Powerscourt House & Gardens

Powerscourt House & Gardens

Powerscourt House & Gardens
4.5
9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Monday
9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Tuesday
9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Wednesday
9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Thursday
9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Friday
9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Saturday
9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Sunday
9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
About
Powerscourt Gardens in County Wicklow was named no. 3 in the World’s Top 10 Gardens by the National Geographic*, second only to the Palace of Versailles and Kew Gardens in London. Powerscourt is the only one of the three that is not state owned. Powerscourt Estate* is Ireland’s first premier visitor attraction to be certified by Sustainable Travel Ireland whose criteria are recognised by the UN mandated Global Sustainable Tourism Council (GSTC). Powerscourt, House, Gardens and Waterfall is the first major Irish visitor attraction to achieve such an accolade. Dating back to the 13th century, Powerscourt is a vast country estate noted for its magnificent Palladian style mansion and 47 acres (190,000 m2) of formal landscaped gardens in the picturesque village of Enniskerry, County Wicklow. Set on a commanding hilltop position, against the backdrop of the Sugarloaf mountains, a sweeping terrace on the mansion’s southside opens onto a breath-taking, ornamental garden and lake.
Duration: 2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Top ways to experience Powerscourt House & Gardens
See what travelers are saying
  • rlepson
    Scottsdale, Arizona452 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Garden lover must visit
    Amazing. The building and highlight of the Japanese garden is one of the best in the world. Give yourself time to discover the garden and the surrounding local shops. They also have a distillery on site that we visited as well.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written June 23, 2023
  • Alice K
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania36 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    One of the world's most beautiful gardens
    Absolutely breathtaking! We went in June and the roses were amazing, truly gigantic blossoms. The scale of the beautiful grounds and flowering borders was grand, with fabulous specimen trees and immaculate, sweeping lawns. But the gem of the garden was the Japanese Garden. dripping with mosses, ferns, fuchsias, and Japanese maples, set in a grottoed wonderland. Paradise for plant lovers! The house has a series of drool-worthy gift shops selling plants, clothing, garden supplies, jewelry, and Irish-made gifts and art. The café has delectable food, including alcoholic drinks and fabulous desserts. If you eat outside, watch out for the annoying birds that harass visitors for (forbidden) handouts. A highlight of our trip to Ireland! Be forewarned, road signage is not very good until you almost arrive at the entrance. Look for the exit to Enniskerry.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written June 29, 2023
  • Fiona M
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Helpful friendly staff, beautiful gardens and lovely restaurant
    Just had a lovely day with my parents (in their 80's) The staff could not have been more h elpful. My father's mobility scooter broke down in the gardens. They aided us by bringing a wheelchair and a buggy down to carry the scooter and my Dad back. Nothing was too much and their friendly attitude was amazing. We had a lovely lunch afterwards in the terrace cafe . Watched the historic movie and had a wander around the garden centre. All in all a wonderful day. Thank you especially to Aimee and Louise in reception. We will be back.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written July 13, 2023
  • dragonara2
    Honiton, United Kingdom479 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Lovely gardens
    The gardens are lovely and well maintained, luckily it was a sunny day to enjoy the gardens, Plants are well labelled. most of the house is now given over to retail units but there is a section with an exhibition as to how the house was before the fire and its history. The cafes provide a good choice of snacks, drinks , we had a good lunch there with delicious quiche and salads. plenty of parking, its less than an hour from the airport so easily visited en route to or from the airport.
    Glad you enjoyed your trip to Powerscourt. We hope you can visit soon again :)
    Written July 17, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Written July 16, 2023
  • Gardengel-IoW
    West Sussex, United Kingdom889 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Good gardens and views
    We got absolutely soaked here on our visit but didnt let it stop us, we were on a mission to see as many gardens as we could in our time in Eire. This was one of the top recommended so had to go. Pleased we did, very large grounds to cover, a bit confusing in places but that may have been down to a soggy map and not wishing to dally in the rain. We spent about 2 hours here including having a very nice lunch in the cafe - not cheap, but good food. Great views over gardens to mountains even in the rain. Found rest of shops a bit pretentious though. About 12 Euro entry including a video intro. Would have spent longer if weather better - next time.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written July 27, 2023
  • Conrad N
    Whitstable, United Kingdom1,010 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Amazing gardens
    Stunning gardens laid out beautifully and well maintained. Different themed areas to explore, so a lot of walking to cover them all. Lots of ups and downs: the gardens are on multiple levels so be aware. Nice cafe to recover in afterwards - also a variety of shops. Allow at least 3 hours to cover the gardens.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written August 20, 2023
  • KarenM1_10
    1,044 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Breathtaking grounds
    We stopped here with our tour group Hill Top Trek. The house is very beautiful and has souvenir shops on the first level. The remainder of the house is used for special events and cannot be visited. However, the grounds are the centerpiece of the property. The grounds are very extensive with lush landscaping, a huge cascading fountain and a large array of different types of flowers. They also have a Japanese garden here as well. You can download an audio guide however I found that whenever I went to take a photo the audio guide disconnected so we just wandered around the grounds. There is signage posted so you cannot get lost, and you will see everything of interest. I would recommend coming here. It is likely our most enjoyable garden visit ever and we have visited many during our travels. It is quite a jaw-dropping experience.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written October 5, 2023
  • hoben57
    Houston, Texas89 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great Scenery
    We visited the gardens on a cool, breezy fall day and had a great visit despite the garden being in its later stages of bloom. There were still some wonderful flowering plants to see. We walked the grounds and enjoyed the views of the property and the mountains beyond. Everyone we spoked with in the house and the garden was friendly. It's a nice place to sit, relax and enjoy the scenery.
    Visited October 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written November 8, 2023
  • Travel46930369438
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Awesome
    When we left the hotel after a short stay in a family suite, I overheard our 12 year old telling my youngest son (8) "I think that was one of the best holidays we have every had". His reply was "yeah it was awesome". And it was. Having a high quality breakfast as you look out at the Sugar Loaf mountain; the walks in nature within easy reach; the pool and facilities; wonderful staff who catered for your every need; and very comfortable beds ensuring a good night sleep, all contributed to make this a relaxing break. Rarely as a mother of 3 children have I returned home feeling that I also had a restful holiday (lol) but on this occasion I really did! I was able to completely switch off in these surroundings. We will definitely be back again for another stay.
    Visited February 2024
    Traveled with family
    Written March 1, 2024
  • C_and_H_11
    Dublin, Ireland788 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Wonderful!
    Powerscourt Estate makes for a wonderful day out. The gardens & fountains are pristinely maintained & there are lovely walks right across the estate. On this visit we didn't go to the waterfall but that is also worth a visit. The cafe/restaurant is run by Avoca & is a worthy addition as the food here is delicious. There's plenty of parking, several shops & garden centre on the grounds so worth visiting whatever the season.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written March 21, 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2,814 reviews
Excellent
1,961
Very good
628
Average
152
Poor
44
Terrible
29

Hey
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020
We visited Powerscourt Gardens today and the scenery was beautiful! However, we have given it a poor rating due to the lack of information on accessibility for wheelchair users. We were two parents with our daughter who is a wheelchair user and we paid €16 for both one adult and our daughter and the other parent had free access as a carer. We could only spend an hour there due to the lack of accessible paths and our issue was that both on the website and at the entrance, we were advised that there was an accessible short route which was very short and completed in 20 minutes. Unfortunately, we could not access the beautiful Japanese Gardens and the rest of the points of interest due to inaccessibility. Our negative review is that there was a lack of accurate information on the website in terms of how accessible the gardens were and also, we took issue with the price of entry considering we could not access the majority of the gardens and points of interest. However, the scenery is beautiful and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful but unfortunately we would not recommend it for wheelchair users.
Written August 5, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi WChair2-2, We regret hearing that you didn't have a good experience in terms of accessibility at Powerscourt, as you mentioned there are designated routes for wheelchair users at the Gardens. I have passed your review onto management and will look at reviewing where we communicate accessibility on our website and in all our communications. Ensuring all visitors can access and enjoy the Gardens is very important to us. Thank you for your feedback.
Written August 20, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

spyems
Dublin, Ireland139 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020
I went here with my family and thought this was a lovely place to visit. It is quite expensive to visit, an adult costs 11.50. The Japanese Garden is really nice however there was a little rubbish around the place which was shame. The walled garden was excellent but the rose garden part needed a little more maintaining. I was surprised that so many people were at Powerscourt and there was no social distancing or staff wearing face coverings. It's definitely worth a visit but it is expensive.
Written July 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Deirdre K
9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020
Visited Powerscourt house and gardens yesterday with my husband during a mini break in Wicklow. The gardens are stunning with amazing views of the sugar loaf and the Wicklow mountains. Lovely themed gardens and walks throughout the area. Loved the Italian Gardens. There is a lovely golfcourse on the estate with views of the Wicklow mountains.

Only drawback is the cafe was a little bit expensive, would be nice to be able to bring a picnic.
Written July 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Michael G
48 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2023 • Couples
THe gardens were wonderful and the herbaceous border one of the prettiest we have ever seen. However.........do not waste your time downloading the audio tour they advertise once on the grounds (it is free and that is about what it is worth). The narrators are family members who do little than to regale you with their favorite family stories.You would think a tour audio would direct you along the correct paths and give you landmarks on where to turn, what to look at etc. Not so this miserable tour. The narrators yammer on about 'something' and you have no idea where it actually is. My wife and I are both experienced travelers and have never had trouble with an audio tour..........until this one.
Written September 3, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

duv_9
Cork, Ireland166 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020
We spent a few hours exploring Powerscourt Garden and were very impressed by the amazing layout and immaculate presentation. There is plenty to see from a Japanese Garden to an awe inspiring lake with terraces leading down to it. There are also lots of species of flowers and trees to see. Enjoy!
Written August 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tim O
Forest, VA60 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2022
This garden was incredible. We went on a very rainy day and it was difficult to really enjoy the beauty that was there. We quickly walked thru the formal gardens, Japanese garden and tower house. The collection of trees were magnificent but it was raining too hard to read all the labels Would definitely go back if we get a chance.
Written September 11, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Mary P
Ballymena, UK117 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020
As usual we had a great visit to Powerscourt, the gardens were spectacular and everything seemed well-organised with regards to Covid regs. However the cafe had a few issues. The table service only is now the norm, however, there was quite a wait for a table but once seated our order was taken and delivered quickly. We ordered sandwiches which came in a little “packet” with a little pot of relish and garnished with salad leaves. The bread was not terribly fresh but the fillings were both plentiful and of good quality. It’s a bit if a mystery why they bothered with the leaves and relish as we had no way to eat them, no knives or forks even of a disposable variety. Nor were there any napkins provided, in other places we have eaten the cutlery has come in an envelope including a napkin and on occasion, condiments.
To pay, you go to a till and give them your table number and they are supposed to have your order pinned against the relevant number, somehow there were two orders on our number but there was no issue when we said only one was our order.
I think next time we visit we’ll wait until we get to the lovely village of Enniscorthy to eat.
Written September 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Kit C
County Louth, Ireland482 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2019 • Couples
As you may expect, as with many outdoor activities with natural scenery, the garden is not in the slightest bit accessible. As someone who uses a wheelchair at times and a rollator on other days, I’m used to this as I realise there is only so many manmade lanes and paths developed into natural scenery. However I think Powerscourt gardens wins for the least accessible that I have been in so far. Natural forests are easier to navigate.

It wouldn’t have been such an issue apart from the complete lack of knowledge from staff. I’m used to going to places like this and for staff to tell me that only a very small part of the attraction is accessible. And that would have been fine. Neither the woman when we were paying in mentioned it, or the staff at the Powerscourt hotel we stayed in when asking for directions -both could clearly see I had mobility issues.

After paying full price (again not an issue if I had known what I was letting myself in for, but maybe could have been discounted considering I couldn’t enjoy most of the attraction) we entered the door to the staff member saying “mind the step”. The husband helped me down the couple of steps only to realise there was an accessible door with no steps right beside us. I’m assuming this staff member was totally new and had never stepped foot outside.

We worked our ways down the paths and everything was fine for a while, very stoney of course and some steep parts but the husband was able to help me. I wouldn’t have managed on my own. There were no signs to point out various path types, like you see in many outdoor activities like forest parks and estates. Which we thought was very odd. Usually these are good guides for the best disability routes.

Couldn’t access the Japanese gardens which was honestly absolutely fine, I understand that. My main issues however was that I got completely stuck trying to get back around, up the very steep side of the garden. It was not only painful but we were panicking we would have to ring for help. I would have had to if I had visited alone. I had to stop on that steep hill several times before trying to drag my body up again.

It was all quite pretty but I couldn’t enjoy it as in so much pain and worrying how/ if I could get back up the building the whole time.

If staff had told me the main part of the garden was completely inaccessible (without perhaps a power chair) I would have just stayed up at the very top and enjoyed the view from there, I would never have attempted that. It was complete hell. Or we may have decided not to pay in at all and go somewhere else, but would have appreciated the heads up either way!

No lift to upstairs of gift shop, but honestly that’s really only a minor issue that wouldn’t bother me at all.

Avoid if you have mobility issues, not worth it. Staff in both the gardens and hotel need training.
Written January 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Kitty – I have read about your experience at Powerscourt Estate last September and I am sorry to hear you had such a disappointing experience. I have taken on board everything you have said, and I also raised it with management and staff members. We do provide a map which outlines the wheelchair accessible trail. The staff member should have provided this to you and explained the route and any other accessibility issues. This issue will be discussed with staff to ensure that this isn’t repeated in the future. I will pass on your comments to the Powerscourt hotel.
Written January 31, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Maura C
Dublin11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020
I stroll in in the grounds provides a forest bathing experience, especially in the earlier part of the day when people are few, birds are many, and the scent of the foliage is delightful. As well as a forest experience Powerscourt has gardens with thousands of plants and a long walkway through a vast array of perennials. To top all of that, the Avoca cafe there serves very good, fresh and wholesome food. I love the headphones provided that explain different area and their origin. It's one of my favourite places to relax.
Written January 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glad your enjoyed your visit to Powerscourt this January. As you said its a great time of the year to visit and experience forest bathing, which is extremely beneficial for our overall health.
Written January 30, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

John Graham
5 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 • Couples
This was my first time to Powerscourt House and Gardens. Imagine my surprise to learn there is no “house” to visit as such, it having become a shell after a fire nearly 50 years ago. Nevertheless there was still the Italianate garden, Japanese garden and Walled Garden to see. The view from the house looking to Sugerloaf mountain is breathtaking. While there is a beautiful run of acers there is an overwhelming sense of an untended and unloved Japanese garden: the long dead cherry tree left standing; the stone ornament lying face down in the stream; bindweed growing through hedges. Moving on to the walled garden I was surprised to find only 20% is cultivated the remainder being grass. The small area that has been cultivated is planted with flowers but as if randomly, without purpose. There is no cohesion of colour, texture, or size. Overall a hugely disappointing visit to a place living on former glories and now simply a place set out to make money from concessions.
Written August 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi JohnG, It is disappointing to hear you didn't enjoy your visit to Powerscourt Gardens. It is communicated on our website that the House isn't open to the public apart from the restaurant and retail offer. The main attraction and what everyone knows Powerscourt for is the Gardens, which are formal Gardens that are known as much for their landscaping and design, as they are for the other parts of the Gardens such as the Japanese Garden. The small area that you mentioned with plants and flowers is the Herbaceous Border, this is the longest double-sided border in Ireland and has over 700 varieties of plants, and it is meant to have an array of colours and textures.
Written August 20, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 2,381
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Powerscourt House & Gardens - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Enniskerry HotelsEnniskerry Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Enniskerry
All things to do in Enniskerry
RestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars