Manor Grove Spa
Manor Grove Spa
3
About
Manor Grove is a Treatment Spa located in the picturesque village of Bulwick East Northamptonshire. At Manor Grove Spa, our therapists seek to create an experience that encapsulates your whole being - evaluating your lifestyle and specific needs to achieve your mind and body wellness objectives. We offer world class services for ultimate relaxation.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


3.0
3.0 of 5 bubbles35 reviews
Excellent
16
Very good
1
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
17

Leigh H
Corby, UK2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2014 • Couples
This spa seems to lack the finishing touches. On the few occasions I have visited there has been a mop and bucket in the entrance porch. On my first visit I was offered a refreshing glass of orange juice following my massage but I was not offered a drink on my other two visits. The lighting is quite bright and stark instead of subdued and more cosy. I also got the impression that I could have been seen through a window whilst getting undressed for my treatment, which does not make for a relaxing comforting experience. The massage itself, however, was quite good.
Written February 18, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Leigh thank you for your review. I would like to address your concern about being overlooked first of all, we are above street level and also not overlooked by any property, however, we do have window shutters which could have been closed for you if you informed us you felt uncomfortable. However, I also recognise we could ask guests in the future if this is uncomfortable for them. With regards to the mop and bucket, we do not have any cleaning storage outside of the room and the porch often gets dirty when guests are coming in and out and has to be cleaned several times some days and we cannot disturb treatments to get the mop and bucket. I'm not sure I understand your comment regarding the lighting, we only use a small light when it is getting darker, the lighting is brighter in the reception area as we have a large chandelier. Could I just ask you to confirm your last visit with us was early July 2014 as per our records. I'm sure a lot of our clients would agree we work very hard to ensure a great experience and I am saddened that you did not feel this. I hope you come back and give us another chance a lot has changed since last year.
Written February 20, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

BCDLew
Bedford, UK6 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I bought an Amazon deal for my sister's birthday to have two treatments each followed by a glass of champagne and an afternoon cream tea.

We had a lovely day but it was important to have had great treatments too, which we both did.

My sister has had many body massages and facials and she said this was the best she'd had to date.

11 natural products were used in the facial and it looked as if we'd just had a makeover!

Michelle (owner) was lovely and both she and her colleague were very helpful.

Wishing them all the best with their range of Caudelie products. I use mine daily and still look good :-)) x

