Château Pape Clément

Château Pape Clément, Pessac: Hours, Address, Château Pape Clément Reviews: 4.5/5

Château Pape Clément
4.5
Wineries & Vineyards • Castles
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Sunday
9:30 AM - 11:30 AM
About
This haven of peacefulness, located on the outskirts of Bordeaux, has witnessed its 60 hectares of vines surrounding the château built in the neo-Gothic style. You have to visit this seven-century-old Graves great growth to understand the reasons for its excellence. Combining traditional methods and latest technologies, we take the greatest care of our vineyard. Discover this jewel of Graves region, in order to solve the secrets of an exceptional estate, Château Pape Clément : from our horses and oxen's role in protecting the soil, to the use of music against vines' diseases, including our drone and our terracotta vats... Interested enthusiasts, knowledgeable connoisseurs, experienced tasters and demanding collectors - Bernard Magrez invites all of you to experience this extraordinary visit tailored-made to each person's interests, in a sumptuous place overflowing with history. Château Pape Clément welcomes you 7 days a week, by appointment.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Popular mentions

4.5
472 reviews
Excellent
308
Very good
107
Average
37
Poor
11
Terrible
9

Yeniret P
Province of Barcelona, Spain2 contributions
Beautiful and 100% recommended!!!
Sep 2021 • Couples
100% recommended, the guide was super knowledgeable and explain everything in great detail. Very happy and one of the best wineries so far.
Written September 21, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Madam, dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience after your visit at Château Pape Clément. We are delighted to know that you truly enjoyed your visit. The entire team strives to provide excellent service and your valuable feedback enables us to improve the quality and consistency of our service delivery. We are looking forward to welcoming you a next time in one of Bernard Magrez's winery, Best regards,
Written September 22, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Emilija K
Leicestershire, UK25 contributions
Sheer elegance and comfort. .
Sep 2021 • Couples
Chateau beautiful, comfortable and elegant, staff simply exceptional. Attention to detail, friendliness are above and beyond. Never felt more welcome. Simply perfect.
Written September 15, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Madam, Dear Sir, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Château Pape Clément. We are most grateful for your compliments on the property and our service. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back on the estate or another Bernard magrez' winery, Best regards,
Written September 22, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

chio c
Madrid, Spain83 contributions
Tourist Trap
Sep 2021 • Family
It is a tourist trap for several reasons, I paid 20€ per person, a total of 84€ for 4 persons and it’s not worth it.

The tour group was a total of 18 people, it was disorganized and the explanations were sloppy and very general. The worst happened at the time of wine tasting, there was not enough room for everyone, having a reduced space for each one. The wine testing room is good and safe for about 8 people, but we were 18!

We had nowhere to put the wine glasses, like the half of the group, in addition the host was not interested about the crowded situation and she told us that it was “normal”.

The most important issue is the lack of COVID concern, having 18 people packed in a minimum space for the wine tasting and without the mask!

