Bluewaves Watersports
Bluewaves Watersports
5
Boat ToursWaterskiing & JetskiingBoat RentalsSpeed Boats ToursStand Up Paddleboarding
Monday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
We offer a selection on self-drive speedboats for hire, ferry to Comino and Blue Lagoon, and various other Waters ports like Jet ski Hire, Banana rides, Paddle boats, Canoes, Windsurfing, Sailing. All self drive boats are in top condition and completely equipped with a canopy, steps, life-jackets and other safety equipment. You need no boat licence to hire the boat, you just need to bring identification i.e passport/id card, and mobile phone. We do provide a map to mark any dangerous shallow water or reefs, and also point our some nice places to visit. We are situated in the North of Malta at the Ramla Bay Resort, next to Labranda Riviera Hotel. You can also follow the road signs to Gozo ferry terminal.
Mellieha, Malta

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(27 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles372 reviews
Excellent
346
Very good
14
Average
6
Poor
0
Terrible
6

Daniel P
Glasgow, UK25 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020
We hired a self-drive boat for two people to visit Comino island. Originally we had reserved the boat for midweek but it was too windy. Monika was great in rescheduling the trip for a time when it would be calmer, which was essential as the boat was quite reactive to choppiness. From start to finish the staff were great. One word of caution would be if you're hiring one of the smaller boats do take care to avoid the wake of the larger boats. We were engulfed by a large wave from a speedboat that soaked my partner and our bags. If you're taking valuables it might be best to place them in waterproof containers or sandwich bags before you leave.
Written September 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Daniel P, thank you very much for your feedback and thank you also for your 5 star review! Hope to see you again Best Regards Bluewaves Team
Written November 9, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mike C
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Couples
Rented 2pers boat for €80/€90, for 3hrs.
Great little boat, not super powerful and loud at full throttle but great value for money, inc GPS onboard and a cooler box for our drinks.
Used about 3L of fuel costing €4, went around Comino in plenty of time.
Very helpful and friendly, would defo rent from these guys again.
Written August 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear mpchilli4, On behalf of the Bluewaves Team i would like to thank you for your 5 star review Hope to see you again ! Best Regards Bluewaves
Written October 22, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sri & Avz
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021
We did a 2 hour jet ski safari with Jedi and it was the highlight of our trip in Malta.
The team were extremely responsive and helpful. They even accommodated our request of doing a private 2-hour jet-ski safari at sunset.

As for the actual experience itself, Jedi was a star! He was entertaining, helpful and ensured that we had a great time. He took us around some amazing hidden gems and was kind enough to take us inside some of the caves too.

Along with being our tour guide, Jedi was also a great photographer / videographer. He took some amazing pictures and videos to make it a memorable experience for us. The icing on the cake was him making a montage of all the videos he took and sharing it with us. Cannot thank him enough for that gesture.

Overall, a great experience and highly recommend both the experience and the company.
Written July 20, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Omar Ahmed
Toronto, Canada6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2022 • Couples
i made a reservation and paid deposit for a full day self driving boat, but on the morning of, my flight home was cancelled so i had to spend some time reorganising my return journey.

i explained to the people at blue wave that i wouldn’t be able to make it over to them for the morning but if it was possible to reschedule my booking for a half day instead, i would be able to be there for 2pm.

they were so unbelievably unsympathetic, wouldn’t even bother taking my circumstances into consideration and told me they would not change my reservation for half day, even though the boat i had reserved was available all day.

they told me i would lose my deposit and would have to pay a new deposit for the new booking and when i tried to explain why i wasn’t able to make it, they’d just copy and pasted their terms and conditions, as if there wasn’t a real person on the other end.

