We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

40Knots Kitesurfing & Windsurfing School Antigua

Freetown, Antigua
More
About 40Knots Kitesurfing & Windsurfing School Antigua
Our school offers high quality kitesurfing in Antigua. We offer tuition with IKO certified instructors (International Kitesurfing Organization) with the latest and safest equipment. We are located in Nonsuch Bay, on the windward shore of Antigua, in the Caribbean, where the trade winds blow strong and constant. The bay is completely closed by the reef and offers a condition of warm and flat water, ideal to learn and progress. Updated equipment, newest teaching methods and power boat assistance make the best combination for your perfect learning experience. The kitesurfing lessons will start from the beach of Green Island, a tiny island windward to Nonsuch bay, with white sand and crystal blue water; a perfect landing/launching area for kites.
Travelers talk about
291Reviews8Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 286
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Voyager745985 wrote a review Mar 2020
5 contributions5 helpful votes
I’m afraid this operation can only receive a 1 star review given their policy of charging 100% for a lesson should you not be able to attend even if there is a medical emergency or extenuating circumstances, for example if you get ill or break a bone. It is outrageously expensive at nearly US $400 for 2 hours kiting. I would caution against booking a lesson with these rogue operators. Also there are shallow reefs with big sea urchins which they won’t warm you about until you are in the water. I recommend you avoid and don’t book.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Irene C, Manager at 40Knots Kitesurfing & Windsurfing School Antigua
Responded May 2, 2020
Dear Voyager745985, for 3 times you cancelled your lesson last minute and for 3 times we were (too) accommodating and rescheduled it. You forgot to mention, unintentionally we are sure, that, in the end, you DID NOT pay for the lesson. You know, even the most patient individuals get eventually annoyed in front of arrogant, snobbish and cocky customers. Showing a bit of respect for people trying to do their jobs goes a long way. Still, since we are not rancorous people, we want to wish you all the best for the medical emergency: your wife's pinky toe. Luckily that's the only bone that (maybe) broke in the all story. Such extenuating circumstances and unbearable stress for you. Disclaimer: no animals were ever harmed, sea urchins are enjoying their peaceful lives, very far from the kiting area and, lucky them, never had to deal with Voyager745985.
Read more
Marcus k wrote a review Mar 2020
4 contributions7 helpful votes
Had a great time with the staff at 40 knots. Despite my floundering in the water for a while, my instructor had me up and sailing along incredibly by the end of my lesson!! can't wait to come back for more..
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Mike Shipley wrote a review Feb 2020
Breckenridge, Colorado153 contributions51 helpful votes
This was truly amazing. The staff are so friendly and helpful, and the location is jaw droopingly beautiful. I was nervous at first but it was way easier than I thought, and the sensation of 'flying' over an aquamarine sand bar is one of life's unforgettable experiences. I can't stress enough how lovely the staff are too.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
chlemaire wrote a review Feb 2020
Boxford, Massachusetts11 contributions16 helpful votes
Full disclosure: I'm an experienced kiter and did not use 40 Knots' services. But I was at Green Island on my boat a couple of days during the past 2 weeks with my own gear, and I want to give a shout out to Ivan, who was an exemplary ambassador for this outfit. Not only did he welcome me on the school's tiny beach, but he graciously offered to launch and land my kite every time I needed it. Ivan was courteous, friendly, professional and always ready to lend a helping hand. Kudos to 40 Knots for hiring a great instructor who represents their operation so well, and to Ivan for his friendly and unassuming attitude. If you're thinking of taking lessons in that part of the Caribbean, I would suggest you consider 40 Knots.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Philip L wrote a review Feb 2020
Christchurch, United Kingdom12 contributions16 helpful votes
Well what can I say about these guys....I'm a relative newcomer to kiting (just over 2 years) and a late-comer to the sport as I am not far off 60....I had been before last year but the wind was really light and only managed one session on a 17m kite which was awesome but didn't really give me the full 40 knots experience. This year I hit Antigua with 30 knot winds and had an absolute blast.... It wasn't all great, I brought my own gear and on day 2 my 10m blew the bladder, and on day 3 when it had been fixed for free by the fabuous Susi, I landed it hard and it ripped. But not to worry, with a sewing machine and a couple of days, Irene had it all sorted. The team are all super engaging and really enthusiatic to see you progress, the 1-2-1 coaching is second to none with instructors in a boat following you and this was, for sure, the best way to get my first session on a surboard in. The location is beautiful athough the launch area is pretty small so numbers are fairly limited and well controlled by the team...and you can only reach it with a 10 min boat ride. I managed 8 days of kiting during my 3 weeks in Antigua (the second half of the holiday was unfortunatey plagued by little or no wind) and it was by far the best kiting experience I have had so far... A massive thanks to Max, Irene, Susi, Ivan and of course my instructor Fabio who really had the patience of a saint....I will be back next year!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around Antigua
from $174.36
More Info
from $64.11
More Info
from $112.81
More Info
from $78.21
More Info