Larkfield Leisure Centre

Larkfield Leisure Centre: Hours, Address, Larkfield Leisure Centre Reviews: 3.5/5

Larkfield Leisure Centre
3.5
6:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
6:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
6:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
6:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
6:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
6:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Sunday
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
About
Whether you want to workout in our gym, swim for fun or fitness, enjoy an invigorating exercise class or learn a new sport or skill, our facilities, activities and courses aim to help people of every age to achieve their goals. Challenge your expectations, set your targets and enjoy the benefits that regular exercise brings.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Popular mentions

3.5
116 reviews
Excellent
27
Very good
37
Average
16
Poor
10
Terrible
26

Google U
1 contribution
Long queues and dirty changing area and toilets.
Nov 2021 • Family
Visited Saturday.The queues to get in are shocking, the staff need to manage expectations better. They said 20 minute wait which was more like 30, not good when trying to manage small children. The changing rooms were dirty, rubbish and split nappies scattered about. The parent and child toilet stunk, had rubbish all over and no loo roll. The ladies smelt like a urinal. Other than that we enjoyed the pool!
Written November 15, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Carrie M
15 contributions
Useless reception staff!
Oct 2021 • Family
Customer service was shocking. I called the reception at various times throughout the day, every day for a week and no answer. I was on hold for up to 20 a minutes a time. We decided to chance and turn up for swimming on a Sunday afternoon.

The lady on reception was rude and miserable and looked like she would rather be anywhere else but there.

After our swim session the reception was quiet and manned by 2 staff members. Decided to stand outside and call the number to see if they picked up (they had no one in reception).

They looked at the phone and ignored it.

Will not be back.
Written October 12, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Stacey A
2 contributions
Didn’t answer the phone
Aug 2021 • Family
A real shame ( I wanted to bring my family here for a Birthday outing.My husband was on the phone waiting for over 15 minutes and no one pickup the phone
Written August 14, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Debbie G
3 contributions
First impressions matter!
Jul 2021 • Solo
Really poor customer service- I won’t be back. Reception entirely unhelpful and pretended to be busy when I tried to ask way to a class. Left without ever having found the class despite wandering around for ages.
Written August 2, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Harry H
2 contributions
Horrible staff member at reception
Aug 2021 • Friends
I’d like to complain about the rude lady working at reception today.
Me and 1 other arrived and asked to go swimming. She said there was no space so no. We understood this and started to leave.
A group of 4 people then checked in to go swimming and said to the receptionist, “we have a booking for 6 people but only 4 of us could make it”
After they went in we went and asked that as there is now 2 cancellations (two free spaces that aren’t being used) can we please use the pool.
She was extremely rude and refused us entry and even “brushed” her hands in a *sho* motion for us to leave and then wouldn’t speak to us.
I believe in the current climate, mental health is directly related to exercise and social activities, and just abit of helpfulness on her part would have been very appreciated
We then drove to cascades leisure centre and they was also fully booked online, we asked if there was any space at all and they had also just had two cancellations, so they let us in.
Great customer service on their behalf.
Written August 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Csmith
1 contribution
Rude staff
Apr 2021 • Solo
Very rude unprofessional staff on the desk and running the gym. Felt very victimised. Don’t waste your money much cheaper and better run gyms out there.
Written May 17, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Val A
1 contribution
Huge improvement
Mar 2020 • Solo
I have recently returned to swimming weekly at Larkfield after a couple of years break.
Over the last three months I have been struck by how consistently clean the pool, surrounding area, changing area and toilets are.
Written March 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

hayley o
1 contribution
Not SEN friendly in fact not friendly at all!!!
Feb 2020 • Family
Not special needs friendly, in fact not friendly at all!!

We found the staff were inexcusably rude and challenging at Larkabout Larkfield .

We have a girl with delayed development needs just turned 11 and only being a few months over we would normally have been allowed to bring her in at discretion of the soft play. We explained this to the staff and asked politely if this was possible to be rudely and flatly told she can not enter. Which we accepted. We found the worker to be antagonistic and overly challenging to a polite request.

We have another child with severe autism which did not take well to the change regarding her sister and with the added softplay noises she began to crisis. We immediately intervened and put up a couple of soft blocks in the corner to create a safe space for her to calm. The lady went directly over and snatched the blocks back! This caused further distress to a child in crisis. Despite us speaking calmly she felt the need to shout rudely and when we questioned her action of taking away the safe space. We then informed her that we were unhappy and the manager came over. He understood the situation and allowed the safe space to remain ,however, as soon as he left the other worker was sent over to snatch the chairs and table that were propping up the safe space saying "chairs were for sitting." We informed her the safe space was agreed by the manager. We then also politely informed the lady that there was a large stack of chairs over in the corner that she could use before taking a child's safe space away as well as spare tables around which could have been used before this table was taken. but she still found the need to destroy a child's safe space! We found this petty, Cruel and uncalled for. We found her action to be of a targeting nature and unprofessional, We felt that the worker was doing everything she could to make the visit unpleasant for Sen children with the smallest needs. Because of the lack of safe space and continuous confrontational attitude by staff the autistic child then went into full crisis we had no way to calm her or a place to keep her clear of other children, as a result she almost harmed another child and we needed to leave. All children in our group left the place feeling tearful and miserable for what should have been a happy day. Disgusted is not even the word I would use! I suggest some training in customer service and also some disability awareness training is required.

we will never return as we do not wish to expose our children to this treatment again and will be seeking more inclusive softplays. I will relay this to other parents with SEN children to insure they don't have to endure this behaviour.
Written February 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

dannybennett66
London, UK16 contributions
Same price for a third of the service
Oct 2019
I recently visited Larkfield leisure centre for swimming with my daughter,I wasn’t aware the main children’s pool was closed due to repairs to the roof which is fair enough but all that was left was one lane of the main pool and I was still being asked to pay the full amount for less than a third of the service. A complete rip-off it would make you feel better if they wore a mask.
Written October 29, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

fatima k
19 contributions
Lovely clean pool enjoyable swim
Sep 2019 • Solo
I just wanted to say how glad I was to swim in a such a nice clean pool. I left moat park due to its cleanliness issues. The showers we're mould free and worked at the correct temperature! Absolute bliss. The centre was spotless and welcoming.
Written September 22, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for your review Fatima. Really pleased that you had a good experience at our Centre. I will share your comments with the Management Team. Please come again!
Written November 21, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 116
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing