We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Impasse de la Foret, Chamouny, Mauritius 61301
Phone Number: +230 622 2148
Website
Description:

Tucked away in the middle of the green hills of the south of Mauritius, you...

Tucked away in the middle of the green hills of the south of Mauritius, you will find a real haven of peace, a marvelous garden called CHAZAL. The host can choose different ecotourism activities: The zip-lines trekking, the river trekking, walks in the hunting reserve… or relax, just enjoy calm and bird’s songs.For lunch, at the “Table d’hotes” we serve the best Mauritian recipes prepared with fresh seasonal vegetables from the garden!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 79 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 12
    Excellent
  • 11
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Fun

We went zip lining with our children (age 8 and 9) for the afternoon session. The zip lines themselves are great fun and our group enjoyed themselves. The scenery is spectacular... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 4 days ago
RKC72
,
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 29: English reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We went zip lining with our children (age 8 and 9) for the afternoon session. The zip lines themselves are great fun and our group enjoyed themselves. The scenery is spectacular as you slide down. Be sure to take a change of clothes as you are likely to get muddy. It is also very important to apply mosquito repellent as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RKC72
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited the zipline facility and had a fun day out among the sugar canes, rivers, and waterfalls. Don't wear your Sunday best because you'll get muddy one way or another! After the adventure we had Mauritian lunch which was delicious and excellent value for money.

Helpful?
Thank j_m98
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

Warmly greeted with a hot beverage within a great surrounding, the CHAZAL Ecotourisme is a great place to have some great fun. Our zip lining adventure was great. We had lots of fun. Close to the end we made a quick detour to the waterfalls where we enjoyed the cold water surrounded by this incredible fauna. At the end of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Georges J
Beau Bassin - Rose Hill
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016

I had a very nice experience at Domaine de Chazal. Went there for lunch and to spend the day. The food was great and the natural setting added a peaceful touch to it as the place is really vast and calm, with donkeys walking around and fish swimming in the pond.

Helpful?
Thank _sb11096
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016 via mobile

We booked to do the cable ride your through virgin as part of or stay in Mauritius. We were picked up from our hotel at 0745 and then travelled in a private car across to Chazal on the south. This was approximately 1h15mins as our hotel was on the East of the island. The ride took us through lots of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris_S1989
CeciliaR310, Propriétaire at CHAZAL ecotourisme, responded to this review

We thank you very much for your support. We will continue improving our offer with our organic gardens and traditionnal menu, and all activities around. Very best regards Chazal Team More 

Harrow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016

Even in the pouring rain this was an enjoyable morning zip wiring over rivers and forests. Unfortunately due to the heavy rain our small group of 5 were unable to complete all the zip wires. There is quite a bit of trekking between zip lines so a general level of fitness is required, also remember to take plenty of mosquito... More 

Helpful?
Thank dugill
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016

I attended this attraction this week. The whole experience was terrible.I was in a large group. The management and organisation was terrible. Dragged up through sugar cane on a trailer with benches pulled by a tractor. Half the group wished to zip wire. It was alarming how little safety briefing was given. We were told you could not possibly use... More 

Helpful?
Thank MelFor67
Frederic R, Gérant at CHAZAL ecotourisme, responded to this review

First of all I would like to thank you for coming to Chazal and we regret that your experience was not comfortable. Regarding your group on that day, we would just like to stress a few points: Your group was due to arrive at 10h15 but instead arrived at 12h15 at lunch time; your group had a long night the... More 

Tampere
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2016

Chazal was very nice place and we had a great half day there. We had booked River trekking, but due the heavy rains previous week, the river was flooding. As we arrived, guys at Chazal explained the situation and offered zip lines as an alternative. We chose to that activity and it was absolutely fun, 6 runs over a very... More 

Helpful?
Thank ladonovi
Frederic R, Gérant at CHAZAL ecotourisme, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for your comment. We will take up this issue with our team in order to be more proactive regarding the communication aspect. Thank you for coming to Chazal. Looking forward to see again on your next visit. Regards, Frederic More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2016 via mobile

Chazal is an amazing retreat. Ideal for nature lovers. Spent a great time with friends in this lovely place. The ziplines are awesome. A must for all adrenaline seekers.

Helpful?
Thank Smits S
Curepipe
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015 via mobile

Rustic zip lines, made it even a better experience, we and the kids loved it. The walk to the waterfalls made you enjoy the scenery and the peaceful environment and the lunch was delicious. Just the "farata" ( Mauritian kind of pancakes) was worth the trip. Definitely recommend, it's good value for money!

Helpful?
Thank Hossen G

Travelers who viewed CHAZAL ecotourisme also viewed

Bel Ombre, Savanne District
Chemin Grenier, Savanne District
 
Riviere des Anguilles, Savanne District
Cascavelle, Riviere Noire District
 

Been to CHAZAL ecotourisme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of CHAZAL ecotourisme and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from CHAZAL ecotourisme staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?