Written February 22, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much ladies I appreciate you taking the time to write your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your treatments and your experience with us. I am also very happy you are seeing further results from your products. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.
Written February 23, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Unkown2822
Northamptonshire, UK2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2014 • Solo
This was by far the worst experience I have ever had at a spa. I was turned down as they got the appointment wrong - no apology but sheer rudeness. I travelled back again for the appointment the next day and the place was locked up with no one in sight. The telephone number is outsourced to some other place, not at the venue, where I was told that the owner/beautician decided they did not wish to do my treatment! Absolutely appalling. I was given no apology or reason for this. Extremely unprofessional and they do not know how to run a business let alone customer service. Do not go here - you will waste your time and money!!!!!!
Written August 29, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review. I would, however, like to point out that this is not a true representation of this situation. The treatment you booked was not in fact the treatment you insisted you had booked on arrival at our premises. You were very forceful in your approach even although I showed you evidence of the call logs and what you had booked. You became very irate and I explained I do not accept that behaviour. I explained to you there was not enough time to do the treatment you insisted you wanted as there were other customers after you. I did in fact apologies to you over and over and I also gave you a £10 voucher. I did book you back in, however, after the intense and irate behaviour from you towards myself, my therapist did not feel comfortable doing the treatment. We called and explained and you were irate with the receptionist and insisted on coming and that the therapist had to see you, as you needed your brows done. I feel you have been very unfair in your review.
Written September 5, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Debra B
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2015 • Family
I purchased an Amazon Local voucher for myself and daughter - we both work full time and have other significant commitments so difficult to find time together. I rang (and found later it was a call handling service) on the day I made the purchase - needing to leave a message as no-one answered. I stated the only date we could do and requested a call back asap. No response. I rang again the following day. No response. And again the following day. No response. I then was able to speak to a member of the call centre team who said she would pass my message on. No response. I rang the next day and sppke again to the call centre staff - advising this was now a matter of urgency. No response. I left it two days over the weekend and rang again yesterday. I spoke to the call centre manager who said there were other frustrated customers having the same issue and that the call centre staff could not get any response from the spa staff. He offered some reasons like staffing shortages, recent bereavement and sickness. I have just rang Amozon to request an investigation. On reading TripAdvisor reviews there are two things that are very clear: the spa experience of massage/therapies ect is very good and the poor communication/last minute cancellation due to a host of reasons is frequent and attracts a poor rating. I feel the manager of the spa could reduce the frustrtion and improve customer service by one phone call to the call centre saying "we arnt available to ring you back because......" this does however need to be the genuine reason for not returning calls. The postings on TripAdvisor by the spa manager are defensive and possibly offensive to those potential customers - many who have already purchased vouchers - and this is resulting in the reputation of the spa being negated by poor communication. It is such a shame that she doesnt have the time or consideration to make just one call.... or maybe employ a receptonist a few hours a day to manage bookings.......
Written July 21, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Violet C
London, UK2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2015 • Friends
I am incredibly disappointed by the unprofessionalism this spa seems to base their practice on. My mum had booked a facial and massage for us both over Amazon in April as a birthday surprise. I was really looking forward to the treatment, but it was unfortunately cancelled by text on the morning it was due. The manager was very apologetic and initially came across as accommodating enough to book us in for another appointment. As I don't live locally (and my work is very demanding) it is not easy for me to just pop down whenever, but we booked another appointment for the end of May. Three days before, however, the appointment was yet again cancelled by text! As the voucher my mother booked with expires at the end of this month, it will not be possible for us to yet again reschedule. Both times we were given the reason that a member of staff had resigned last minute. I find the fact that this twice coincided with our bookings too much of a coincidence to believe. This is disgustingly shoddy service and the catty responses veiled in defensiveness which the manager leaves in response to negative reviews on this site merely cements this as truth. Absolutely shameful.
Written May 25, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologise to all of our customers who have been affected by our recent staff shortages and cancellation of appointments. It has been a difficult time and I have been very honest regarding the issues and always remained very apologetic. The staff issues are now in hand and we can assure all customers with upcoming appointments you will receive your appointments and I would also like to reassure all customers who hold an Amazon voucher, all vouchers will be honoured and extended if need be. Thank you to those of you who have been understanding and supportive of the difficulties we have been experiencing, we look forward to seeing you all soon.
Written May 30, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dee H
Northampton, United Kingdom14 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2015 • Friends
I have just left a review on Facebook regarding Manor Grove and remembered the terrible reviews we read here after our second appointment was cancelled on the 18th July. My friend purchased a voucher in February for my birthday. We booked in for May. This was cancelled the day before due to family issues that I think resulted in a bereavement. Understandable. It took a while to track them down to arrange another date. We could only do one that was after the expiry date of the voucher. We were told that this was not a problem and that they would "make it up to us". The morning of the 18th July came and I received a text message to my home phone saying that the appointment was cancelled due to child care issues. I understand that this can happen as a parent myself. The message said that they had tried to contact the other numbers it had, this was a lie, neither mine or my friends mobile phones had messages on them. We then checked out trip advisor and saw the poor reviews. Were we bumped for a full paying customer I do not know I cannot speculate! The customer service is shoddy to say the least. I called and spoke to Ahleigh on the Monday who had no idea we had been cancelled, is this because some people have said that there is a call service?? I am not sure. I asked if I could speak to someone about this and she said she would try an advisor but there was no one to help. I said that we were not happy with being cancelled twice and that we would be going back to Amazon to ask for a refund but I would like a call back. Two weeks on I am still waiting for that call. Avoid these time wasters.
Written August 1, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tava52
Northamptonshire, UK36 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2015 • Family
I have bought Amazon Local voucher for 2h treatment for me and my daughter. It was cancelled both times! First time cancelled on the day and promised it will be well worth waiting for. Second time cancelled 3 days before appointment but only a week left before vouchers expired. Both times the same explanation, unreliable staff giving short notice. I feel used and abused by Amazon and Manor Grove Spa!
Exceptional waste of my time and energy!
It has put me off buying any voucher from Amazon ever again!
Written May 25, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Debbie C
Loughborough, UK5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2015 • Couples
Booked a couples massage for my daughter and I as a birthday treat . I rang two days prior to confirm our appointment , never got any answer ! After leaving a message they rang back the day before only to cancel due to having a member of staff ring in sick.. The lady I spoke to gave me her mobile phone number and said it would be easier for me to get hold of her.. After leaving a message then ringing the next day I finally got hold of her only to be told she wasn't in front of her diary !!! She promised she'd ring back the next day as my daughter and I had to try and book another day off work and needed to know so as possible . She never rang back the following day !! Decided to get my money back from Amazon local who was fantastic and refunded me straight away.. Shame Manor Grove Spa don't have the same customer values !!!!!!
Written July 6, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review and bringing this to our attention. Having investigated your comments, I have in fact confirmed that your calls were returned and whilst there was an issue with access to the diary, a courtesy call was made to inform you of that in order to ensure you were kept up to date and did not feel ignored. I understand you may feel you did not receive satisfactory customer service, however, from my investigation it is clear that every effort was made to minimize the inconvenience to you and keep you informed. We do pride ourselves on good customer service, however, some circumstances are not always in our control and we apologies to you sincerely.
Written July 8, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nicky W
Milton Keynes, UK1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2015 • Couples
I'm afraid I've just had a similar experience. My husband and I purchased a voucher from AmazonLocal for a 1 hour massage and facial and were so looking forward to it, we've had a lot of bad news and stress recently, so this was just what we needed. I'd confirmed the appointment the night before with the spa. We were due to leave for the spa at 9am. At 7.47am I received a text (yes a text) apologising that it would need to be rescheduled as the therapist called in sick. Things happen and I can accept that, but since reading the other reviews, I decided I just wanted my money back. I don't have the luxury of just being able to reschedule as it's difficult to make time in the diary 1) I'm a carer to my elderly father and don't get much free time 2) it's hard to get time off work 3) my husband has limited leave entitlement and effectively this has 'wasted' a day 4) we have to make special arrangements for my daughter to be picked up from school. So it's more than just disappointment we faced today. I must, however, say how brilliant the AmazonLocal service advisor had been when I called for a refund, excellent customer service provided. Thanks AmazonLocal.
Written May 14, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

kae b
Wellingborough, UK12 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2015 • Family
Booked two months in advance. Called on month prior to booking to confirm everything was ok.

Surely nothing can go wrong now! - I WAS MISTAKEN!

Day before get a call notifying me they need to reschedule. This was booked as my sisters birthday treat and as they were booked off work I wasn't too pleased. I had an apology but why was my booking cancelled? Why not the other booking? Couldn't offer any other weekend in the near future to suit us therefore cancelled and got my money back. It seems apparently a new girl had made this mistake a few times however checking this 1 month prior and having a number of different people on the phone surely SOMEONE would be checking this information MORE than the day before!

Now I have to wait for my refund as well as find somewhere else last minute to treat my sister!

Thanks Manor Grove Spa!
Written February 20, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Kae, Thank you for your review. I do apologies once again for your poor experience. We did try to reschedule you and offered a few different options. My reason for not rescheduling the other appointment was because that was booked in before yours was booked in and it was your appointment that had caused the double booking I'm afraid, we should have picked up on this earlier and will be taking steps to ensure this does not happen again. I do sincerely apologies for the inconvenience this caused you.
Written February 23, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 35
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Manor Grove Spa - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Manor Grove Spa


Restaurants near Manor Grove Spa: View all restaurants near Manor Grove Spa on Tripadvisor

Manor Grove Spa Information

Excellent Reviews

16

Very Good Reviews

1

Manor Grove Spa Photos

10