We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 2 Buddle Street, Wallsend NE28 6EH, England
Phone Number: +44 191 236 9347
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 149 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 42
    Excellent
  • 55
    Very good
  • 23
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Interesting

I only live about 5 minutes away from the segedunum so I decided to go and see what was on my door step got to say it was very interesting to see all that history right on my door... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
walkervale
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 138: English reviews
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I only live about 5 minutes away from the segedunum so I decided to go and see what was on my door step got to say it was very interesting to see all that history right on my door step it has a tower that looks over the site which gives you great views over not only the site but... More 

Helpful?
Thank walkervale
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

If your not familiar with the history of Emperor Hadrian. Then besides visiting the Roman wall along the length of Northumberland it may be worth an idea to start here and get an idea of what it's all about. The fort at Segedunum was where the wall ended..hence the name of the town "Wallsend". Apart from being able to view... More 

Helpful?
Thank rob w
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
395 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well worth a visit but the replica Roman Baths were closed for repair which was a shame but you can see the excavations of the actual Bath house nearby. I suspect the museum is struggling financially as was not very busy which is sad to see. A very good reconstruction of the Wall itself to see.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hemmo1968
Level Contributor
134 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent place to visit for children - it is free for under 16s; the observation tower has great views; and the museum includes numerous hands on activities. For adults who have any knowledge of Roman history it is not so good - you pay; the remains of the fort are simply outlines; and the museum offer very little. When we... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnneandArk
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

Firstly we had to walk up what seemed like 1000 steps until we reached a large glass dome overlooking the site. This wouldn't have been so bad if we had stayed up there for a while however it turned to be 3 minuets. After finishing looking at the weakly explained ruins, we were taken inside to reenact Roman battles. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank dizzysam27
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Segedunum Roman Fort. We are sorry to hear you found your experience disappointing. We would very much like to know further details of your visit to ensure that this does not happen again. Please could you email these to segedunumlearningbookings@twmuseums.org.uk and we will get back to you. Thank you - Segedunum Roman... More 

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

visited the museum with family of 5 (2 ads 3 kids) - 9.50 (kids free and reduced ticket due to baths being closed) Nice view from observation tower and very interesting exhibits inside. Several dressing up things for the kids. Interesting details about the recent excavations of the bath house. Outside across the road is reconstructed Roman wall - good... More 

Helpful?
Thank smw148
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you hear you found your visit to Segedunum Roman Fort interesting and worthwhile. I hope to see you there again soon. – Geoff Woodward, Museum Manager More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1,183 reviews
758 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 964 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

This Museum is easily accessible by public transportation (bus and metro near by) and by private car . It is very well organised and the exhibitions are very well presented and documented . The staff is quite knowledgeable and helpful . The tower permitting to see the whole excavated area is a great idea and gives a good view of... More 

Helpful?
Thank belleretraite
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you found your visit interesting and worthwhile. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the Bath House being closed. This is due to essential maintenance work. I will certainly have a look into the issue with the video. The work at the entrance to the remains was part... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016 via mobile

Really good museum at Segedunum, more So than one as expecting. Very easy to find from the metro station. I was quite disappointed that the bath reconstruction was closed, as that was one of the draws of the park. As with many Roman sites, a bit of imagination is imperative to enjoy itn

Helpful?
Thank albet3342
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you found your visit interesting. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed by the Bath House being closed. This is due to essential maintenance work. I hope you will be able to join us at Segedunum Roman Fort again soon. - Geoff Woodward Museum Manager More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

It took us about 15 minutes by metro to Wallsend and the museum. The guided tour is clear and informative which we were introduced to two of the archeological sites: the original Roman bath and part of Hadrian’s Wall newly discovered 2 years ago. That's really interesting as we've never been to a site like this before.

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you found the museum easily and the tour informative and interesting. I hope you will visit us and our sister site Arbeia Roman Fort again soon. - Geoff Woodward Museum Manager More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016

This was our last stop while walking Hadrian's Wall and it was fantastic. Compared to the standard museums of previous forts this one was fun and engaging. After seeing many forts, it wasn't till this one that I finally understood what they were like. The rebuilt wall is also amazing to understand the size of the wall when it was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HannahSus
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is much appreciated. I am delighted that our reconstructions helped you to envisage what the fort was like. Hope to see you there again soon. Geoff Woodward, Museum Manager More 

Travelers who viewed Segedunum also viewed

South Shields, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Northumberland, England
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Segedunum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Segedunum staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?