We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Segedunum

2 Buddle Street, Wallsend NE28 6EH, England
+44 191 236 9347
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Buying merchandise and taking a break

Stopped here after walking from Tynemouth. The staff were really helpful. Cafe food was... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Con_and_Julie
via mobile
Sentius Tectonicus

Segedunum is a roman fort and museum in Wallsend 5 minutes from Wallsend metro station. Well worth... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Michael H
,
North Shields, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 176 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good40%
  • Average17%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“bath house” (32 reviews)
“roman fort” (25 reviews)
LOCATION
2 Buddle Street, Wallsend NE28 6EH, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 191 236 9347
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped here after walking from Tynemouth. The staff were really helpful. Cafe food was reasonably priced. Merchandise for Hadrian's Wall was a little pricey but good

Thank Con_and_Julie
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for your review. Geoff Woodward Museum Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Segedunum is a roman fort and museum in Wallsend 5 minutes from Wallsend metro station. Well worth a visit. Series of talks and exhibitions over the summer. Todays talk was by John O'Rourke who constructed the metal statue of Sentius Tectonicus on display at Segedunum....More

Thank Michael H
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Hello Mike Thank you very much for your review of your visit to Segedunum. I'm glad you enjoyed yourself, and we hope to see you again. Geoff Woodward Museum Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Drove for 2 hours to come here thinking that there would be a substantial part of Hadrian's wall. Oh I was wrong. It was a rock. Hadrian's rock, not a wall which was annoying. The rock that had the builders names on was interesting. The...More

Thank charlied321
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Segedunum. I am sorry that you had such a disappointing experience. Segedunum does include an 80 metre stretch of the foundations of Hadrian’s Wall, which is in parts several courses high, and is...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I like Roman History; my wife likes Roman History. We know that Roman sites cannot be located in idyllic settings with unlimited resources. We were prepared for the surroundings of Segedunum. This ranks as an extremely poor example of how to "package" Rome in northern...More

Thank David S
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit to Segedunum Roman Fort and for taking the time to pass on your comments. I am sorry you and your wife had such a disappointing experience when you visited the museum and site, especially since...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I came here last year with our 8 year old son. It was nice and quiet for us, ( I think we just hit on very lucky). My son made a Roman coin and their was a lot of activities for children...More

Thank Ginbigg
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your review - I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Geoff Woodward Museum Manager

Reviewed April 21, 2017

The museum is a good visit, detailing Roman life at the edge of the frontier. The ruins are easily accessible and the ability to view from the tower allows for a unique perspective on life in the Roman empire. Wandering the ruins is also very...More

Thank dmathewYEG
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for your review I am glad you enjoyed your visit. I'm sorry that you were unable to access the reconstructed bath house - it is closed for necessary maintenance at present. I'm pleased you were able to appreciate the museum...More

Reviewed April 3, 2017

i was transfixed, my friend cried out, 'look at what? there's nothing there!' i guess it's all your point of view. for those who claim there's nothing to see from the tower, the museum is fascinating, i couldn't get that same person out of it....More

Thank diane c
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for your wonderful review - I'll pass on your comments to the team. Thanks Geoff Woodward Museum Manager

Reviewed March 28, 2017 via mobile

The staff of the museum couldn't have been nicer, pointing out everything we asked of them. The site and the excavation were a little disappointing looking a little tired and focused on child visitors, rather than adults. The recently excavated area of Hadrian Wall, a...More

Thank Mick M
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for your comments. We were all very excited that the original bath house was recently unearthed, it's good to hear your enjoyment of that. I'm sorry you were disappointed as we have been recently refreshing the site including painting fencing...More

Reviewed March 24, 2017 via mobile

We'd been meaning to visit here ever since it opened, and took advantage of a few days in the area to use the Metro to see various sights. It was easy to find from the station, only a short walk. We had a £1 reduced...More

Thank gingerjudith
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for your review. I'll pass on your kind comments to the team. Best wishes Geoff Woodward Museum Manager

Reviewed March 20, 2017 via mobile

What a view. Food in the cafe is really nice, lots to see and look at inside and around the site and When you arrive you're greeted by the amazing centurion, looks powerful and fearsome. Amazing sight, highly recommend visiting

Thank Jamie H
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for your review. It's great to hear this feedback about our new Centurion sculpture too. Best wishes Geoff Woodward Museum Manager

Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Sopranos Italian Restaurant
190 reviews
.27 miles away
The Willow
59 reviews
.51 miles away
Mambos II
200 reviews
.96 miles away
The Rose Inn
18 reviews
.97 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Role Play
8 reviews
1.31 miles away
Gala Bingo Wallsend
18 reviews
1.78 miles away
Centurion Park Golf Course
10 reviews
.63 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
hermiony199510
Are there any updates regarding the bath house, such as when it should reopen?
March 8, 2017|
Answer
Response from TyneandWearMuseums | Property representative |
Hi, No we do not have a confirmed re-opening dates for the bath house at the moment. It is still closed for essential maintenance. Best wishes - Geoff Woodward, Museum Manager.
0
Votes