We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 2 Buddle Street, Wallsend NE28 6EH, England
Phone Number: +44 191 236 9347
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 146 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 41
    Excellent
  • 52
    Very good
  • 23
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Very good value for money historical museum.

visited the museum with family of 5 (2 ads 3 kids) - 9.50 (kids free and reduced ticket due to baths being closed) Nice view from observation tower and very interesting exhibits... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 2 weeks ago
smw148
,
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 134: English reviews
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly we had to walk up what seemed like 1000 steps until we reached a large glass dome overlooking the site. This wouldn't have been so bad if we had stayed up there for a while however it turned to be 3 minuets. After finishing looking at the weakly explained ruins, we were taken inside to reenact Roman battles. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank dizzysam27
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Segedunum Roman Fort. We are sorry to hear you found your experience disappointing. We would very much like to know further details of your visit to ensure that this does not happen again. Please could you email these to segedunumlearningbookings@twmuseums.org.uk and we will get back to you. Thank you - Segedunum Roman... More 

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

visited the museum with family of 5 (2 ads 3 kids) - 9.50 (kids free and reduced ticket due to baths being closed) Nice view from observation tower and very interesting exhibits inside. Several dressing up things for the kids. Interesting details about the recent excavations of the bath house. Outside across the road is reconstructed Roman wall - good... More 

Helpful?
Thank smw148
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1,180 reviews
757 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 959 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

This Museum is easily accessible by public transportation (bus and metro near by) and by private car . It is very well organised and the exhibitions are very well presented and documented . The staff is quite knowledgeable and helpful . The tower permitting to see the whole excavated area is a great idea and gives a good view of... More 

Helpful?
Thank belleretraite
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you found your visit interesting and worthwhile. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the Bath House being closed. This is due to essential maintenance work. I will certainly have a look into the issue with the video. The work at the entrance to the remains was part... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016 via mobile

Really good museum at Segedunum, more So than one as expecting. Very easy to find from the metro station. I was quite disappointed that the bath reconstruction was closed, as that was one of the draws of the park. As with many Roman sites, a bit of imagination is imperative to enjoy itn

Helpful?
Thank albet3342
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you found your visit interesting. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed by the Bath House being closed. This is due to essential maintenance work. I hope you will be able to join us at Segedunum Roman Fort again soon. - Geoff Woodward Museum Manager More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

It took us about 15 minutes by metro to Wallsend and the museum. The guided tour is clear and informative which we were introduced to two of the archeological sites: the original Roman bath and part of Hadrian’s Wall newly discovered 2 years ago. That's really interesting as we've never been to a site like this before.

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you found the museum easily and the tour informative and interesting. I hope you will visit us and our sister site Arbeia Roman Fort again soon. - Geoff Woodward Museum Manager More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016

This was our last stop while walking Hadrian's Wall and it was fantastic. Compared to the standard museums of previous forts this one was fun and engaging. After seeing many forts, it wasn't till this one that I finally understood what they were like. The rebuilt wall is also amazing to understand the size of the wall when it was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HannahSus
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is much appreciated. I am delighted that our reconstructions helped you to envisage what the fort was like. Hope to see you there again soon. Geoff Woodward, Museum Manager More 

newcastle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

Visited here a couple of times. My mam is part of the wall quest archeology dig there and has found some interesting artefacts! Really good for kids to learn about the roman history of the area. They also host a great free fireworks display on bonfire night.

Helpful?
Thank helzhelz
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. It is fantastic to hear that you have visited more than once. We have some exciting events during the Summer for families so be sure to check back then. Geoff Woodward, Museum Manager More 

Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2016

The viewing tower that has been built gives a splendid view over the old site of Segedunum. The museum off the tower is very good with quite a lot of exhibits. Overall very interesting.

Helpful?
Thank Bwanagraham
TyneandWearMuseums, General Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I’m glad you enjoyed your visit and that the viewing tower enhanced the experience. Geoff Woodward, Museum Manager More 

Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

Hi just so happens,i live at the end of the hadrians wall. which host a museum. coffee shop. and a whole host of shop just around the corner. it has a tower that overlooks the fort and baths that was once there on the land. if your a historian or just interested in romans and the general roman life.then this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Whatsupguv
TyneandWearMuseums, General Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Thanks for the recommendation, it is much appreciated. Geoff Woodward, Museum Manager More 

Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2016 via mobile

First time here with the kids 9&5 enjoyed it took about an hour to walk around. The Roman baths were closed for what ever reason. We arrived at 10am and had the whole museum to ourselves which was nice. We won't be in a hurry back. But great place to visit if your children are learning about the Romans.

Helpful?
Thank Sanderso1
TyneandWearMuseums, General Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

I’m pleased that you found your visit informative, thank you for posting your review. Geoff Woodward, Museum Manager More 

Travelers who viewed Segedunum also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Northumberland, England
 

Been to Segedunum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Segedunum staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?