Monika showed absolutely no empathy and wouldn’t so much as help me come up with another solution, ruining the day we had planned in the process.

i can’t even begin to explain how frustrating being in contact with this company was, from beginning to end their correspondence was so impersonal and they showed very little care for customer interaction.

just for the sake of talking to people who actually care about your experience while visiting Malta, i’d highly recommend choosing a different rental company during your stay.
Written September 12, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Omar Ahmed, thank you for your review, You had made a booking to rent a boat for a full day and had sent a €50 as per our booking policy in order to secure that booking. You had sent us an email on the morning of the rental to inform us that you wanted to change the full day rental booking to an afternoon booking. As this would be a late (within 48hours of the booking) cancellation and rebooking, we explained that the deposit for the first booking would be lost and you could make a second booking on receipt of a €50 deposit for the new booking. You must understand that at this time of year it is peak season and our boats are very much in demand. As you had already cancelled a booking at the last minute the new deposit was required to reserve the boat in case you also cancelled the new reservation at the last minute therefore making the boat unavailable for rental all day. You also cannot blame us for “ruining your day” when you admitted that the day was ruined by the cancellation of your flight home. Maybe you could look to claim some recompense from your travel insurance. Whilst we sympathise with you, we cannot be held responsible for your cancelled flight and the rental terms and conditions are made clear at the time of booking. This is standard practice throughout the world. Regards Bluewaves
Written September 15, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Barry O
59 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2022 • Family
We are staying in Mellieha and saw many places offering boat hire but all involved travelling elsewhere except Blue Wave Watersports.

I met Kevin at the office who took me through absolutely everything we needed to know as a person of very limited experience.

We hired a small 2 person motorboat that was fully equipped including GPS and Bluetooth Radio.

After a explanation of how to operate the boat and being given a detailed map and best places to stop we set off.

Nervousness quickly faded and felt like I'd been steering boats for years after a few minutes I'd have to say its one of the most fun experiences I've had.

We circled Comino Island a few times and stopped at some really beautiful bays during our 3 hours on the water.

On return we just paid for fuel used and that was it.

Absolute Bargain at €70 for 3 hours hire and €11 for fuel.

I would highly recommend them with many additional boats available of differing sizes and speeds as well as jetskis.
Written November 1, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Mar G
Brussels58 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022 • Solo
I just did a 3 island boat trip and it was great! Its a nice way to explore beautiful Malta from the sea! It included some snorkelling which was nice and refreshing. The skipper was fun, he laughed all the time and played some good music which contributed to a cool atmosphere. Its 3 hrs in total of island hopping so maybe not for small kids but everybody else will enjoy! Greetings to the manager who made sure that everything worked as planned.
Written May 22, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Wander785855
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2024 • Family
We booked the Comino Island cruise for a family of three and were very happy with the experience.
We had three main stops, the first for one hour where you could swim, jump and dive in the water. Goggles and snorkel can be hired aboard the boat for a small fee which are great for looking beneath the waves. Second stop is Blue Lagoon which is very busy particularly at weekends but you have the choice of going onto the island or staying on the boat to swim or relax and sunbathe if you want. Third stop was also for an hour for more swimming etc. There are also cave visits in between which were nice. Drinks and snacks are available on board at a reasonable price but you can also bring your own food with you no problem. I would highly recommend Blue Waves, the guys are great and very professional in their job. 10/10 from us.
Thanks for a great day guys👍
Written July 8, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Owen D
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2024 • Couples
Great fun and good company to deal with! Would deffo do it again and highly recommend! Me and my partner hired a jet ski for 30 mins, it was well priced compared to others around the island and the staff were all very friendly!
Written June 26, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Ali
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 • Couples
We hired a 2 person boat and couldn't have had a better experience. Monika and the team are really friendly and nothing is too much trouble, they all have a smile on their face and everyone wants to make the experience as good as possible. It couldn't have been better!
Written August 15, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Alasdair3004, On behalf of the Bluewaves Team I would like to thank you for your fantastic review and recommendation We are really appreciated and we hope to see you again! Best Regards Bluewaves
Written October 22, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Malek E
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 • Couples
I had a great time on vacation, the workers are nice, and the prices are much cheaper than the sports areas. Driving the Jatsky is exciting and amazing. Captain Kaifen is a nice person and he stayed near me to take the Care as driving the Jatsky and he took a video for me and it was free. In this place you can spend an amazing time and they have a lot of activities such as driving boats and Jatsky and they organize trips to other islands. Here you can see the perfect picture of the people of Malta .. Thank you Bluewaves, and see you soont
Written October 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Good Morning, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review Hope to see you soon ! Best Regards Bluewaves Team
Written November 9, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 244

Bluewaves Watersports - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All things to do in Mellieha
Amusement Parks in MelliehaDay Trips in Mellieha
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars