Rockliffe Hotel Spa

Rockliffe Hotel Spa, Hurworth-on-Tees: Address, Phone Number, Rockliffe Hotel Spa Reviews: 4.5/5

Rockliffe Hotel Spa
4.5
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Popular mentions

4.5
488 reviews
Excellent
370
Very good
58
Average
28
Poor
10
Terrible
22

Elaine M
3 contributions
Spa day
Jun 2021 • Friends
My friend and I had a lovely day at the spa , the staff were very friendly and welcoming, the facilities were really relaxing and really clean . I had a really lovely massage off Caitlin and bought the recommended body care range she thought was ideal for me . There was a dark haired lady with curly hair who was at the pool bar near the Spa garden who was really helpful.
However we were not advised when we booked a reservation for lunch prior to our visit that the Brasserie in the Spa building was closed. So we had to get dressed walk nearly half a mile to the Clubhouse and back for lunch and by the time we got back we had lost 2hours of our spa time which did spoil the experience somewhat.
Written June 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Gerry2020
Darlington, UK28 contributions
Excellent Facility
May 2021
We visited the Spa yesterday and were shown round by Ashley, Who if we may say is a credit to the Hotel/Spa.
I need to loose a few pounds (a lot some say) and get my strength back after being under the surgeons knife.
This is a fantastic facility set in lovely surroundings so after our tour we signed up there and then, Will update this review in a few months hopefully a few pounds lighter.
So if you are looking for a place to relax, chill, swim and workout at the same time this is the place for you.
I recommend you pay Ashley a visit and see this facility, you will not be disappointed.
Written May 13, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bharti Glover
Horwich, UK20 contributions
Excellent Customer Service.
Oct 2020
Covid Mention
With the Pandemic bookings changes have had to be accommodated and rescheduled, however this has been managed professionally with care and a particular mention to 'James' who through his professionalism in hospitality gave us the confidence to book into the coming months.

We have been coming to Rockcliffe for a number of years and enjoyed the experience from the Spa to the golf including the Academy, I would thoroughly recommend this venue for a stay on so many levels, especially when the time comes when we want a luxury stay and change of scenery.
Written January 13, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Julie T
Darlington, UK67 contributions
Spa break
Oct 2020 • Couples
Just back from spending a lovely night & day away at Rockliffe Hall. The staff were very attentive and on hand to help with your every need. The suite we stayed in was spacious and the bed was super comfy. We had a meal in the orangery with a wine pairing; food was absolutely delicious, compliments to the chef. The sommelier was knowledgable and took the time to really talk us through the wine choices. The hostess really made you feel welcome and took the time to chat to children of other guests.
We had a spa day whilst we stayed, it was so relaxing; do not be put off visiting because of COVID it is managed extremely well and you literally get everything to yourself so take advantage whilst you can.

We had an amazing time and want to thank the staff for their efforts in keeping people safe but also making it a really lovely stay.

Lyndsey in the wedding team is fantastic; if you are planning a wedding I’d definitely look at Rockliffe Hall.
Written October 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

920sarahm
Stockton-on-Tees, UK3 contributions
Relaxing Massage
Sep 2020 • Solo
Today I had the most amazing back massage followed by an equally amazing facial by a lovely lady called Rachel. I visit many places for these treatments and this is the only place in recent times that I would definitely return to, particularly with Rachel. She is clearly very experienced and knowledgable and goes to great lengths to make sure you are comfortable and that she is applying the correct pressure etc. I will be back to see her again soon! Please don’t leave!
Written September 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Georgiii
1 contribution
A New Beginning Spa Morning
Wow! What an utter disappointment from start to finish!
Breakfast in the Clubhouse: the Clubhouse was full of golfers and was about as far away from luxury as it gets. The food was fine, although we were charged extra for an additional slice of toast! No drinks were included (not the usual glass of champagne etc) and it was a walk through the golf course to reach. Our view eating breakfast was of the golf course, as opposed to the lovely countryside visible from the main restaurant.
The spa: don’t bother! The only thing included was the indoor swimming pool - which was cold and full of kids. You can’t use the outside pool without paying an additional fee. You can’t visit the garden room without paying an additional fee. You may as well just go to your local baths for a fiver!
There is a robe caste system: the more grey your robe, the worse your experience! 😬
The treatments: no complaints there. Massively overpriced though, of course.
Customer service: having voiced our disappointment (when asked by the lady on the spa reception) we were listened to, however nothing was done to improve our experience and the lady seemed all too keen to laugh it off and send us on our merry way.