The other wineries that I have visited in 2020 and 2021 have had a maximum of 8 people with plenty of room to spare during the wine testing.
It’s a shame that a very nice winery with a beautiful chateau and gardens is spoiled by a low grade tour.
Written September 12, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Madam, Dear Sir, Thank you for your review following your visit at Château Pape Clément. We deeply regret to read how much your experience was disappointing. During your 1 hour tour, your discover the history of the property (more than 7th centuries), you can learn about our technics at the vineyard and you visit the vat-house and barrel cellar to know eveything about our winemaking process. We must say following the comments of our visitors, the guide whom did your visit has a very good knowledge of wine and we truly regret you experienced a less than perfect visit with us. About your tasting experience, we apology you didn't feel confortable in the tasting room. We allow 20 people per group during our visit and tasting because the measures allow it with the surface of our wineshop. We don't want our visitors feel unconfratable and unsafe. Doors are staying open and you could seat outside in ou terrasse if it was more convenient for you. We also have a large bar and barrels to put your glass on it. Despite your review, we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again and offer your a more personolized visit that can meet your expectations, Best regards,
Written September 22, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Gerard
Balsall Common, UK1 contribution
Lovely but could have been much better
Sep 2021 • Couples
Lovely Chateaux and estate but the service was awful very disappointing. Nobody seemed to want to help us and we were left hanging despite staff being around. We wanted to purchase some wine but the lady that served us seemed distracted maybe even Unwell?
Written September 5, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Madam, Dear Sir, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience after your visit at Château Pape Clement. The day of your visit, one person from the team was leading a tasting and as you seemed notice the other person was not feeling well but that is not an excuse so we also wanted to extend our most sincere apologies if we were not able to make you live the experience you were entitled to. It is important for us to improve every day, so we may deliver a better service. Please be assured that I have immediately reviewed your remarks with the person concerned to be sure that it won't happen again. We would be more than pleased to make you live this experience you were untitled to, so please do not hesitate to contact us directly would you give us the opportunity to welcome you again. Best regards,
Written September 22, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Emma1318
Bath, UK9 contributions
Great experience!
Aug 2021
The guide was very informative, describing the history of the chateau and wine-making process, ending with a great tasting experience.
Written August 14, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Madam, dear Sir, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share about your visit at Château Pape Clément. We are extremely happy to read your comment. Your recognition is the best reward for us. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back on the estate or another Bernard magrez' winery, Best regards,
Written August 30, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Somnath Mondal
2 contributions
Génial Château Pape Clement
Jul 2021
Awesome and a must visit. I went with 20 euros visit and thre wine tastings, totally worth it!
You can have French and English both tour available here.
Written August 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Madam, dear Sir, We would like to thank you very much for your feedback and we are so delighted that you enjoyed your visit and the tasting at Château Pape Clément. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in one Bernard Magrez's winery, Best regards,
Written August 3, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Joan N
Wilmington, NC6 contributions
Lovely surprise
Jul 2021
Stunning setting for discovering the wines of the Pessac region and the history of the Château Pape Clement. Our guide was very knowledgeable and personable. We fully enjoyed the wine tasting at the end of the tour and will certainly recommend this excursion near Bordeaux to family and friends.
Written July 26, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Madam, dear Sir, We thank you for sharing your experience after your visit at Château Pape Clément. We are extremely happy to read your comment. Your recognition is the best reward for us. On behalf of all of us here at Château Pape Clément, it was a pleasure to welcome you and we already look forward to your next visit. Best regards,
Written August 3, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Vince K
Barcelona, Spain1 contribution
A++
Jul 2021
Beautiful tour guide with impressive knowledge about wines and viticulture. The tasting was also a great experience, I hope I can return to take part on a "higher level course".
Written July 20, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience after your visit at Château Pape Clément. We are delighted to know that you truly enjoyed your visit. The entire team strives to provide excellent service and your valuable feedback enables us to improve the quality and consistency of our service delivery. We are looking forward to welcoming you a next time in one of Bernard Magrez's winery, Best regards,
Written August 3, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

lmzilber
Los Angeles, CA5 contributions
Excellente experience in a beautiful castle full of past.
Oct 2020
We have been welcome by David. He was great from the time we entered the castle to to the moment we entered our room. From having a degustation of one the white wine grand cru of Pape Clement, to a tour of the castle with David talking about it's past. Service was impeccable. The suite "Egregor" was beautiful with a very big bathroom and a really nice bed. The breakfast was wonderful. Lots to eat and everything was so good. Highly recommended.
Written October 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Madame, dear Sir, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share about your stay at Château Pape Clément. We are most grateful for your recommendation and for your compliments, be sure we'll let David know. The entire team strives to provide excellent service and your valuable feedback enables us to improve the quality and consistency of our service delivery. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back on the estate or another Bernard magrez' winery, Best regards,
Written March 4, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Pok Sornkaew
Rabastens-de-Bigorre, France110 contributions
Very charming
Oct 2020 • Friends
It was a cloudy Sunday but we got a good glimpse of the Chateau and its garden. Very impressed with 1,800 years old olive tree! Worth a quick visit if your are in Bordeaux.
Written October 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Madam, dear Sir, We thank you for sharing your experience after your visit at Château Pape Clément. We are extremely happy to read your comment. Your recognition is the best reward for us. On behalf of all of us here at Château Pape Clément, it was a pleasure to welcome you and we already look forward to your next visit. Best regards,
Written October 13, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 128
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Château Pape Clément

Château Pape Clément is open:
  • Sun - Sun 9:30 AM - 11:30 AM
  • Mon - Sat 10:00 AM - 4:30 PM


Restaurants near Château Pape Clément: View all restaurants near Château Pape Clément on Tripadvisor