFlights, Public Relations Manager at Virgin Balloon Flights - Newark
Responded Sep 17, 2015
Hi Alicia, Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your sky-high experience. I will pass on your kind words to the pilot and crew. So glad you had a wonderful time and celebration in the skies for your dad's birthday. You know where we are if you'd like to go on another airborne adventure! Thank you again, The Virgin Balloon Flights Team
Read more
Russell P wrote a review Apr 2015
Nottingham, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
Tremendous and exhilarating experience, my first flight and a great evening from start to finish. Both Rebecca , the pilot, and Andy ( ground crew) helped make the flight a success by making everyone so welcome and being a part of the crew, helping inflate and deflate the balloon, . Something I will never forget.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2015
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Write a review
What was your experience like?
Write a review
Share your best travel photo
Let the world see your experience through your eyes.
Post a photo
Get quick answers
Ask fellow travelers and attraction managers your top questions.
Ask a question