We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 2 Moodie Street, Umkomaas 4170, South Africa
Phone Number: +27 39 973 2233
Website
Description:

We offer some of the most exciting scuba diving in the World, here on...

We offer some of the most exciting scuba diving in the World, here on Aliwal Shoal. Dive with Ragged Tooth Sharks, Tiger Sharks and Manta Rays, Dolphins and Whale Sharks. Enjoy our great South African hospitality at Aliwal Dive Lodge and further your Dive education at our PADI 5* Instructor Development Centre.

When you choose Aliwal Dive Centre for your South African diving adventure, you can rest assured that our professional and dedicated team will have one aim in mind, to ensure you have a holiday of a lifetime.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 63 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 43
    Excellent
  • 8
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Fabulous diving & great vibe - would recommend this to anyone

We hit a quiet week and so were the only guests staying for the two days that we dived, but everyone made us feel so welcome and we loved the diving. The dive operation is very... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
fitbug2010
,
London, England
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 57: English reviews
London, England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We hit a quiet week and so were the only guests staying for the two days that we dived, but everyone made us feel so welcome and we loved the diving. The dive operation is very professional and there is a strong safety culture (which we were pleased about as we had not done RHIB-based diving for 20 years!) But... More 

Helpful?
Thank fitbug2010
Basie A, Owner at Aliwal Dive Centre, responded to this review

Thanks a million for this absolutely awesome review!Very happy you had a good time with 'our family' and hopefully you'll be back this side sooner than later! Till then! More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A company with a "family run" feel. Ive worked along side Basie and Keith as a freelance videographer for the past season. I've always loved working with the staff here due to there professional and very friendly approach. If anyone was to do a shark or reef dive in aliwal shoal, I would suggest this company.

Helpful?
Thank 416TonyK
Basie A, Owner at Aliwal Dive Centre, responded to this review

Shot Ant, thanks for the great review. Always welcome... you and your reviews...! See you in a couple of months. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

Went for 2 dives with these guys; 1 baited shark dive and 1 reef dive. Everything seemed really professional and the first dive went really well. The instructor Charley and skipper Baatie (apologies for the spelling) were both great, but unfortunately they were badly let down by a young divemaster, Charl, who clearly has a very high opinion of himself... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
Basie A, Owner at Aliwal Dive Centre, responded to this review

Hi Tim, Thanks for taking the time to submit your views. It is indeed unfortunate that you were unhappy with the end result of your trip, even though you did enjoy your reef dive and commented that you were happy with the professional way everything else was done. It is also unfortunate that you felt the need to henceforth slate... More 

Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

We spent a week in this very nice dive centre. Staff were very nice and professional and I warmly recommend it. If you do not like light in your room at night avoid the bedroom with the window just below the signboard which is lit all night!

Helpful?
1 Thank OStG
Basie A, Owner at Aliwal Dive Centre, responded to this review

Really appreciate the good review and we are super happy you enjoyed your stay and dives with us!! Even though it doesn't help you, but we have ordered new block out curtains so hopefully the light issue will be resolved soon! Keep well!! More 

Basel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

I was told, that Umkomaas is a must see place if one likes diving, so I made my way there and found this dive school. A great place and very well organised. They offer a dorm which seems a bit small if it is fully occupied, but was very clean. The diving is organized very well, with lots of room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthias G
Basie A, Owner at Aliwal Dive Centre, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay here with us. We appreciate feedback from customers and yes, you are right in saying that in South Africa we do sometimes mix experienced divers with students, but mostly in the quieter times. As we have an in house instructor we do not have specific dates on which... More 

Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016 via mobile

This was our 5th visit to Aliwal Dive Centre and we again had an awesome week of diving. The ADC team are all very professional and go out of their way to ensure everyone enjoys their diving to a maximum. Basie and Keith are probably the best skippers I have come across in South Africa and Mozambique. As for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pieter455
Basie A, Owner at Aliwal Dive Centre, responded to this review

Pieter, you Marius and Ruben are the easiest customers to please! Thanks a stack for this awesome review and making the effort - we really appreciate it!! You are always welcome and hopefully we'll see you again soon.... Tot weersiens!! More 

Umkomaas, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2016 via mobile

I have been diving for 20 odd years and have been to many dive centers around the world. Aliwal dive centre made me feel very comfortable the minute I walked in. The centre is very clean and neat. The staff are attentive and answer all your questions pleasantly. The equipment and boats are in good condition. The skipper made me... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbieholroyd
Basie A, Owner at Aliwal Dive Centre, responded to this review

Hi Debbie - thanks for taking the time to write this great review! We appreciate any feedback from our customers, as this gives us an idea where we can improve in order to make the experience here with us better. Glad you had a good time and felt safe - we have always been about safety first - hopefully we... More 

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016 via mobile

Staff were really friendly and helpful. The diving was amazing! It was a cool experience going out on speed boats after always going out on bigger dive boats. The accommodation was really nice however our room was under a massive billboard which lit up our room at night so we struggled to sleep. The groups weren't ideal- day 1 we... More 

Helpful?
Thank HannRR
Basie A, Owner at Aliwal Dive Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and input. I am sorry to hear that you were a bit unhappy about the demographics of the dive group, but it does happen especially in the "quiet" times where we have to combine the divers we do have, on one boat. Aliwal Shoal offers a great diversity of dive sites which fortunately gives every diver,... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2016 via mobile

5 years we visit Clare, Basie and the all crowd.... Another amazing experience... Situated near the launching site, it offers secured parking, great accommodation and you can wake up 5 minutes before diving as you right there!! Amazing breakfast after the dive and Basie is the best skipper ever to take you through aliwal shoal. A must for a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Edobaldo84
Basie A, Owner at Aliwal Dive Centre, responded to this review

Hi Edoardo, the two of you are always welcome! Really appreciate the great review and the fact that you took the time to do it. Hopefully it won't be another year before we seen you guys again...! Keep well!! More 

Quebec
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2016 via mobile

If you wish, dream and live for wildlife, you probably exclude sharks in your minds just because of movies, reflex or peer pressure. Now there is something misconstrued about this type of thinking and the answer in just here at Aliwal. You go for observations of sharks, in a cage for safety, and you have the options, only if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank platonov909
Basie A, Owner at Aliwal Dive Centre, responded to this review

You are 100% right. Hollywood and the uninformed, sensation seeking media has villianised sharks to the extent that, what you did whilst diving with us, would be seen by them as completely insane, but it was not. It was an educational experience that broadened your mind and it blows the theories that sharks are crazy man hunters completely out the... More 

Travelers who viewed Aliwal Dive Centre also viewed

Umkomaas, KwaZulu-Natal
Umkomaas, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umkomaas, KwaZulu-Natal
Umkomaas, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Aliwal Dive Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aliwal Dive Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?