Suffolk Punch Trust

Suffolk Punch Trust, Hollesley: Address, Phone Number, Suffolk Punch Trust Reviews: 4.5/5

Suffolk Punch Trust
4.5
About
Come and join our gentle giant Suffolk Punch Heavy Horses for a fun family day out. Visit pets corner, meet our Suffolk lambs, see the horses being trained, explore the 120 acre farm. A beautiful drive through sandy forest, south-east from Woodbridge. Leave A12 Woodbridge bypass on A1152 to Melton and Hollesley. Cross traffic lights, level crossing and river bridge, bearing right at the mini roundabout. Pass Sutton Hoo on right and take next turning left. Cross an area of heathland, continuing for three miles and shortly after entering a wooded area bear left - signposted Butley, Boyton and Hollesley Bay Colony. At the crossroads with a water tower continue straight on into Woodbridge Walk and the entrance to the Suffolk Punch Trust is shortly on your right.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Popular mentions

4.5
215 reviews
Excellent
131
Very good
52
Average
11
Poor
12
Terrible
9

Neil R
1 contribution
Well worth a visit!
Oct 2021 • Family
Our 10 year old daughter chose this as her first activity for our week away in Suffolk... we were not disappointed! The staff in the visitor centre and throughout the site were clearly really enthusiastic about their jobs and we spent time with them discussing their work and the breed history, which really added to our afternoon. These are beautiful horses and it is well worth a visit to see them.
Written October 17, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Andrew P
16 contributions
An Interesting Visit
Oct 2021
Arrived minutes after opening to be greeted by a lovely Suffolk accent and a swift check of my name after booking online. We visited the indoor exhibition a history of seed drills and farming equipment and the way of life related to Horses. This widened my knowledge from living locally as a child when such things were of little importance The toilets in the centre are excellent smell free and Covid measures installed.
We walked around the Pet area before meeting Horses as we walked the grounds . We accompanied other people and a guide on the Tractor ride this is a covered Trailer with padded but hard bench chairs , showing their sheep who are descendants of the Herd when it was HM Prison. Retired Race Horses and Stud Stallions and Foals and Mare explaining the naming and age of some of them.
In addition there are Horse propelled Carts Rakes and Ploughs so you could see the patented Seed Drill in an industrial Shed as well other buildings
Improvements are coming with Perspex information point outside the paddocks which will give details of the Horses within as a addition to the talk by the guide Emily who despite being a newer employee knew her information/facts
The Café served a competitive Americano and Cappuccino and Chocolate Cake
The shop had a variety of Horse related items and local produce with nothing tacky ,however do your maths if you are buying more than 3 jams/conserves
Rain was short and the outside seating has covered areas ,the outside toilets were also good
Written October 16, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

S S
2 contributions
Great place to visit
Sep 2021 • Couples
Have visited twice this summer and had a nice time on both occasions. The walking tour was very informative, the museum has loads of exhibits, pretty little garden, friendly and helpful staff, nice cafe and seating area. All in all a lovely day out.
Written October 3, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MaryAnne
1 contribution
A real life experience
Oct 2021
Excellent, such a lot to see. The horses were in a beautiful condition and the staff were very well informed, friendly and helpful. The big bonus is that you can take your own picnic as access to the picnic area, shop, exhibition hall, children play and the Suffolk Heritage Garden are all free.
Written October 3, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Audrey N
4 contributions
An expensive walk around a field.
Sep 2021
The cause is great. One particular lady was doing her friendliest best at reception. We were issued with visitor stickers.

However, we expected a 'family day out'. The lady at the entrance did her best, issuing animal tick lists and pencils, aimed at over 5s, to our very active 2 and 4yr old granddaughters, promising a pot of bubbles prize if they did some colouring and ticking. We had to remind the next shift of staff, on presenting our work on the way out, that we expected a 'prize' .

The tickets said the Trust opened to visitors at 10am, but we had an apology that they could not get the Ticket Company to put the correct time of 10.30 on it so we had to hang about in the shop area.

We were directed to the 'play barn' which was a polytunnel containing a wooden statue of a train, a wooden 'boat' and several ride-on mini plastic pedal tractors. There was a huge climbing frame with an ability level of circa 15yrs. We were told that the small children's swings, slides and climbing frames had been put in the goats enclosure as they were unsafe. The goats looked happy.

10.30 arrived and we noticed (without it being announced) people were walking through to the fields. The children were interested in the dirty sand on the pathways and quickly filled their shoes with it and we were covered in dust by a horse feeding quad bike passing us with apparent amusement at speed.

The 'pets area' did not allow any physical contact (bar being pecked through the cage by chickens) and the principal amusement our two pre-schoolers found was feeding weeds to desperate hens.

The day was nearly saved by a tractor trailer ride. We enjoyed hearing the story about a gypsy pony that had been saved from the roadside. But otherwise it was a list of horse names and ages who were in the distance.
There was no close up view of a Suffolk Punch.

We managed to scratch the bum of a Shetland pony who was near the fence.

