Elephant Freedom Project

Elephant Freedom Project, Kegalle: Hours, Address, Elephant Freedom Project Reviews: 5/5

Elephant Freedom Project
5
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Monday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Sunday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
About
Visit us and experience a special elephant encounter which is suitable for young and old, families, couples and single travelers. This is your chance to get a memorable impression of a day in the life of a Sri Lankan captive elephant who is not being used for working nor riding. The small family run Elephant Freedom Project offers refuge, freedom from work and hardship to the elephant Kumari. At the project she is free from working in the riding industry and the wood logging. The Elephant Freedom Project aims to give Kumari a good and safe home, which is made possible thanks to your visit! Booking in advance required.
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Popular mentions

5.0
521 reviews
Excellent
468
Very good
33
Average
7
Poor
6
Terrible
7

Dayan J
8 contributions
Recommended experience with an Asian Elephant
Apr 2021 • Family
The Elephant Freedom project was a great day out with our 3 kids. The had a great day interacting with Kumari the Elephant and Helping bathe her was the absolute highlight of the morning session. The educational aspect and English guidance given by Kasun was excellent. Great Sri Lanka meal to end the morning. We would recommend it to our friends and family visiting Sri Lanka.
Written April 26, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Matt W
Santa Monica, CA1 contribution
A truly unforgettable, amazing experience
Sep 2019
It has been almost a year since my wife and I visited the Elephant Freedom Project on our honeymoon. It was one of the top reasons we decided to go to Sri Lanka as part of our trip in the first place - we were in search of an ethical elephant sanctuary we could support.

The hosts were amazingly nice and you could see the true love they have for Princess, the elephant they were taking care of at the time (possibly still?). We went for a walk through the woods together and into a stream together, walking along side her the entire time. Truly magical.

We met another awesome small group that went along with us, and all shared a delicious meal at the end. We have since donated towards their noble cause and will continue to do so having seen, first hand, the amazing work they are doing.

Till next time!
Written July 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Danlassen
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates81 contributions
Don’t book their Transportation!
Mar 2020 • Solo
A very lovely project, beautiful location and sweet elephant! Had a lovely day!
But a bad beginning!

Don’t order their pick up they offer!

I ordered a Pick up from my hotel to the project.
(Gateway Hotel Airport Garden).

I got a confirmation mail that the pick up would be around 06:30 am.
I came down to the reception at 06:20 am. In the morning and even skipped my breakfast.
I waited to 07:50 am! More than a hour.
No one ever came to pick me up, even tried to contact the number provided by Shashini (elephant project management) without any answer! No one ever contacted me!!!!!

The hotel staff were so kind to help me with the transportation to the project, which I almost was going to miss as well at 09:00 am.

I was really disappointed with this kind of service! And I don’t want any future customers to book transportation with the Elephant freedom project! As they don’t keep what they promise!
So bad!

I also had to share this experience with all of my 7000 colleagues in my airline, which regularly goes to Colombo. And this is sad.

Otherwise, I reached the project! And had a lovely day!
A lovely project and a lovely Elephant and project!

Just such a bad beginning when you have booked a tour and looked forward!

Daniel Lassen
Denmark
Written May 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
I remember this situation very well since it was the first and only time this happened. I arranged the transport the day before. When you called us and we found out that you didn't get picked up we were very surprised! I quickly arranged another driver however the harm was already done. Needless to say, we never used that driver again.  I am very sorry for the inconvenience caused to you but happy to read that you did enjoy your time at the project. Thankfully we could arrange it so that you didn't have to miss any activities. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you, Shashini.
Written May 25, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Belle
2 contributions
A beautiful, peaceful place for an elephant!
Mar 2020
I have been an animal lover & activist for most of my life. I came to Sri Lanka for elephant conservation research and searched for a place where I could interact with an elephant in an ethical and peaceful space, while supporting wildlife sanctuary/conservation efforts. I discovered Elephant Freedom Project and I am so glad that I did! The staff is so loving and kind towards Kumari, who they rescued from the tourism/logging industry after working for 50+ years. Being around Kumari, you can see the peace and safety she feels in her new home. Thank you Elephant Freedom Project for rescuing Kumari and helping raise awareness on the wildlife tourism industry! Keep up the incredible work!
Written April 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

lettiemarsh
London4 contributions
Amazing, kind and friendly place to spend with an elephant
Feb 2020
The place was like no other elephant sanctuary; was very respectful towards the elephant, Kumari. She just happily went about her day (feeding, walking, washing) and we helped out. The team at EFP clearly cared for her so well and had answers to all the questions. The lunch with everyone was absolutely delicious. The accommodation is quite basic.
Written March 7, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Amandine R
10 contributions
Amazing place! with real respect for animals
Feb 2020 • Couples
Amazing place with real respect fot elephants!
Many places in sri lanka are called 'orphanages' but in fact they hit elephants to make them obey.
Here, only one elephant (kumari was saved 3 years ago after having being ill treated for wood industry) but all the staff is so careful about her! She is not hurt and she is cherished by her keeper.
Only small groups (max 6 persons) so you really have the time to spend quality time woti het. About 1hour of walk and 30 minutes of bathing!
Visit of dung factory is really interesting!
Staff is really knowledgeable and nice. Their english is perfect which is rare in sri lanka!
You end the half day with a very good rice and curry.
Strongly recommended
Nb : your driver may try to convince you this place is not good. Not a surprise it is the only place that refuse to pay commission to drivers (our driver even invented a far fetched story about it!!)
You can go in trust to this place if you are animals lovers!
Written February 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Vincent w
4 contributions
A really respectful center
Feb 2020 • Couples
We've been looking for a center where the elephants don't get any chains, are well treated and do not ridden by tourists. And this center is one of them ! There is only one elephant (Kumari) but it is more than enough because the group is made of 6 persons maximum.
The keeper is really careful with the animal and respects her decision : if the elephant does not want to move, he waits patiently without forcing her.
You can give food directly to Kumari, touch her, and wash her in the river.
The guides speak well English and have a lot of very interesting informations about these animals to share. We can clearly see they respect this elephant and are all careful with her.
Of course it's not as good as a wild animal, but before being in this center Kumari was illtreared by humans and cannot return to wildlife, so this seems the best retirement we can wish for her!
Dust factory visit and nice and friendly welcome were a plus.
Thanks to this center for this amazing day!
Written February 21, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Cassie S
Manchester, UK10 contributions
Wonderful afternoon
Feb 2020 • Couples
We arrived on a rather spontaneous visit to the elephant freedom project. On arrival we were served an amazing lunch with the other guests. Our guide Buddi then led us through the afternoon itinerary. We were very fortunate being in a tour group of four and we then went to the river to wash Kumari the elephant. Buddi was very knowledgeable and obviously very passionate about the work they do. We then walked to another location and had plenty of opportunities for photographs. We then had a tour of the dung factory in which the dung is cleaned and processed into paper products. It was a highlight of the trip and couldn’t thank Buddi and the project for an amazing day!
Written February 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Neenyboo
Philadelphia, PA29 contributions
Awesome experience
Feb 2020 • Family
We did the whole day visit and it wasn’t short of amazing. Buddi our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable about the elephants. We walked Kumari for a coupe of hours and it was 10 people on the group. We all got our share of feeding and petting and it was plenty of time. The trainer was very good with the elephant and we felt safe. We then got a Sri Lankan cooking lesson and helped with the preparation of the meal. It was fun and we learned a lot. We then bathed Kumari in the lake which was again a fun experience for all. We then ate the delicious meal that we helped prepare. Lastly we went to rye dung factory and that was an enlightening experience. I highly recommend this experience. I had no concern about the elephants care and felt it was a loving and safe environment.
Written February 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Wrighty
Gold Coast, Australia8 contributions
Elephants are meant to be hugged not ridden - a meaningful family retreat
Jan 2020 • Family
We were lucky enough to be able to spend a week with this amazing family caring for Kumari (the amazing elephant) and getting to be part of the family. Ananda and Mali made us feel part of the family - teaching us amazing Sri Lankan cooking, language and traditions. Our lovely guide Kasun took our boys under his wing and was amazing with them! He gave them special experiences that they’ll never forget! The commitment to making life better for these majestic creatures was clear! A wonderful experience all round! Hope we can return soon!
Written February 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 430
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing