We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Coldharbour mill great place to visit

This mill is a wonderful place to visit so informative...why don't we use wool any more. To top it... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Clive G
,
Salisbury, United Kingdom
via mobile
Fantastic day out

When we first arrived, we were all a bit worried by how quiet it was. We were so pleased to find... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Paula T
,
Devon, United Kingdom
Read all 133 reviews
All photos (80)
All photos (80)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good29%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
About
Welcome to Coldharbour Mill, a 200 year old spinning mill set in the tranquil Devon village of Uffculme. Built by Thomas Fox to spin woollen and later worsted yarns in 1799, Coldharbour Mill is a rare surviving example of Georgian architecture...more
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Uffculme, Cullompton EX15 3EE, England
Website
+44 1884 840960
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
68
39
16
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
68
39
16
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews worth a visit a bit disappointed lovely setting disabled access staff volunteers guided tour three hours close proximity picnic area happy to answer any questions my parents steam engine steam days year old son beam engine model railway young children
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This mill is a wonderful place to visit so informative...why don't we use wool any more. To top it off there is coffee and cake at Braziers coffee shop. Great day out!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Clive G
Martin H, General Manager at Coldharbour Mill Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Clive, Thanks for the great review, so good to hear you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 1 week ago

When we first arrived, we were all a bit worried by how quiet it was. We were so pleased to find children got in free (as we had 3 with us) and were still eligible for the sheep trail and also the Easter egg hunt....More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Paula T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not sure how one reviewer got a guided tour, I didn't. The sign at the entrance to the main building said guided tours every half hour, starting at 10:30am. No chance! The guy on reception said that they didn't do guided tours any more, but...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Meander586596
seangbutcher, General Manager at Coldharbour Mill Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I apologise that your visit to the mill did not meet your expectations but thank you for your honesty. Unfortunately the sign in which speak of should not have been on show. Our guided tours have been restructured for 2019. The terminology on our current...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A very important piece of history. Amazing wooden machine powered by clean water It has an atmosphere too. Rather tranquil slow natural. It's suffused with thousands of happy days. And years of useful work for generations. The Mill summarises the Devon we love. The Devon...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank rashid m
seangbutcher, General Manager at Coldharbour Mill Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for review, we are glad that you found your experience with us empowering. "It's suffused with thousands of happy days" This is beautiful wording which I think really sums up the mills history and what it gives to its visitors and the community....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is so much more here than I had anticipated. A steam day is particularly interesting. They have a range of engines from the massive beam engine, the compound engine that drove the mill and smaller engines that worked generators or the carpenters shop. The...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank tqbrewer
seangbutcher, General Manager at Coldharbour Mill Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive and invaluable feedback. We are glad you to hear you would come back and experience the Mill at full steam again.

Reviewed March 13, 2019

I was travelling further West and decided that the museum would be an interesting place to take a break. Once I had paid to get in I discovered that there were no guided tours, the upper floor was closed for renovation and the café was...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Big-G66
seangbutcher, General Manager at Coldharbour Mill Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry that you didn't have the best experience on your visit with us. The café is separate to the Mill and due to unforeseen circumstances had been closed for a few weeks. Our website along with the...More

Reviewed January 2, 2019

We had expected to stay for a couple of hours but spent over three hours. There are so many projects being worked on by so many enthusiastic volunteers that it is worth going back regularly to see what they are up to. They are all...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Maggie S
seangbutcher, General Manager at Coldharbour Mill Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2019

Thank you for your very insightful review. We are delighted that you had a great experience here at Coldharbour Mill. In regards to the café they will be serving Hot food from when we re-open on the 16th February. They had only opened for the...More

Reviewed January 1, 2019 via mobile

The cafe was exspensive for what we received. We ordered 4 hot drinks as a cost of 9:40, which arrived in cardboard cups. We had no spoons or sugar on our dirty table holding the last peoples plates. A nice trip spoilt by the cafe

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Archewhite
seangbutcher, General Manager at Coldharbour Mill Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2019

Thank you for your review. On behalf of Coldharbour Mill we apologise for the bad experience you had at the café. Your message has been passed forward to the Hospitality Manager at the café and they should be in contact with you.

Reviewed November 7, 2018

Although it was interesting to see some machines working, for the money we paid we expected more; two floors were blocked off. Us two, we wandered about alone. It was towards the end of the summer season, so be it - but, cut the cloth...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank MargaretJF
seangbutcher, General Manager at Coldharbour Mill Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2018

Thank you for your response. I'm sorry that you felt this way. Us here at Coldharbour Mill appreciate all feedback given. We are currently under going restoration work across a lot of our site as part of our 5 year strategic plan to renew and...More

Reviewed November 2, 2018

I had been recommended to visit Coldharbour Mill by a cousin, she and her partner visit you a lot.. We found the guides very interesting and informative, We are glad we came on a steam day. My grandson took several photos which he was going...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank maggieburt
seangbutcher, General Manager at Coldharbour Mill Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2018

Thank you for your kind review and recommendation's. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to se you again.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Waterloo Cross
272 reviews
1.18 miles away
Travelodge Tiverton
283 reviews
1.34 miles away
Padbrook Park Hotel
299 reviews
4.55 miles away
Park 'n' Lodge
43 reviews
5.48 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 6 nearby restaurants
The George
102 reviews
.39 miles away
Halfway House
154 reviews
1.46 miles away
The Ashill Inn
252 reviews
1.65 miles away
The Globe Inn Restaurant
328 reviews
2.30 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 3 nearby attractions
The Ostler Inn
9 reviews
.44 miles away
Diggerland
598 reviews
2.52 miles away
The Old Kennels - Courses
44 reviews
4.76 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
AnneE1860
December 31, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Pete D | Reviewed this property |
If you go to the Coldharbour Mill wesite you should be able to download tickets.If there was a problem,buying tickets on arrival has never taken me more than five minutes or so. The Cafe should be open on a steaming day. I... More
0
Votes
Shcokete
May 3, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Shcokete | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do. I went yesterday and instead of paying the usual £8.80 for an OAP, I paid £6.75.
0
Votes