Shore Excursions in Italy
Shore Excursions in Italy
5
City Tours • Sightseeing Tours • Private Tours • Wine Tours & Tastings • Day Trips
Read more
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Monday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Tuesday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Wednesday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Thursday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Friday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Saturday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Sunday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

5.0
29 reviews
Excellent
27
Very good
2
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Shirley A
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
Jul 2018 • Friends
A little piece of heaven. We had a wonderful day with a guide who went the extra mile. I would highly recommend this trip
Written September 10, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks Shirley for your review! Our driver guides always try to do their best to satisfy our Customers! The Cinque Terre area, as you said, is a little piece of heaven so we recommend to visit this beautiful part of Italy! Carlo Shore Excursions in Italy
Written September 18, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

VondeMor
Poulsbo, WA12 contributions
Jul 2018 • Family
We booked private tours in Italy at 3 ports for our family of six, four of whom were teenageers. All the tours very good, they were there waiting when we disembarked, had clean vehicles, very pleasant driver/guides, and took us to see all the things we had talked about when we make the reservations. We loved the freedom of a private tour. Our guides personalities were all good, but Dan our guide for Pisa and Lucca was exceptional. The private tours made our memorable trip even more enjoyable.
Written September 3, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear VondeMor, Thanks so much for your review! Great to know the drivers you had were all good with a special vote for Dan! We are looking forward to meeting you in the future again! Carlo
Written September 4, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jerry M
Denton, TX18 contributions
Jun 2018 • Family
Great response and communication with Monica in setting up our tour. Family of 5 did a private all day tour. Francisco met us as we left the ship in Livorno. Our van was clean, cool & comfortable and off we went to Pisa (for photo op) then to the Medieval city of Volterra (known for it's alabaster), then to the lovely city of San Gimignano. As with any tour the guide can make of break an enjoyable day. Francesco was excellent, very informative and had great inter-action.
We also added a GREAT lunch and wine tasting (bought wine, which was shipped free to U.S...in fact the wine delivery beat us home).
Great tour and tour guide.......highly recommend. We all had a terrific day with
Written July 4, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Jerry, Thanks for your very detailed review! We always talk about our terrific drivers but is nice you also mentioned Monica, our secretary, who does a great job, answering fast to all the e mails and setting up the tours! You visited such a great part of Tuscany and Francesco covered for you an extended area including Pisa, Volterra and San Gimignano (we usually make 2 stops) but in order to satisfy your request, he drove you to 3 towns instead! At home, for sure you will remember the tour with us while drinking your Tuscan wine! See you soon again! Carlo
Written August 1, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sherri S
5 contributions
Jun 2018 • Family
We used this company for all 3 shore excursions in Italy. Each driver was great and provided interesting information. The vans were clean and comfortable. We used their recommendations for the restaurants to have lunch, which turned out to be very good and we got fast service and enjoyed the locations and food. We went to Naples on our first stop. The morning was spent driving the spectacular Almafi Coast and had lunch in Positano. The afternoon was spent touring Pompeii. I recommend getting a tour guide to learn the interesting details and navigate the very large ruins. Be ready for walking on uneven streets. We did not schedule a tour but hired someone on the spot. Civitavecchia was the second stop (that was a very densely scheduled day). We went to the Coliseum first and waited 45 min in the security screening line even though we had prepaid tickets. If you want to speed through a bit faster you could commit to an entry time when buying your tickets and you can get through a faster security line. We only ended up having about 20 minutes inside the coliseum but it was well worth paying to get in. There were numerous other quick stops, lunch, then the Vatican. Be ready for crowds there. You need to buy your tickets 60 days in advance. They will sell out. The Sistine Chapel and the whole museum is amazing but you really need to move quickly as you only get about 2 hours to see it all. There is a dress code. No shorts or skirts above the knee, no bare shoulders. Be sure to go into the basilica after exiting the Sistine Chapel. Our last port stop was Livorno. We got there 8:30 and bought tickets to enter when the leaning tower opened at 9 am, but the other buildings (which are included in the ticket price) didn't open until later so we couldn't get in. We paid so that we could climb the stairs to the top of the tower. The views from up there are great. I didn't mind paying because after all we were all the way there for a once in a lifetime day and I don't regret the expense. You can get tickets in advance if you want. After that we went to Florence for views, a walk around the city (very crowded) and a nice lunch. Our drivers provided tips on where to walk and what to see and were always ready to meet back up with us when we were ready. I recommend getting the driver's phone number just in case you get separated or lost. Each driver got us back to the ship in plenty of time. I especially appreciated Monica who was our email contact person in booking and planning the excursions. She was more than accommodating. She answers many emails and multiple questions and gave me the tips and reassurances I needed. I would 100% use this group again. We are avid fans of booking our own excursions instead of using the cruise ships' excursions. For our family of 4 it ends up costing less and we get our own driver and van and can create the kind of experience we want without being herded into a giant bus. By using a private driver you actually get to the destinations faster and beat some of the crowds.
Written June 20, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Sherry, thanks so much for your nice and detailed review! All the information you provide in addition to our useful tips, are for sure a great help to our new Customers! We wish to see you soon in Italy again! Carlo
Written June 22, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Coach310
Wantagh, NY2 contributions
Jul 2019 • Family
Can’t say enough about how wonderful our tours were. Our family of 4 used them for 3 days while in port. All 3 drivers were on time, professional, and informative. There was no way we could have seen everything that we did, without them. I wouldn’t hesitate to use them again. So much better than an excursion through the cruise ship. We spent a day in Rome, Florence/Pisa, and the Almalfi coast. The drivers took us to all the sights we wanted to see and some we didn’t even know about. They even made lunch reservations for us. It really was the best part of our trip!
Written October 18, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Steve
6 contributions
Aug 2019
We travelled with Celebrity Cruises In July/August 2019 and were going to be in both the ports of Civitavecchia and Livorno. After a lot of research, pre-cruise, we opted to book excursions through Shore Excursions in Italy and we were not disappointed. It is always a leap of faith pre-booking these excursions from over seas but this one paid off.
Also note we had never been to Europe before so we were new to all of this.
Neither of these ports appear to have a bustling port life or easily accessible tourist attractions so drive to shore excursions, especially for those who have never been there before, are the only way to see the main tourists sites.

From the moment we contacted Shore Excursion in Italy they were fantastic. Monica was so prompt, friendly, and very informative. Monica provided detailed itineraries of how our tour days would look. As we only had 1 day in each port, we wanted to take advantage and see as much as we could. Our driver was excellent - Riccardo. (Can't you just hear his R's roll as he says his name??? (: ) Which ended up with a car full of kids and adults trying to sound as great as Riccardo rolling his R's.

Riccardo picked us up right at the cruise port and took care of our group which consisted of 1 senior, 2 adults and 4 children (2 teens and 2 younger). The drive into Rome is a fair way but Riccardo was very informed and was great to provide history and information and answer anyones questions. We pre-purchased all of our tickets to the venues prior to leaving home and Monica was excellent at telling us what entry time we needed to book our tickets for to avoid lines and to stay on schedule. When you do your research on tours, I strongly encourage you to read the fine print. Whether it be through your cruise ship or otherwise. One thing I discovered reading fine print with the cruise ship is their tour buses can not get close to many of these tourist attractions so there is a fair bit of walking, often over cobblestones and uneven ground to get to the venues. This would not have been suitable for the senior in our group who has walking/knee issues. Shore excursions in Italy pick you right up at the cruise terminal and drive smaller mini vans that can get you right close to the venue which cuts down on walking. It also allows you to tour down side streets tour buses would never be able to take you down giving you a real feel for the narrow streets etc. It was amazing to actually be standing in the Colosseum. A mixture of emotions for all the people (and animals) who entered this structure. Very Very little shade so thank goodness it was early am but you definitely need sunhat and glasses and may want an umbrella for extra shade for those who need extra protection. We did the English guided tour and then we had time to tour on our own if we wanted. Shore Excursions in Italy is on a schedule, however, as they want you to make it to all your tourist spots and get back to the cruise ship on time. We saw the Pantheon which was again amazing. We saw the Trevi Fountain (Riccardo practically dropped as off in the fountain he got so close!!). The Spanish steps - which of course you have to walk up!! We opted not to tour the Vatican museums. Everything I read before our trip screamed very crowed and very hot and with 4 kids jammed in a museum it was not our idea of a good time. Another time, another trip. Even though we didn't do the Vatican museums were were in Vatican square and experienced being there. We did however enter St Peters Basilica and it was awe inspiring. Religious or not, Art critic or not. Appreciation could be had. The Basilica was free to enter (yeah) and we timed the line up perfectly so there was very little waiting. Again Riccardo got us right close so we had minimal walking to get to Vatican square. Even the kids appreciated the Basilica I think far more than they would have the Vatican museums.

We also pre-booked Shore Excursions in Italy for our Livorno port - Pisa and Florence. Our driver Frederico (you heard the rolling R's this time didn't you.....now you are trying it.......) was also very good. Really this doesn't appear to be a very bustling port so excursions are your go to for seeing sites. Our family really wanted to the see the Leaning tower of Pisa and personally we were not disappointed. It had been redone fairly recently so it is pristine white. There really isn't much else to see in this town but we were thrilled to experience this wonder. We pre purchased tickets to go up the tower. We did not purchase tickets for the senior in the group with mobility/knee issues and it was a good thing. This climb - on a slant and changing direction with the lean - is not for the faint of heart. Worth the hike to the top though. We also timed it, unintentionally, so that we were in the tower when the bells rang which was another thrill.

Florence was wonderful to experience. Santa Croce Square, The Old Bridge and quite possibly the best gelato you'll ever eat.

To summarize, the drivers met you at the cruise port, they were friendly, courteous, knowledgable and helpful. They dropped you as close to the tourist venues as probably possible. They shared the love of their cities and the history. They recommended local eateries rather than tourist pop ups. The best gelato in the world may just be in Florence!!

So many amazing things to see and experience in Rome and Pisa and Florence. For cruisers with one day in a port, this is an excellent and reliable tour company who will plan your itinerary based on what you want to see and provide links to legitimate websites for ticket pre-purchases for the various tourist venues. (It can get overwhelming trying to decipher legitimate websites vs second hand ticket sales etc.)
Trust their knowledge to get you into places and keep you on schedule and on time.
Don't feel you need to do everything suggested. We didn't pre purchase tickets for the Vatican museum or the Academia museum as we booked according to our families dynamic.

A number of factors had me investigating tours outside of the cruise ship. 1) Given the size of our family, cost is a huge factor. Booking through the cruise ship would have broken us. 2) The cruise ship tour buses can not get you close to the tourist sites so a lot of walking fair distances is involved which was not possible for the senior in our group 2) We wanted to see many different sights not just one or two as this was our first and maybe our only trip to Europe. 3) The small mini vans can take you down the small cobblestone streets for that cultural experience. 4) it was a very personal experience for our small group.

I could go on but you will experience it yourself soon enough!

Book with confidence and enjoy your holiday!
Written October 1, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Munshi133
Ajax, Canada3 contributions
Jul 2018 • Family
The excursion was great. We were picked by Fabio from Naples at the cruise ship terminal. We went to analog first, then Positano, then Sorrento. Fabio took us to a restaurant in Positano with a fantastic view. The restaurant food was great and was reasonably priced. We enjoyed the whole excursion. The only issue was the heat as it was end of July, 2018. But the van was air conditioned.
Written September 10, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks for your review! I'm glad you had a good time with us during your Amalfi Coast Tour! We are looking forward to meeting you soon again! Carlo Shore Excursions in Italy
Written September 18, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Deborah R
Richmond, VA3 contributions
Aug 2018 • Couples
We had a wonderful time!!! My entire group LOVED each tour with Shore Excursions in Italy! Everything worked smoothly on each stop; Pisa/Florence, Rome and the Amalfi Coast! Gabriella gave us a great tour of the Vatican and we were so glad that we added on the Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi coast tour! It was the best of all. Rafael was great and so much fun! Thanks to Monica for all of her help in making this happen! We will definitely recommend Shore Excursions in Italy to our friends.
Written September 10, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks Deb for your detailed review and for recommending us to your friends! Having taken 3 tours at each Livorno, Civitavecchia and Naples ports, you've really seen quite a lot and for sure some of the best parts of Italy! We hope to see you soon again! Carlo Shore Excursions in Italy
Written September 18, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Clarke S
Wilmington, NC9 contributions
Jul 2018 • Family
On a Mediterranean cruise with 3 stops in Italy (Florence, Rome, Naples), we booked with Shore Excursions in Italy about 30 days before departure. Previously, on a similar trip I secured a cab at the port. Booking with Shore Excursions in Italy was absolutely the best thing we could have done. We did not have to plan or think about transportation. They planned an efficient but flexible itinerary that allowed us to see what we wanted to see in a very comfortable van.The drivers were knowledgeable and professional. They took us to great local restaurants for lunch and gelato. And, we made it back to the ship on time.I highly recommend this company.
Written September 10, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks RClarke for your nice review! You did the best thing! Have relied on people who know their territory and with such a short time at disposal, could see without stress, all the most important things, receiving at the same time, historical info and tips where to go and what to do! We wish to see you again to show you other beautiful parts of Italy! Carlo Shore Excursions in Italy
Written September 18, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Climber315463
1 contribution
Aug 2018 • Family
We recently took a 12 day cruise around Italy on HAL. We booked this company for Florence and Rome as the cruise ship's excursions basically made your choose between the Colosseum and the Vatican in Rome and between Pisa and the Accedemia for the Florence Port. A private driver thru the cruise ship was $2k per day. This company was amazing. Monica helped us beforehand in terms of telling us what times we should purchase advance tickets for in order to make the day work given the limited amount of time. Both drivers were right off the boat when we docked watiing for us. They held professional typed signs and were easy to spot immediately. They both had on a coat and tie and their vans were immaculate. (it was very hot so we told them to please take the jacket off) We had Francesco in Florence and John-Carlos in Rome. Both were fantastic!!!!!!! I mean, simply A+++++ Both drivers were a wealth of knowledge which they enthusiastically shared. We all felt like we had met a new friend by the end of the day on both days!!!! Both found restaurants for us and made the day seamless and enterataining. We had my two girls (ages 11 and 13) with us as well as my mother and step-father (76 and 86) and could not have seen the sights with all of us without these guys. They pulled up as close as they could to everything and for the things my parents were not doing with us (climbing the Leaning Tower, going inside the Colosseum) they drove them around to see other sights and came back to get us. Both were amazing days and we felt like we saw everything we possibly could have in the short amount of time we had. Fantastic trip made even better by this company. HIGHLY RECOMMEND. We were a bit nervous not going through the cruise ship as we knew they wouldn't wait for us if something happened but both drivers allowed for plenty of extra time and we were back on the ship with at least an hour if not more to spare. We also felt like if something unexpected happened it would not have been difficult to get from Florence to Rome or from Rome to Napes (the next stop) by the end of the following day so it was worth taking a chance on this company to us. It most definitely paid off and these two days were very much the highlight of our trip!!!!!
Written September 4, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear "Climber315463" , Thanks for your long and very detailed review! I'm happy to read you had an amazing time with us, during your 2 shore excursions from Livorno and Civitavecchia Ports! You're right! The ship private excursions are ridicously expensive, so the only affordable alternative is to book through a private company like ours: you have a personal service having the van and driver at your disposal waiting for you in front of the ship and dropping you off there as well in plenty of time! This is the only way to see everything in the day time at your disposal, shown and explained by our driver guides. We never missed a ship in 20 years but if something unexpected happens on the way, our spare vehicles will keep touring you and drive you back to the ship on time! Thanks again and we are looking forward to meeting you soon again! Carlo
Written September 4, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 29

Shore Excursions in Italy (Civitavecchia) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go