We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Matlock Meadows

Features Animals
Review Highlights
Yum!!

Stopped in for a quick ice cream snack. Staff polite and friendly as usual, love the ice cream... read more

Reviewed November 1, 2018
Darren G
via mobile
Good cafe and the granddaughters loved the animals

We visited with two young granddaughters who loved getting up close to the pigs, goats and cows... read more

Reviewed October 24, 2018
ravenswoodrob1953
,
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 153 reviews
28
All photos (28)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good29%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“working farm”(23 reviews)
“play area”(16 reviews)
About
Matlock Meadows is a modern purpose built ice cream parlour and coffee shop set within a working dairy farm. The farm has diversified by making italian style hand made ice cream here on the farm using the fresh milk from our dairy herd. The coffee...more
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
Snitterton Road, Matlock DE4 2JG, England
Website
+44 1629 760596
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveler rating
92
45
8
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
92
45
8
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amazing ice cream working farm play area pedal tractors farm animals sorbet exciting flavours loved the animals turkish delight bacon cob the barn panini great little place coffee shop indoor soft play lovely visit a great place to spend
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 152 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

Stopped in for a quick ice cream snack. Staff polite and friendly as usual, love the ice cream rotating round giving you a good view of the flavours. We enjoyed a few scoops and look forward to going back. Not tried any cake but it...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Darren G
Reviewed October 24, 2018 via mobile

We visited with two young granddaughters who loved getting up close to the pigs, goats and cows. The cafe was good - great pot (3 full cups worth) of real tea with jacket potatoes and a panini. Very tasty and not too expensive. We're going...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank ravenswoodrob1953
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Came here with my sister and brother in law and their two children. The ice cream went down a treat and the kids loved watching the ice cream 'spin round' as they made their choice. They especially enjoyed the two tractors they could race around...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank MoniqueD1980
Amanda D, Owner at Matlock Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Thank you for visiting Monique and for taking the time to write a review we are pleased you enjoyed your visit and our ice cream. Regards Mandy

Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

Stopped for ice cream with our teenagers and our friends with 2younger children. All enjoyed it. Ice cream is superb, I can recommend the cherry amaretto! Nice selection of children's products on sale. Their cakes looked fab. Plenty of information boards up outside. Kids enjoyed...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank sarah u
Amanda D, Owner at Matlock Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Hi Sarah thank you for the feedback we are really pleased you and your family enjoyed your visit. Regards Mandy

Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

I checked on the website whether there was a lactose free alternative before visiting as I am lactose intolerant. I was reassured that although there is no lactose free ice cream sorbets were available. I was disappointed to see that there was only one sorbet...More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank soniag177
Amanda D, Owner at Matlock Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Hi Sonia sincere apologies for the sorbet running out. The summer season has been so busy due to the lovely weather and sometimes at really busy times staff are so busy serving that they cannot always take time out to pop out to the freezer...More

Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

We went with our 2 year old for the morning. He liked seeing the cows, sheep and chicken. Food was nice and the ice cream was great. They also have an indoor softplay for £2 which has lots of trains to play with. Also has...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank saraha1403
Amanda D, Owner at Matlock Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Hi Sarah many thanks for the review we are pleased you appeared to have enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

I took my 3 year old to Matlock Meadows this morning for an hour before nursery started. What a fabulous little place! There were calves, sheep, goats, chickens and pig to look at. Just enough to keep little ones happy without it being a big...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank lexnov82
Amanda D, Owner at Matlock Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Thank you so much for the kind comments we are really pleased you enjoyed your visit. Regards Mandy

Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

I love there ice cream, it is one of the best I have ever tasted and is worth every penny! There are soo many flavours to choose from. I love the lemon sorbet one, along with the chocolate as well. The service was good and...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank SophieLouise98
Amanda D, Owner at Matlock Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Hi thank you so much for the lovely review we are so pleased you enjoyed the ice cream and the atmosphere we have created. Regards Mandy

Reviewed July 13, 2018 via mobile

Visited for Ice Cream and wasn't dissapointed. Plenty of choice from cones to sundaes. All made in the farm. Plenty of space to eat inside & out. Lovely park for the kids and some ride on tractors. Also got to see baby calfs. Was a...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Edinburghroo
Amanda D, Owner at Matlock Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for the kind comments - we are really pleased you enjoyed your visit. Regards Mandy

Reviewed June 22, 2018 via mobile

Visited during a recent stay in Matlock. It was not as big as we expected but there is a cafe, play area and animals outside such as pigs, cows etc so I think it would be a great place to visit with younger children. We...More

Date of experience: June 2018
3  Thank perfectionists
Amanda D, Owner at Matlock Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Thanks for your feedback we are pleased you enjoyed our ice cream. Apologies for not allowing dogs within the ice cream parlour but as we are an ice cream manufacturing premises, cleanliness is a very high priority for us and since we are farm based...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 nearby hotels
Premier Inn Matlock
576 reviews
.29 miles away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
431 reviews
1.93 miles away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
562 reviews
2.30 miles away
Alison House Hotel
431 reviews
2.90 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 151 nearby restaurants
The Green Way Cafe
260 reviews
.99 miles away
The Sycamore Inn
175 reviews
.67 miles away
McDonald's
14 reviews
.25 miles away
The Thorn Tree
115 reviews
.89 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 91 nearby attractions
Peak Rail
261 reviews
.95 miles away
Red House Stables and Carriage Museum
41 reviews
.98 miles away
ARC Leisure Centre
14 reviews
.32 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
chris b
February 13, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Amanda D | Property representative |
Hi Chris, thanks for your enquiry, not sure why you would think we are expensive, our ice creams start at £1.50 for a child's teddy cone, £2.00 for a single cone/tub and £3.00 for a double cone/tub. Our ice cream is all hand... More
1
Vote
EliMHants
April 6, 2015|
Answer
Response from Amanda D | Property representative |
Hi our ice cream is not lactose free as we use our own cows milk, but we do always have a lactose free sorbet available for those who are unable to have cows milk, the flavour varies but currently its a red berry sorbet... More
0
Votes