Diggerland

Diggerland, Strood: Hours, Address, Diggerland Reviews: 4.5/5

Amusement & Theme Parks
Read more
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Write a review
About
Diggerland is The Ultimate Adventure Theme Park Experience where children and adults alike can ride, drive and operate REAL diggers, dumpers and other full- size construction machinery. Diggerland is the perfect destination for action, fun and thrill packed family days out. Fun for all ages (subject to height restrictions), Diggerland with its 20 different rides and drives and an array of additional activities is the ideal theme park for small to large groups looking for something exciting and truly unique. Get to grips with real JCBs and 180/360 excavators, take a head-reeling turn or two on the Spindizzy, rise to lofty heights and enjoy the views on the Skyshuttle, enjoy an off-road ride on the Groundshuttle, or have a go on the Dodgems and Go-Karts!
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
1,171 reviews
Excellent
744
Very good
262
Average
90
Poor
36
Terrible
40

SammieA
Portsmouth, UK104 contributions
Friends
I took my 11 and 8 year old children here yesterday and on the way home they both said it was the best day ever! I must admit I was a bit sceptical about going here as I thought that nearly £70 for three of us was a lot of money. But, it was totally worth it!

It was a rather windy Tuesday so there weren’t many people there which made it even better as we got to go on everything as many times as we wanted as there were literally no queues at all.

My children loved everything they tried, but seeing my 8 year old’s face when she was told she could drive a real car by herself was an absolute picture!

ALL the staff were super friendly and polite. We took our own picnic for lunch and although we bought a coffee and two ice creams from the cafe it was very expensive at £12.

Well done though Diggerland. Thank you for giving us such a memorable family day out.
Written February 24, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Sammie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a brilliant review! We're delighted to hear that you and your children enjoyed your visit to Diggerland Kent. It's is also fantastic to hear that you found all of our staff enthusiastic and helpful during your visit. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Best wishes, Diggerland.
Written February 25, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Scottishboy178
Shoreham-by-Sea, UK13 contributions
Family
We were pleasantly surprised, when we arrived our first impressions were that the place looked small but upon exploring we realised this wasn’t the case. The kids loved the rides especially Spin Dizzy and they guy who runs it was extremely friendly and chatty with the kids (didn’t catch his name). Only issues we think the dodgems should be included in the price or at least give 1 token to each person entering the park. Also maybe invest in some Wi-Fi. Apart from that we had a brilliant day
Written July 27, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Norfolkmum5
18 contributions
Our 10 year old son has declared Diggerland 'The best place on Earth'.
We visited Kent for a few days, primarily so that we could visit Diggerland. What a truly unique and amazing day out. Our son was able to drive full sized JCB diggers and a 4x4 off road vehicle (with a speed limiter set very low thankfully). He used diggers and other construction vehicles and literally had the best day ever.
All of the staff were polite,friendly and helpful and the site was clean and tidy. I don't think that we could have improved the experience we had in any way.
I would not hesitate to recommend Diggerland to anyone, young or older (both my dad (70's) and I (50's) joined in the fun and had a go at operating some of the vehicles.
Written May 23, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us an excellent 5* review. It's great to hear all three of you enjoyed your time at Diggerland Kent and got involved in all the digger fun. It's also great to hear you found all our staff to be attentive, we will pass this feedback on to the team at the park. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Many thanks, Diggerland
Written May 30, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Bearded Wonder
11 contributions
Family
We visited Diggerland as a family of 3 and pre booked our tickets online. Even though we prebooked and got an online discount, the price of 3 tickets still came out at £79 which is very expensive. The fact that any person over 100cm counts as a full price ticket seems a bit off, as regardless of whether you have a 4 year old or 14 year old, their entry price in the same, despite some attractions like the off road jeep ride only being available for older visitors.

The day itself was great fun, our 4 year old had fun on all the rides that were available to him and the staff were friendly and helpful. We brought a packed lunch as we'd read about the cost of "eating in", and this did look pricey when looking at the menu in the "Dig inn".

Another frustration, was that we were only told of 2 rides not being available as we entered, which I thought was a bit unfair, as we paid for full price entry so we feel we should've been made aware in advance of any closed rides. Another family may attend in a few weeks time for the same price, yet have access to 2 more rides.

Overall, a fun day out with lots to do, but I feel the price is steep, and if you plan to eat in the park, you won't get much change out of £100 for a family of 3.
Written June 1, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your day at Diggerland Kent. In regards to your comments on our pricing structure, we charge a full admission fee for a child who measures over 90cm in height, as they are able to enjoy 15 of the 20 rides & drives available.These being the Diggerland Train, Skyshuttle, Skittles, Safari, Robots, JCB Ride, Go-Karts, Giant Diggers, Dumpers, Dirt Diggers, Dippy Ducks, Dig-A-Round, Buried Treasure plus the indoor play area. Our rides & drives page on the Diggerland website states which rides & drives can be enjoyed, so that guests can better plan their visit. We're very sorry to hear that two rides were closed on the day of your visit. Please note that we do aim to open our parks with all of our rides fully operational, however sometimes we do experience technical issues and aim to resolve the problem as soon as we possibly can. We do also update our website with any ride closures to make customers aware. Best wishes, Diggerland
Written June 6, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

pinkmalibu2
Blackburn, UK27 contributions
Family
Turned up with tickets to be turned away as they said they were over subscribed and to call head office for a refund after a 3 hour drive with a toddler. Rang head office for a refund on a premium rate number-refund was then refused as they said it had been a miscommunication and just the car park was full. Will be speaking to the bank and my MP today to see how I can both get my refund and escalate my complaint. No response from head office when I asked who they are regulated by and who outside of the company I can escalate my complaint to. I think first step would probably be trading standards but if anybody knows if they are regulated by an ombudsman please let me know. Don't waste your money there are plenty more affordable great days out in Kent that won't rip off their customers and with far better customer service.
Written September 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're very sorry to hear you were disappointed in your experience. Our Guest Relations team managers have responded to all feedback via email. Please be assured we take our customer service very seriously. We recommend keeping an eye on your emails for their response, if you have no had one already. Very best wishes, Diggerland.
Written September 2, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

revolutionfrommybed
West Midlands, UK290 contributions
Family
We booked in advance and paid £60 for two adults and one toddler which is quite expensive. At first I was a bit annoyed that I have to pay full price for my 2 year old but he could in fact get on most of the rides if accompanied by an adult so it's fair to charge him full price.
I found it quite expensive but then again construction equipment is not cheap and they do have the proper vehicles - not plastic kiddy versions.

The park itself is brilliant. It's fairly small but the rides are amazing. My two year old is going through a phase of loving construction vehicles so this was absolutely perfect for him.

The staff at the entrance and the gift shop were not very friendly but most of the staff inside the park very really nice and they certainly did their best to keep the equipment sanatised between rides.

BUT they let way too many people inside the park. Yes, rules are being relaxed but we're still in the middle of a global pandemic and there was zero social distancing going on. Queues were quite long and it took a good 20min of queing per ride. During those 20 minutes I felt very uncomfortable with people ignoring social distancing and staff not enforcing or encouraging it at all.

If they don't want to enforce it that's fine but then they should not allow that many people in at the same time or they should introduce a booking system with slots like most other parks have.

The amount of people also took the fun away a bit. After 1h in the park we managed to get on two rides which is no fun for small children (not that queing is particularly fun as an adult).

In summary: Great park but it seems they are more interested in getting as many people as possible to pay the entrance fee than keeping people safe.
Written September 7, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello there, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are pleased to hear that overall you did enjoy your visit & the attractions in the park. However, we are disappointed to hear that there were certain aspects in terms of social distancing that did not meet your expectations. Please kindly be advised that we have reduced our daily visitor capacity to 600 customers per day. This has been reduced by about 50% in order to keep inline with social distancing measures. We do also provide a one way system & signage around the park, encouraging guests to be mindful & social distance from other visitors. We do apologise if you experienced any delays in getting onto the attractions. Due to the cleaning that our marshals carry out after each use, it can unfortunately mean slightly longer waiting times. We apologise for any inconvenience caused by this. We sincerely hope that you will decide to visit one of our parks again in the future. Kind regards, Diggerland
Written September 8, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Michellekaty
London, UK55 contributions
We visited for Diggerland for my son's 3rd birthday last weekend. He is 91cm and we purchased a full price ticket. Upon arrival he was measured as over 90cm. We were allowed on several rides who all measured him independently. It was pretty cold and we were going on one last ride before leaving. The person managing the ride yet again tried to measure my son who wasn't playing ball. Despite us explaining that he is over 90cm, he refused and continued to allow my son to get more and more distressed which ruined our day and his birthday. He was incredibly rude and there was no appreciation that it was upsetting our child.

We complained to the site manager on the day who was happy to give us a refund but then said it isn't possible we had prebooked the tickets. We spoke to head office who were completely useless and said they weren't prepared to do anything.

If your child is close to 90cm then I really wouldn't risk visiting or else be prepared for them to be measured for every single ride and potentially not being allowed on. Any one with young children knows how challenging it is to get them to stand still for a random stranger for several minutes whilst they work out how to use their measurement stick!

I don't understand why they don't provide a stamp or something once they have been measured upon entrance as it would save a lot of time queueing for the rides (considering the most important measurement was the 90cm) and provides a consistent approach. We definitely won't be coming back.
Written March 7, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Michelle, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and share your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your visit to Diggerland on this occasion. Unfortunately, all children do need to be measured before enjoying any rides and drives at Diggerland to ensure they meet the minimum height requirement. This is to make sure all children are kept safe while on our rides. We apologise that you felt this caused distress to your child and hindered your overall visit. In regards to refunding tickets, it is stated throughout our online booking process and within our email confirmations that pre-booked tickets are non-refundable. We are very sorry if you were told differently by any Diggerland staff on the day of your visit. Finally, we want to thank you for your suggestion of providing a stamp or wristband for guests over 90cm, to avoid children being measured prior to each ride. We have passed this on to our Senior Management team for their review. Best wishes, Diggerland.
Written March 14, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

gunner63
London, UK2 contributions
Family
Paid for son at gate. Said he was over 90 cms but refused all activities inside saying he was below 90cms ? 2 icreams I warm coke £9 queues where 40 mins with no time limit kids play on activities burger van if you want food. Overall an exspensive day for families for not much worst place I’ve ever been too Shop triple the price for a toy digger.
Written August 24, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and share your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your visit to Diggerland on this occasion. With reference to your comments on our pricing structure, we charge a full admission fee for a child who measures over 90cm in height, as they are able to enjoy 15 of the 20 rides & drives available. These being the Diggerland Train, Skyshuttle, Skittles, Safari, Robots, JCB Ride, Go-Karts, Giant Diggers, Dumpers, Dirt Diggers, Dippy Ducks, Dig-A-Round, Buried Treasure plus the indoor play area. Our rides & drives page on the Diggerland website states which rides & drives can be enjoyed, so that guests can better plan their visit. We are sorry to hear you felt your child was measured incorrectly on the day. Any discrepancies would need to have been addressed with the manager on site. However, we will pass on your feedback to our Park Management team to be investigated further. In regards to your comments on the food factilities, these are franchised establishments, and not directly related to Diggerland. However, we fully understand and appreciate that this reflects on Diggerland overall. We are extremely sorry for the service you received, and we can assure you this has been passed onto the Franchise Owner and Catering Manager to ensure this is investigated further. We apologise once again that your visit did not live up to the expectations. All of your feedback will be passed onto the relevant managers for their consideration and review. Best wishes, Diggerland.
Written August 26, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Charlotte L
Essex, UK342 contributions
Family
What an absolute waste of time and money. Tickets were a total rip off (including charging full adult price for a 2 year old as he was over 90cm tall, even though there was very little suitable for him to go on apart from a few plastic cars and some very old, dirty looking soft play in a shed). Huge wait time for rides even though the queues were pretty minimal as there isn’t a set time your allowed on any of the “rides”. Absolutely no effort made to disinfect / santize any of the diggers which have hundreds of people touching the control levers constantly. Even the staff look bored (I couldn’t blame them, I was also quite bored to be there). After travelling 1 hour to be here, we stayed for an hour and got in the car for the hour journey back. Huge disappointment that definitely isn’t worth the ticket price.
Written October 24, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and share your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your visit to Diggerland on this occasion. In regards to your comments on our pricing structure, we charge a full admission fee for a child who measures over 90cm in height, as they are able to enjoy 15 of the 20 rides & drives available. These being the Diggerland Train, Skyshuttle, Skittles, Safari, Robots, JCB Ride, Go-Karts, Giant Diggers, Dumpers, Dirt Diggers, Dippy Ducks, Dig-A-Round, Buried Treasure plus the indoor play area. Our rides & drives page on the Diggerland website states which rides & drives can be enjoyed, so that guests can better plan their visit. Our ride queue times are around the 30-45 minute mark. The ride queue times at Diggerland are much less however than the national average, this being around the 90 minute mark currently, which can be expected at other UK theme parks and visitor attractions. We work very hard to ensure all of our parks are as Covid-19 secure as possible. In line with current government guidance, Diggerland is trying our best to prevent the spread of Covid-19 by cleaning all ride surfaces every hour. However, we understand that during busier periods this may need to be increased. We apologise once again that your visit did not live up to the expectations. All of your feedback will be passed onto the relevant managers for their consideration and review. Best wishes, Diggerland.
Written October 25, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

AnyNameWillDo123456
London24 contributions
Family
The kids (6-8yo) loved it.
Staff friendly and helpful (how they manage it, I have no idea), but they were great and engaging with everyone. Covid precautions taken seriously, and numbers managed sensibly. Sunshine helped. I was concerned about previous posts about dust, but wasn't an issue for us.
Dodgems and go-karts were also big wins with our kids.
Warm sunny day helps with everything!
Relatively small site which is good for allowing independence, and set up has good regard to safeguarding.

Take a bit of cash so you can get pounds coins for a few extra rides. You don't need many but good to have more than none.

You pay for kids over 90cm but to drive the machines you need to be ~110-120cm (i forget precisely what) so the experience might be disappointing for kids in that height bracket.

Thanks Diggerland. We had a great time.
Written May 31, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi there, thank you so much for your lovely 5* review. We are so pleased to hear that you, and your children, enjoyed your day out at Diggerland! Thank you for your feedback regarding pricing for younger children. We will forward that to our head office. We hope to see you at one of our parks again soon. Best wishes, Diggerland.
Written June 1, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,163
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Diggerland

Diggerland is open:
  • Sun - Sat 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM