Hawks Of Steele

Hawks Of Steele, Newark-on-Trent: Address, Phone Number, Hawks Of Steele Reviews: 5/5

Hawks Of Steele
5
Nature & Wildlife Areas
This location was reported permanently closed
About
Hawks of Steele is a family owned and run business we offer Falconry experiences, Courses, Educational visits, Wedding packages and Events throughout the Country. As a family we have had the pleasure of working with Birds of prey for over 30 years, our passion is to give other people the chance to experience the wonders of these beautiful birds.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

5.0
914 reviews
Excellent
855
Very good
35
Average
9
Poor
4
Terrible
11

Laura R
Spalding, UK6 contributions
Please be aware!!!!!!!
Jan 2020 • Family
I have taken a while to write this review as in all honesty the whole experience , not just what happened to my son but the total lack of responsibility taken by Hawkes of Steele has left me very upset and angry. My son and I visited Hawkes of Steele at Kelham Hall back in January for a Meerkat experience and we were both very excited. Unfortunately this was short lived. At the beginning of the talk, and at no other time were we told that the they may bite, in fact we were told that they categorical do not- THEY ABSOLUTELY DO BITE!
My son was bit twice not scratched as stated in their accident report which I have attached. The accident report I received is full of inaccuracies and I feel is trying to lay blame with my son, as in he must of made a sudden movement. We were not told not to not make sudden movements either. My son was very gentle with the animals and enjoyed feeding them, until the younger Meerkats were brought in and for what ever reason bit him twice. My son didn't even yell out, he simply put his hands in his pockets, it was only when one of the Meerkats went for his face that I made sure he was ok and asked to check his face he said its not my face mummy,its my hands. Thats when he showed me he had been bit and was bleeding. He was now very upset and frightened and thats when I asked to leave. Karl took us out and was clearly shocked and upset at what happened, he said this had never happened before to which my reply was, well it's happened today. We was outside with Karl for a couple of minutes and not once was medical attention offered, not like what was written in their report.
Karl did not see the incident take place and which meerkat was involved so I do not see how the meerkat in question will now no longer be used, as stated in their report.
I took my son to the car and called Trish at Hawes of Steele to advise what had happened and asked if the Meerkats carried any disease, to which she replied - I don't know because this has never happened before.
Again entirely inaccurate in their report.
I do hope anyone who deals with Trish Steele the manager, has a better experience than I did, i was understandably upset but was shouted at and told i was being disrespectful. Upset yes, disrespectful no. I asked how i was being disrespectful as i was not swearing or being abusive to which she had no answer. At one point she actually said to me - well what do you want me to do? Disgusting!
Before I received the accident report we had been offered a full refund and free experience which we were willing to accept. But after the report and its lies about what happened to my son, we will not be returning for another experience.
I do hope this post just highlights to other parents that animals are unpredictable and although I was with my son the whole time sometimes animals attack unprovoked. I do hope Hawkes of Steele can at least make people aware that they may bite and then people can make their own decision to attend or not.
Written February 22, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In regard to your review we have never been so disgusted in such lies, you know very well that Trish did not speak to you in this manner and was very tolerant of your abusive behaviour, we offered a full refund and a chance for your son to come back to see us, you also forgot to mention that we do have witnesses to the incident which do not agree with your version of events, obviously all animals can bite however the meerkats have met a huge amount of children and we have never had this occur. I'm not sure what you are trying to gain from your review however in future when writing reviews please ensure the information is correct.
Written February 23, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Si B
5 contributions
Not giving refund vouchers for Groupon
Feb 2020 • Solo
Be aware....
We have/had an experience booked for 22nd Feb 20. Had a text from the owner to say they are venturing into another business. Which is ok
They said they would email out a letter to send to Groupon for a refund. Which we haven't received and doubt we will do. Their website is down, the email address bounces back and all the phone numbers are unobtainable or not answered.
Please give me the refund!
Whatever venture you are going into Will be tarnished greatly if you don't tidy things up in your last one.
Written February 21, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review however the information is incorrect, every customer will receive a refund as promised, you have misread the email we sent you, customers have to contact where they purchased the voucher from ie groupon etc, groupon then contact us to confirm you havent attended and issue a refund. Our direct dial as per email and social media platforms etc is 07709312869 should you have any further issues. Thank you
Written February 22, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

dan f
1 contribution
Lovely experience
Dec 2019 • Family
Although it appears Hawks if Steele has closed its doors for commercial experience days, the experience we had was wonderful, my 12yr old Bethany chose this for her birthday and loved it.

She looks back very fondly of the das and the gentleman came across as a lovely chap, passionate and knowledgeable about his meerkats and birds.

We were looking to book again, but instead can only wish the owners the best and offer thanks for excellent experience days.
Written February 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

timthopsom
Gainsborough, UK88 contributions
Shocking
Feb 2020 • Couples
Was gifted an experience fro Xmas 19. Sent email asking a few questions and gave dates that I was avaliable to attend. I got a response 3 days later where the responder failed to answer any of my questions, so I emailed again and again and again, 8 emails later and still no reply. Tried ringing the 3 numbers provided and got no response from these either. So contacted Thorsby Hall as they were mentioned on other reviews. Thorsby Hall stated they were not part of their location any more and I was instructed to contact Rufford Abbey, which I did only to be told the same and given a further location of Welham Hall. Contacted Welham Hall who said they would pass on my details. Eventually managed to get the day booked for 16th Feb 2020. 3 days before the experience I recieve an email stating they are no longer a buisness and told to try and get my refund. Totally shocking customer relations with not being bothered to respond, clearly a very dodgy outfit to keep moving locations. Wish I had read all the negative reviews beforehand. Don't waste your time with this company. Clearly a bunch of cowboys who are just in it for themselves!!!!!!
Written February 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review however we have only been at two locations Thoresby which we left over a year ago therefore you must have an old voucher which in turn means you have the wrong contact details, I assume you purchased your voucher via a deal site therefore they should of given you the correct information, we are not cowboys and have been running this company very successfully for 6 years, however we have now made the decision to no longer offer experiences and concentrate on other aspects of our business, we are family run and pride ourselves on our reputation which as you can see from other reviews is very high, all customers have been informed correctly of the changes. Please ensure you have the correct information before posting on review sites.
Written February 13, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Gemma v
2 contributions
Closed down. Do not book.
Feb 2020 • Family
We received vouchers to meet the meerkats but found it impossible to book an appointment. No replies to any email i sent. I have since learned that they have closed down.
Written February 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review however Hawks of Steele is no longer offering experiences as we have expanded our second company, however all emails have been responded to and all customers contacted, there is also still an open line for enquiries.
Written February 11, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Tony A
Nottinghamshire, UK2 contributions
A great morning with owls
Jan 2020
Had a fantastic hour with a variety of owls in the grounds of Kelham Hall. Karl was brilliant - he was very knowledgeable about all of the owls and they were clearly very comfortable with him. Each of the owls had a different character and party trick. We thoroughly enjoyed it and I would definitely recommend this experience to anyone. Thanks Karl for a most enjoyable morning.
Written January 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Irene60
2 contributions
Great experience
Dec 2019
Spent one very cold hour in the grounds of Kelham Hall to enjoy the owl experience. Karl the owl handler was brilliant, he was very informative and you could tell he really enjoyed what he was doing. It was a very relaxed event and the owls were amazing. Would definitely recommend this event to others. All ages were present at our experience and I think everyone thoroughly enjoyed . Thanks again for a lovely morning
Written December 8, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Rachel
2 contributions
Owl experience
Dec 2019 • Couples
Birthday present from a friend, had to cancel due to bad weather first time but easily rearranged, we had a very enjoyable and informative hour!
Written December 8, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Michelle S
Lincoln, UK302 contributions
Brill
Dec 2019 • Couples
Took husband as we love going to the zoo, but this was so good learnt so much and they loved sitting with us. Would deffo go again
Written December 2, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sharon
2 contributions
Fun family show.
Oct 2019 • Family
We saw a selection of birds from hawks of Steele at Wheelgate Park. The handler was very friendly towards the kids and encouraged them to join in. My boys got to hold an owl each and really enjoyed it. Very informative and the birds are well looked after.

Would highly recommend to all.
Written October 31, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 913
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing