We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ann van Dyk Cheetah Centre

Features Animals
Book In Advance
476
All photos (476)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good24%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“wild dogs”(148 reviews)
“ann van”(15 reviews)
About
The Cheetah Centre in South Africa was established in 1971, initially as a cheetah breeding project and the Centre has during the past 40 years bred over 800 cheetah cubs. Various conservation projects have been initiated since its inception which...more
Contact
R513, Brits, Madibeng 0251, South Africa
Website
+27 12 504 9906
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Ann van Dyk Cheetah Centre
from $163.32
More Info
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveler rating
339
103
13
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
339
103
13
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild dogs endangered species ann van honey badger conservation work hour guided tour beautiful animals private tour photo opportunities an amazing experience once in a lifetime vultures cheetah ambassador drive opportunity enclosures
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 463 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2018

We were taken here on a day trip by some friends who live outside Joburg. It was quite a long drive, but we were able to stop at The Cradle of Civilisation (Disappointing!) on the way. We have done open camping Safaris in other African...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank TomDot70
NikkiS1969, Marketing at Ann van Dyk Cheetah Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2019

Many thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Ann is very passionate about educating the public especially our youth about the plight if these amazing animals.

Reviewed December 6, 2018

Going on the feeding run was an amazing experience and the programs to save endangered species such as the cheetah and the African Painted Dog are really well worth supporting. The staff clearly care deeply about the animals which more than makes up for their...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank JanC02
NikkiS1969, Marketing at Ann van Dyk Cheetah Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2018

Thank you for your review - our guides are very passionate about educating the public to the plight of these amazing animals. I am so glad that you had good time with us and hope to see you back one day.

Reviewed November 29, 2018

Amazing and educational tour for us and our guests, as a touring company I will recommend to everyone, great photography opportunities as well.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank hendrevanrooyen
NikkiS1969, Marketing at Ann van Dyk Cheetah Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2018

Thank you for your kind review, education has always been at the top of Ann's list - to be able to teach both young and old about all our amazing animals is top priority for all who work at the centre.

Reviewed November 22, 2018

I visited the Ann Van Dyke Cheetah Center two years ago. It was an amazing experience. If you love seeing animals, especially endangered ones, this is the place to go. The tour guides were lovely and gave lots of information about the animals. It is...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank ThistletheActual
NikkiS1969, Marketing at Ann van Dyk Cheetah Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2018

Than you so much for taking the time to send us a review and an even bigger thank you for adopting Jules and Lily - it is only through people like yourself that we can continue to look after these amazing animals.

Reviewed November 14, 2018

The cheetah run was an amazing unforgettable experience. We especially loved the game drive through the wild dog enclosure... just amazing. Thank you!!!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank JM-WL_656
NikkiS1969, Marketing at Ann van Dyk Cheetah Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2018

The Wild Dogs are absolutely amazing - we cant get enough of the sound that they make

Reviewed November 12, 2018

A good operation and a chance to see endangered species such as cheetahs, wild dogs, servals as well as meercats. Cheetah runs are offered 4 times a week at 8 am that unfortunately are not advertised on the website.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Alexander P
NikkiS1969, Marketing at Ann van Dyk Cheetah Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2018

Many thanks for your review - apologies for our website not being correct, we have asked that this be rectified

Reviewed November 6, 2018

I took a group of 2 Canadians & 3 Aussies to the Cheetah Sanctuary, the guests were totally blown away by the Sanctuary. Unfortunately the day we chose was not the 'Cheetah Running' day. (My mistake) Nevertheless, seeing the Cheetahs close up and the various...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 738selwynh
NikkiS1969, Marketing at Ann van Dyk Cheetah Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2018

We are so glad that you had a wonderful day with us - our cheetah running days are on a Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday, we hope to see you back at the centre to watch these amazing animals in action.

Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

Great day trip and well maintained. This is most definitely worth the visit and highly recommended. Suitable for the whole family.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank kemp747
NikkiS1969, Marketing at Ann van Dyk Cheetah Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review, we are so glad that you had a great time with us.

Reviewed November 5, 2018

Except for the cheetah run (which is the highlight of the visit), the information about the different animals present at the centre and the visual encounter with the animals at close range makes it an adventure to remember.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank deonliebenberg
NikkiS1969, Marketing at Ann van Dyk Cheetah Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Many thanks for your review - we try to make the tours as educational as possible.

Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

We had a great tour and included the cheetah run. Lots of information and great time. Very good value for money.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank sandramV4012EL
NikkiS1969, Marketing at Ann van Dyk Cheetah Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Many thanks for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Kassaboera Lodge
121 reviews
5.17 miles away
The Orient
111 reviews
7.77 miles away
Alpha Conference Centre
5 reviews
11.32 miles away
Hoogland Health Hydro
155 reviews
11.47 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 14 nearby restaurants
Vovo Telo
104 reviews
4.73 miles away
White Water Spur Steak Ranch
26 reviews
4.85 miles away
French Toast Koffie Kafee
318 reviews
4.57 miles away
Mugg & Bean
37 reviews
3.47 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 9 nearby attractions
De Wildt 4x4
9 reviews
1.59 miles away
Aerial Cableway Hartbeespoort
618 reviews
3.55 miles away
Aerial Cableway Hartbeespoort
49 reviews
4.01 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
drpampers
October 19, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Carrie B | Reviewed this property |
We had a hired driver for the day and took the morning tour. The driver was hired from Menzies by our travel operator and he waited for us while we were on the tour (he, himself,had been on the tour several times and knew... More
0
Votes
Siriporn S
October 12, 2018|
Answer
Response from NikkiS1969 | Property representative |
It is always better to pre-book to avoid dissapointment
0
Votes
vacationmike1
March 4, 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from NikkiS1969 | Property representative |
The normal tour is is a wonderful experience - You get to see everything that we have at the Centre, as well as get to see the Cheetah and Wild dog being fed.
0
Votes
Travel Forum Posts
Eduardo K
Brasilia, DF
Ann van Dyk Cheetah Centre - legitimate? (4 Replies)
Reading these forums I found out that lion cub petting, lion walks, etc, are actually a bad thing. What about the Ann van Dyk Cheetah Centre? It's true that it's basically a zoo, and the animals are not in the wild, but they don't highlight cubs as a main attraction, and looking at the site it seems like a legitimate place concerned about conservation. Can anyone comment if that's true, or is just another place that supports the canned hunting industry?
June 01, 2016|
Response fromGavin S|
Ann van Dyk Cheetah Centre - legitimate?......... Yes.
cmcinsydney
Sydney, Australia
Solo female traveller hiring car? (4 Replies)
Hi I am spending 2 days in Johannesburg before going on safari. I would like to do a day tour to the Ann van Dyk cheetah centre. Most tour companies I've found don't seem to do tours there, or won't take a solo traveller or want around 2,500 just for the transfers with entry cost on top which seems very expensive. Thinking my only real option is hiring a car for the day but not sure if this is advisable? I've done a far amount of travelling on my own so happy to do it but friends all seem to...More
August 15, 2014|
Response fromAuntieFr0mJ0zi|
I'm female. I'm single. Meaning, if I want to get somewhere I have to take myself there on my own. I would be completely willing to do that drive. I do however fully concur with the suggestion on the website not to use the R511: the roadworks are really not a pleasure.
Trips4Fun15
NY
Use of Guide for Cheetah Centre/Elephant Sanctuary (11 Replies)
I am going to be in Pretoria on business and was thinking about visiting the Ann van Dyk Cheetah Centre one day possibly also visiting the elephant sanctuary the same day. Is there a benefit to hiring a guide or would I be better off just booking the activities myself and getting a taxi to take me from my hotel, between attractions and back? Would a guide add any value? Also, I am planning on taking a guided trip to Pilanesberg for a day and probably a tour of Johannesburg/Soweto on the...More
February 11, 2015|
Response fromGavin S|
A guide will always add value to your trip, being able to provide you with more facts about the area, and anecdotal stories, which a taxi drive cannot ( is not allowed, in fact, though some do). However, you do not actually need a guide for the De Wildt Cheetah research centre, or the Elephant sanctuary. The staff on site provide all the facts, etc that you would need. As to whether you want to spend 2 days in Pilanesberg, and skip the cheetah sanctuary.. that is your call. Personally, I...More