The children asked for a fluffy (6" tall) horse from the gift shop but these were priced at £15 each. We bought bouncy eggs and mini sheep. The gift shop is oversized and overpriced. The children's cardboard lunch box contained Pom bear crisps (20p from retailers), a mini Mars bar (retail value 23p), an apple (retail value 15p) and a one slice ham or cheese sandwich (retail value £1) total retail food value £1.58 - charge was £5.50 per lunch - wow expensive box! There were hot foods for children on the menu but nothing special. Some adult sandwich options were unavailable.

A donations bucket was shaken at us as we mounted the trailer ride.

The museum is a barn full of old farm carriages - preschool children will run around in 2 minutes and require extracting from the roped off areas.

I didn't see any signs to a garden.

I felt like I was seen as a cash cow. Ripped off even.

If this is being advertised as a family day out, there needs at least to be a proper swing and slide play area, educational displays and a few more animals close up for the very young.

We could have found a country walk and got as close to horses.

If you are going to attract funding for these beautiful animals, at least do something for the youngest visitors. There were about 16 visitors by my estimate that day. Not surprising!

Audrey Naylor
Written September 30, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Audrey, Thank you for your review which of course we were expecting as you made it quite clear you were going to give us a very bad review as you moaned from the minute you arrived. The SPT Team
Written October 1, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

SheWolf79
Essex, UK42 contributions
Nice place for horse lovers
Aug 2021
The Suffolk Punch Trust is a breeding centre for this rare breed, and also houses some other farm animals and a small museum.

The entrance fee was reasonable and the horses beautiful, but they are in large paddocks, meaning you can only interact with them if they happen to come close to the fence. Happily, many of them did come over and seemed to enjoy people’s attention, but the stables, where you are apparently guaranteed a close-up view, were closed (I assume due to Covid). In addition to Suffolk Punches and a couple of other horses, we saw donkeys, goats, chickens and guinea pigs, but there was no sign of the cattle, sheep and pigs that were supposed to be on show. I was very surprised (and disappointed) that the gift shop did not stock a single horse ornament or cuddly toy, though there were mugs, photos and so on.

In conclusion, this is a nice place to go if you like horses (and the weather is good), but don’t expect to spend more than a couple of hours here, and be aware that you may not see or get to stroke some of the animals.
Written August 21, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review and it is a shame that you were not able to interact as much as you would have liked. We will be (hopefully) back to normal next year and are planning demonstrations and the stable will be open.
Written October 1, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

John A
Pickering, England, United Kingdom14 contributions
A day out
Jul 2021
Excellent day out, well kept horses, nice to see the breeding program going well to maintain this local rare breed , well laid out museum and good food from the cafe.
Written August 18, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review and we are glad you had a great time.
Written October 1, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

andrwbt7
Worksop, UK21 contributions
Great day out
Aug 2021
Visited here for my wife more than myself, but must admit, the whole place is very interesting and professionally run. The staff obviously love their jobs and are extremely helpful and happy to talk. Plenty to do for children and adults alike. Highly recommended.
Written August 15, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased you had a good time with us.
Written October 1, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

RobertAshton
Wymondham, UK247 contributions
Unmissable
Aug 2021
This was our second visit, this time taking my aged in-laws, who were driven round the paddocks by our guide, aboard a golf buggy. Father in law remembered his father and grandfather working with horses, so loved chatting with the guide and remembering his earlier years.

The old farm machinery in the barn and gallery were also a big hit and having farmed himself nearby, father in law had known many of the people, places and companies featured.

All Suffolk Punch horses are descended from 'Crisp's horse' that was born at nearby Ufford in 1768. Today there are fewer than 500 Suffolk horses left, so the work of the trust is really important.
Written August 14, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review and we are so glad that you Father-in-law was able to see the horses. It is such a shame that so few can remember working with the horses and it is great for us to be able to talk to people who did. I suspect out guide got as much pleasure out of your trip as you did.
Written October 1, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Helen L
Lincoln, UK48 contributions
Disappointing visit☹️
Aug 2021 • Couples
What a disappointment. I am a horse owner and lover and was really looking forward to visiting this stud. I know we are still in the grip of covid and they have cancelled their demonstrations and you cannot go in the stables, but the website says there will be plenty to see and do. There wasn’t. We were there a maximum of 20 mins. The museum was interesting with lots of artefacts. But out in the fields there were only 3 suffolk punch horses and one of them was in a far paddock with a couple of other horses which weren’t suffolk punches. There were a couple of donkeys and a couple of miniature horses and that was it! We had already had lunch so didn’t use the cafe. The heritage garden was just a mess of nettles and thistles. Bearing in mind not everyone was wearing masks or distancing they should really restart their demonstrations and tours.
Written August 13, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review and we are sorry you did not manage to see the 19 Suffolk Punch horses we have on site, including our 3 foals that were born this year. They are all in paddocks around the short walk and have been since we opened this season. As this walk takes around 30 minutes we can only assume that you chose not to do this. Our garden is wonderful so we can only assume you did not actually enter the garden but got as far as our pond. This is full of nettles and wild shrubs at the moment as we are working with Native Gardens to encourage wildlife to return to our pond. The Heritage garden is full of roses at the moment with not a nettle in sight,
Written October 1, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 215
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Suffolk Punch Trust


Restaurants near Suffolk Punch Trust: View all restaurants near Suffolk Punch Trust on Tripadvisor