Marco de Bartoli

Marco de Bartoli, Marsala: Hours, Address, Marco de Bartoli Reviews: 4.5/5

Marco de Bartoli
4.5
Monday
9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
3:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
3:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
3:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
3:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
About
Marco De Bartoli strongly believed in the viticulture of his territory. Thus, at the end of the Seventies, he rediscovered and nourished the deep root between the traditional and innovative methods of working the soil and winemaking. Looking for an excellent quality, combined with the respect for Sicilian wine traditions, Marco chose native grapes, especially Grillo in Marsala and Zibibbo on the island of Pantelleria, to create traditional and territorial wines, like Vecchio Samperi and Bukkuram, and highly innovative ones, like Grappoli del Grillo and Pietranera. Today his children, Renato, Sebastiano and Giuseppina, with a firm belief, drive forward Marco's production philosophy, pursuing tradition and innovation, always aiming to the highest quality and to the respect for the territory.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

4.5
54 reviews
Excellent
46
Very good
2
Average
4
Poor
1
Terrible
1

Anastasiya N
10 contributions
Jun 2019 • Friends
We have been on June'19 as a part of a group. Curly girl working as a guide was extremely unfriendly and wanted to finish the excursion as soon as possible. The tasting was held in 10 minutes max.:quickly and crumpled.As a treat were offered only crackers, wine was poured on the bottom of the glass.
In 30 minutes everything was over as a splash.
Written June 9, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Anastasiya N, we are really sorry to hear that you had an unsatisfying experience at the winery. We do not normally organize rush tours (that generally take over 1 hour and 30 minutes) unless required. We take all our time to explain what we do and how we work in both cellar and vineyard and, as clearly stated in our web site, we do not offer any food during the tasting, because this is a specific choice according to the winery philosophy, that is focusing just on wine. Crackers are offered (or a gluten-free alternative), because we understand not all our visitors are used to technical tasting. We hardly believe all this just last 30 minutes, anyway, we will be more than happy to have you again at the winery, we hope, for a more relaxed and satisfying wine experience. Kind regards, Marilena Leta
Written June 11, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

artchan93
Nussdorf am Inn, Germany331 contributions
May 2019 • Solo
Being a newbie to and totally unfamiliar with Marsala wine, it was a treat to get a guided tour of the winery all for me. Perhaps because the winery is a little ways outside the city and most tourists typically flock to the big wineries in town to do their requisite wine tasting that they ignore this property outside of town. The bottom line is, I found myself being the only one there for the English-speaking tour. Well, I didn't mind at all as it afforded me an unexpected opportunity to delve into the Marsala wine.
My guide, who is the responsible for marketing and social media and whose name escapes me now (I deeply apologize for that), gave me a detailed history lesson on the wine and the winery. I was able to ask questions to my heart's content, many of which branched off from the formal presentation. At the end, I gained a good understanding of this very different wine (than the table wines that I favor). But because the winery (and vineyard) are located outside the Marsala D.O.C., it makes the Grillo table wine in addition to Marsala (since the winery is D.O.C. certified). It was a most enjoyable wine education and tasting tour.
Written May 15, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks a lot Art Chan for taking this time and write what your experience at the winery was like. It is quite normal for us to gave tours to 1 person only, and we really appreciate this still sounds amazing to those coming here at the winery just to discover and deepen a bit their knowledge of the wines of Marsala. Let's hope to meet you again in the other estate we own on the island of Pantelleria. Thanks again for stopping by and cheers, Marilena Leta
Written May 16, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

John S
West Falls Church, VA875 contributions
Oct 2018 • Couples
We were fortunate to visit the Marco De Bartoli winery today and spend time with Sebastiano (the owner and son of Marco) who spent much more time than I’m sure he had to spare. He was so generous in taking the time to explain the process of making their wine and his father’s story as we toured his cellars and then tasted his wines. It is these kinds of visits we cherish the most and I can’t thank him enough, such a joy to spend time with such a craftsman.
Written October 18, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Many thanks for your review John S, it's a pleasure to hear about your satisfaction with your tour, and thanks for sharing it with us. Time is precious, and our wines know it better than others, but our guests always deserve some time and some "home" feeling. Let's hope to meet you again on a future occasion, why not, in our Pantelleria's cellar. Cheers, Marilena Leta on behalf of the winery team
Written October 22, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kat & Joe
31 contributions
Aug 2017 • Couples
Marilena was an OUTSTANDING guide! She fully explained all details of the de Bartoli operation from start to finish. She really gave us insight into the wine making process and helped us explore great selections on our tasting! This is HIGHLY recommended!
Written August 22, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks so much for your review Kathryn, we really appreciate when our guests are so happy to have been at DE Bartoli's. We really hope to meet you agan, why not, in your next journey to Pantelleria... Cheers
Written August 24, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Hols1988
Hamilton, NJ54 contributions
Mar 2017 • Family
The grounds of this vineyard are beautiful and the staff definitely knows what they are taking about. We learned a lot about the history of wine making in the area, how it was made in the past, how it is made now, there wine compared to other wines and the processes. They were a wealth of knowledge.
The wine is also delicious for 15€ you can do a tasting of 3 wines or for 20€ try 5 of them. I myself did the 20€ and it was worth it, they were all delicious. After the tasting I ended up buying 4 bottles of wine and I plan to buy more before I leave the area so I say the trip to the vineyard was a success.
Written March 31, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Hols1988, thanks a lot for this nice review. We are so happy you did enjoy both the tour and the tasting and that the importance of tradition, terroir and care was so clear in our message. We hope to see you soon again, why not, at our Pantelleria's estate, Bukkuram. Cheers, Marilena Leta
Written April 4, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jozefien R
4 contributions
Jul 2016 • Couples
We really liked the tour and tasting at Marco De Bartolli. With great enthusiasm Marlena explained (in perfect English) all about wine making and showed us the beautiful place. After the tour we tasted 5 wines which were really tasty and good. Thanks for the wonderful visit!
Written July 16, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Many thanks for your positive review, the guided tours and tasting are for us the best way to tell you the story of our marvelous terroir, and we are so glad whan the experience is absolutely positive for you too. Hoping to see you in the future, why not, in our other winery in Pantelleria, and we wish you a very good year. Kind regards, Marilena Leta on behalf of the winery
Written August 29, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

aafflyer
Henderson, NV647 contributions
May 2015
You need to make arrangements in advance, but what a great one on one tour and tasting. Hard to find, even with GPS, but worth the trouble.
Written March 3, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review for us. We are happy you did enjoy Marco De Bartoli's experience. We are aware of some issues related to the GPS unable to properly locate the winery, and we are fixing them, but this is one of the main reason why we ask our visitors to talk to us in advance to book a tour and get the most of the information to reach the winery. even without a GPS or a virtual map. We hope to see you again, why not in our second winery on the island of Pantelleria, in the middle of the Mediterranean see. Cheers and regards, Marilena Leta on behalf of the winery
Written March 4, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

shmemma
Prague, Czech Republic21 contributions
Oct 2015
You need to ring up and arrange a tour and wine tasting at this winery. It is out of town a bit so you need your own transport. The winery produces high end and well aged wines - think it is the first time (and probably only) I will have the opportunity to try 25 year old wine!! We had a very informative tour guide (who spoke incredible english) and as we were the only ones on the tour, we were able to ask questions. The tour plus tasting of 6 wines cost 20 euro each. We thought that was a bit much when we first inquired, but it was a private 2 hour tour and tasting of the best wine, so was actually quiet good value. Would recommend this tour for something a bit different to the big wineries here in Marsarla.
Written October 30, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

james05500
Warsaw, Poland70 contributions
Jul 2015 • Family
We visited this lovely place on July the 9th for the tour combined with wine tasting. First impression that came to my mind was that this is very quiet place "in the middle of nowhere" which I really liked:). We were guided by Marilena and there is one thing I have to mention! Marilena's English! The best I have ever heard from Italian person, I still hardly believe she comes from Palermo and not Palm Beach;-)
We were showed a little bit of the winery including the glance into the soil structure, then we went to see how the final stage of their sparkling wine is running and this was cool! Now I know how they do it in Reims:) Afterwards we had a chance to see the cellars with deep explanation from Marilena about the wine making process now and many years ago.
Then we had a chance to taste the wines, we chose the option for 30€ per person (at the end my wife paid less as she quit tasting in certain moment as had to drive back to Plaermo - very nice gesture) and tasted almost all wines from their portfolio. In fact, apart from Marsala, they make fantastic sparkling and table wine made from Grillo and those are worth paying attention at.
Marilena's stories plus Marsala convinced me to this wine and I think I have become the enthusiast of Marsala thanks to the visit which was the aim in fact:) Together with tasting we were served some cheese and bread'n'oil.
Overall experience - 10/10:) One day I will come back there for more advanced Marsalla (and Pantelleria) tasting:)
Written July 17, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Many thanks for your beautiful review Robert. We really appreciated you did enjoy both tour and tasting. It has been a real pleasure to have you, your wife and kids in Samperi and we hope to see you soon whenever you plan to come back to Sicily. Have a nice summer, Marilena Leta for the De Bartoli winery
Written July 20, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Marilena K
Athens, Greece7 contributions
May 2015 • Couples
Our visit to the winery of Marco de Bartoli was an unique experience. We got introduced to the art of making the Marsala wine and we felt like we are invited to a friend's home offering us his best wine. Marilena our guide is an experienced wine sommelier with perfect English and so passionate with what she's doing. We passed two hours in the premises even though they had to close earlier and Marilena answered to all our questions.
Written May 25, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 12
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing