We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blackbird Cruises

Footscray, Australia
More
About Blackbird Cruises
Maximum Passengers on Vessel : 30 No EFTPOS or Credit Card Facility. PUBLIC CRUISES There are two cruises operating with full commentary, historical, nostalgic cruises through the Western suburbs of Melbourne & Port of Melbourne. FOOTSCRAY TERMINAL Melway Map 42; E : 5 Tuesday / Thursday / Saturday / Sunday When Vessel is not on Charter Departs from FOOTSCRAY BERTH : at 1:00 pm for a 2 hour cruises of Maribyrnong river. Cost ADULT $30.00 CHILD $10.00 at 4:00 pm for a 1 hour cruises of Port of Melbourne. Cost ADULT $15.00 CHILD $10.00 Just a ten dollars deposit is require to confirm booking, in person at the office with cash or via the post with Cheque or Money Order made out to Blackbird Cruises, sent to: Blackbird Cruises. P. O. Box 484, Footscray 3011. Office address is 1 Maribyrnong street, Footscray. Melway Map 42; E:5 or if relying on GPS, you need to program in 2 Saltriver place, Footscray as this is apartment building behind us.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about

Blackbird Cruises
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
9Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jeffryb wrote a review Sep 2020
Keysborough, Australia371 contributions100 helpful votes
The Blackbird is a sturdy boat that carries passengers down the Maribyrnong River. You will learn much about the river frrom the skipper;, many things will surprise you. Going on a cruise on the Blackbird is an afternoon well spent.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Warwick S, Owner at Blackbird Cruises
Responded Sep 7, 2020
Thanks, unfortunately due to social distancing rules to the Corona Virus Outbreak, we have suspended cruises until further notice.
Read more
Jeffry b wrote a review Jul 2020
Essendon, Australia7,002 contributions2,303 helpful votes
Even those who think they know the Maribyrnong River will be surprsed by this cruise. You will see waterways that you never knew existed. The Blackbird is a a vintage boat, it is quite charming and the cruise is usually smooth.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Warwick S, Owner at Blackbird Cruises
Responded Sep 3, 2020
Thanks, unfortunately due to social distancing rules to the Corona Virus Outbreak, we have suspended cruises until further notice.
Read more
Passenger789818 wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
After many years of wanting to do this trip we finally made it. Weather wise - a perfect afternoon. Things have certainly changed after living in the area 30 years ago. Peter’s commentary was so informative and interesting. Thoroughly enjoyed it. We will be back to do the down stream cruise. Thanks Peter and Warwick.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Warwick S, Owner at Blackbird Cruises
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Thank you
Read more
Jeffry b wrote a review Oct 2019
Essendon, Australia7,002 contributions2,303 helpful votes
The Blackbird is a sturdy boat that wears its years with pride. The skipper, Peter, knows everything about the Maribyrnong River. We took an hour's cruise and discovered many things about the river thas we never knew were there. The river is relativley placid, it's great for a cruise.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Warwick S, Owner at Blackbird Cruises
Responded Oct 16, 2019
Thanks
Read more
Kimbearly28 wrote a review Mar 2019
Eastbourne, United Kingdom151 contributions18 helpful votes
What a fabulous trip we had on the Maribyrnong River. Peter owner skipper and tour guide was so interesting and knowledgeable I could of listened to him for hours. His commentary was so informative of past history of the river and what is happening now. Lovely old boat. Nothing fancy but quaint and traditional we took our picnic lunch. His son works with him a true family business. Relaxing couple of hours most enjoyable.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Warwick S, Owner at Blackbird Cruises
Responded Mar 26, 2019
Thanks
Read more
Previous
12