I think the main problem is that, due to covid, many of the facilities can’t be used. So it seems ludicrous that the ones that can come at any additional fee. Not so much as a complimentary cup of coffee by the pool.

What a joke! £115 very badly spent ☹️
Written September 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear 226GGG Thank you very much for your review As you are fully aware covid restrictions are in place as with all spas in the UK and this was outlined when you booked and confirmed in writing to you. Everything included or not as the case maybe was booked by you, knowing what was included, so Im a little confused what you were expecting. The view of the golf course is the same from the clubhouse or the main house, again, im not sure what you are expecting, 365 acres of parkland.... beautiful. The package does not include champagne. The spa Garden is a separate experience and yes has to be paid for which again is outlined in your confirmation so if you wish to upgrade, you can do this in advance, or on the day if we have availability, but availability is significantly reduced to to social distancing. The pool is at 31 degrees as it always is, the hydrotherapy pool was fully open also which it seems you didn't use. The Hydro therapy pool is 34 degrees. I am sorry we didn't offer anything complimentary, but there was no reason too. The team are working tirelessly now and through lockdown and are working to very strict government guidelines so very sorry your were disappointed I hope this clarifies the facts Wishing you a good weekend ahead
Written September 20, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Graeme
1 contribution
Terrible Customer Service
Sep 2020 • Family
Having had lunch in the clubhouse to celebrate my daughter's birthday we then went to the outside play area - we then came back to the clubhouse and found an empty table outside to then have some coffee and cake for a belated desert. We sat down and a member of staff then came over and said due to some rediculous Covid policy we were not able to sit there. We would have to walk around back around to the front of the clubhouse, to then walk through the clubhouse and then be seated by the staff! Totally ludicrous, as the table we were sat at was free! This doesn't make any sense. A part from the fact that my wife who is 25weeks pregnant was already sat down and would have to make a pointless trip back around the building to then arrive at the same place, we had already spent around £100 on lunch and were existing customers! Is this how you treat your 'valued customers' Rockcliffe Hall, or is this how you treat expecting mothers? Either way you need to revisit your customer service manual. Needless to say we decided to walk around the building back to our car to have coffee and cake elsewhere. It will be a while before we are back. Not 5star service today!
Written September 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Paul R
Darlington, UK8 contributions
Disappointed
Aug 2020 • Friends
Group of 3 went for birthday Afternoon Tea. I have visited venue on several occasions before and although the service has not always lived up to the 5* rating, the food has always made up for this. However on this visit even the food & drink was not up to scratch. We had to ask 3 times for pot of tea to accompany our food - in the end I had to leave the dining area and look for staff. We were not offered a choice of teas (have always been given a menu of these previously) & although we requested Assam if possible, we were told they only had Breakfast tea available due to supply problems. When food arrived we received much less than on previous occasions - I found photos from my last visit in early March to compare. Nobody took the trouble to explain what the sandwiches actually were & when tasted these were quite underwhelming, with stale bread on 2/3 of the options. Received only one fruit scone not the additional cheese one as I have had on 3 previous occasions. No mini quiche either, though we did have a rather dry black pudding sausage roll as replacement. 3 cakes -piece of pistachio sponge, tiny lemon macaron and a mini pale yellow tartlet which may have been lemon or passionfruit, but flavour not strong enough to define! Requested a glass of processeco to accompany tea - received a tiny flute which set us back £10 each. Really, really disappointing experience. Will not be coming back in a hurry and will be encouraging others to go to Wynyard Hall (far superior in every area) for a much better customer experience. Such a shame as grounds and surroundings are lovely. Things could be SO much better.
Written September 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Adrian Howell
County Durham, UK1 contribution
Afternoon tea
Aug 2020 • Couples
Just had afternoon tea, the four sandwiches were no bigger than an inch long the cakes were the smallest I’ve ever seen worst £59 pound I’ve ever spent and would advise anyone not to and waist money Disgraceful.
Written August 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Renee
9 contributions
Review update
Apr 2020
Upon previously writing a review about the disappointing food service I was emailed by customer service and 'bribed' into coming back if I was to delete my review, of which I then received a rude email response from Rockcliffe. Such a shame as their spa and hotel is lovely.
Written July 22, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 487
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing