We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

National Glass Centre

Liberty Way, Sunderland SR6 0GL, England
+44 191 515 5555
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Great place. Fab to make glass objects with kids.

We often pop here with our little girl. Definitely advisable to keep an eye on the dates to make... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Lorraine B
,
County Durham, United Kingdom
Classy Glass

Always a wonderful experience at the National Glass Centre a must for all visitors to Sunderland... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
tony19612018
,
Sunderland, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 776 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Based in a unique, contemporary glass and steel building, the National Glass Centre houses exhibition galleries, artists' studios and production facilities, a craft & design shop and an award winning café/restaurant. National Glass Centre is part of the University of Sunderland. We deliver a programme of changing exhibitions, education programmes and events for schools, families, adults and children. We are dedicated to exploring ideas through glass and providing opportunities for people to be creative, enjoy themselves and feel inspired.
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good30%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
LOCATION
Liberty Way, Sunderland SR6 0GL, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 191 515 5555
Write a ReviewReviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"for sale"
in 23 reviews
"overlooking the river"
in 16 reviews
"christmas baubles"
in 10 reviews
"gift shop"
in 38 reviews
"free entry"
in 41 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 56 reviews
"modern building"
in 8 reviews
"cafe restaurant"
in 11 reviews
"interesting history"
in 9 reviews
"scones"
in 20 reviews
"interesting place"
in 16 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 11 reviews
"on display"
in 21 reviews
"lovely cafe"
in 9 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 20 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 19 reviews
"sunday lunch"
in 14 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 773 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We often pop here with our little girl. Definitely advisable to keep an eye on the dates to make glass items, like owls, birds, snowman, as the places fill up quickly. Activities for kids in holidays are good. Café is nice and bright to sit...More

Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Always a wonderful experience at the National Glass Centre a must for all visitors to Sunderland. The restaurant glass blowing and the exhibitions are all quality and the staff can't do enough for you. It does the city proud.

Thank tony19612018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A wonderful and varied selection of things to do, great works of art in glass on display from up and coming young artists, crafts for the kids to get involved in, friendly staff always willing to stop and chat and teach the kids. The glass...More

Thank dawnwatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was lovely to visit this Glass Centre whilst we were in Sunderland. Seeing glass being turned on a lathe and blown, was a sight to behold. I have visited the Murano Glass factory and seen glass being blown, before, but I have never seen...More

Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoy meeting friends here as you can wander round the gift shop and there is always something you can't resist even if it is just a quirky birthday card or pressie for a friend. The restaurant is spacious and has outside seating as well as...More

Thank isobel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGC_GlassCentre, Public Relations Manager at National Glass Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Isobel, Thank you for sharing this lovely review of National Glass Centre. We are very pleased to hear you love our shop, we do try to keep it full of beautiful and unusual things, supporting local artists where we can and it is great...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Interested in glass and dropped in for half an hour - stayed for 3! Watched 2 amazing demos by talented glass artists. The commentaries were really great - detail and facts without overload. I asked a question about controlled bubbles in glass and if the...More

Thank algogreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGC_GlassCentre, Public Relations Manager at National Glass Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Algogreen, Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of your visit to National Glass Centre. We are delighted to hear that you had such a great day out. We have passed on all your kind words on to the staff...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Brought grandparents to visit the national glass centre. Was very disappointed that 2 of the interactive video displays were out of order.. and also the lift being out of order we could not go downstairs as my grandfather 92, would not get back up the...More

Thank April1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGC_GlassCentre, Public Relations Manager at National Glass Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear April, We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed by your visit. We always work as quickly as possible to resolve any technical issues. Our Visitor Services team and Gallery Learning Facilitators will always be happy to provide the information which is missing...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and some friends booked onto a introduction to pottery course at the National Glass Centre. Not cheap at £60 but for a full day (10am-4pm) we thought it would be a fun experience. We were advised when booking that we would only get ca....More

Thank CJIOHJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGC_GlassCentre, Public Relations Manager at National Glass Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear CJIOHJM, We are sorry to hear that you feel your visit was spoiled by poor customer service. We read your comment cards and were disappointed that you didn’t leave any contact details so we could contact you directly and speak to you about your...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2018 via mobile

Very interesting place to visit, staff very helpful and friendly. Make time to go to one of the glass blowing demonstrations, they are total crafts people, expert in their art. They give a very good informative commentary on all aspects of making beautiful glass objects....More

Thank IAN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGC_GlassCentre, Front Office Manager at National Glass Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2018

Dear Ian, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at National Glass Centre. We are very pleased to hear you had such a good time and will pass on your kind words to the staff. We hope to welcome you again soon....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2018

A great place to spend an afternoon, the location alongside the river makes it scenic. The building itself is interesting. The glass-blowing demonstration and commentary was impressive, the skills were very special. The gallery telling the history of glassmaking in Sunderland was well presented and...More

Thank iananthonyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGC_GlassCentre, Front Office Manager at National Glass Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2018

Dear Ian, Thank you for taking the time to write this great review of National Glass Centre. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We hope you will visit us again soon. Best Wishes, The National Glass Centre Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Sunderland
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
337 reviews
.48 miles away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
541 reviews
.65 miles away
Mowbray Park Aparthotels
2 reviews
.67 miles away
Roker Hotel, BW Premier Collection
157 reviews
.78 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Arabesque
495 reviews
.41 miles away
The Wolsey
127 reviews
.37 miles away
Boars Head Bistro
60 reviews
.18 miles away
Grosvenor Casino
38 reviews
.46 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Katie's Garden
10 reviews
.46 miles away
Roker & Seaburn Beaches
793 reviews
.60 miles away
Grosvenor Casino Sunderland
113 reviews
.46 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
JGnSPC
December 12, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from sheepygold | Reviewed this property |
i just tried website. Seems ok as far as I can see. if you have not been there before i can assure you there are plenty of gifts starting at only a few pounds. they also do a lot of glass blowing workshops. Maybe give them a... More
1
Vote
Hilary C
March 28, 2016|
Answer
Response from NGC_GlassCentre | Property representative |
Hi Hilary, Yes that should be fine, we have an overflow carpark to the side of the centre which we open if our main carpark is full.
0
Votes
ourcally
October 13, 2015|
Answer
Response from NGC_GlassCentre | Property representative |
HI, we are around a 15 minute walk from St Peter's Metro Station. The easiest way to find us is to leave the station and cross the main road (North Bridge Street) and walk along Dame Dorothy Street towards the coast. You... More
0
Votes
;