Quails' Gate Winery
Quails' Gate Winery
4.5
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
As one of Canada’s foremost family-owned estate wineries, Quails’ Gate has shaped the development of the wine industry for more than six decades. We believe great wines begin in the vineyards. Through our passion for grapegrowing and our dedication to excellence, we have cultivated a reputation for delivering exceptional wines that pair perfectly anytime, anywhere. Wine, dine and stay! The Quails' Gate Estate includes a tasting room with sweeping views of Okanagan Lake. While you're here, why not take a tour of the property and learn how we produce our award-winning wines? Old Vines Restaurant is one of the top restaurants in Canada, featuring locally sourced farm-to-table cuisine. With two lakefront homes available for your holiday getaway, immerse yourself in luxury - and the Quails' Gate experience.
Duration: 2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
See what travelers are saying
  • OKfamilyof4
    Kelowna, Canada88 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Excellent Winery with great food, wine and ambiance! Don’t miss this one!
    I’ve been to Quails Gate Winery several times now and each time I’ve had a different experience. This is because this winery has several different parts to it. One of the best meals I’ve had in Kelowna was here several years ago. The restaurant is fabulous with unforgettable views of the vineyards and Okanagan Lake. I highly recommend making reservations at least three weeks in advance because it books up quickly! If you don’t get a reservation, you can pop into their Market Store (located on the north side of the buildings). There, they sell cooled bottles or wine, a variety of cheeses, crackers, a small selection of dessert items, and meats. Just ask for some wine cups, grab a picnic table under their trees, crack open your wine and just enjoy. On this trip, we did a tour. Kailia (sorry if I spelled your name wrong) showed us the vines and explained harvesting, pruning, the composition of the different grapes, and much more. We sampled a variety of wines (all excellent) as we walked through a small part of the vineyard. Once at the lookout area, we took more pictures of the views and then returned to the wine tasting area to sample their Pino Noir. Kailia was very knowledgeable and a great host. Thank you!
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written May 22, 2023
  • travelingsisters29
    58 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Absolutely georgeous
    Beautiful winery with amazing views. Wine were good. We went there 4 adults 4 children. Did the tasting down the pergola. The kids could move while we were tasting. Views were great. We didn’t experience the restaurant but had lunch at the market and was also beautiful and relaxing. Nothing but good things to say about this winery!
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written July 21, 2023
  • doug z
    Mackenzie, Canada1,119 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Beautiful grounds and facilities
    Very nice grounds and very posh decor inside and out. No one accosted us as we wandered the grounds and took photos. I bought a bottle of Meritage wine (good it was only the bottle as cheaper at the liquor store of course). I tried it back at the hotel, it was very good. Everyone was very friendly. We sat in the seating area outside the 'Market' deli with our chai lattes, we weren't very hungry.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written July 21, 2023
  • Hope M
    7 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Beautiful winery to visit
    The location of this winery make it worth visiting. The grounds are lovely and the gardens are beautifully manicured. There are flowing fountains in the outdoor gardens, and pathways to visit the vineyards. The actual wine tasting was nice on their patio, with beautiful lake views.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written August 2, 2023
  • MacFamily7777
    Calgary, Canada174 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Beautiful grounds
    This winery was one of the stops on our wine tasting tour. We did the tasting on their patio which had a beautiful view of the lake. There are many manicured gardens, and fountains and pathways that you can walk around to visit the property in the vineyards which was lovely.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written August 5, 2023
  • servicecomesfirst
    Ottawa, Canada171 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Wonderful lunch in a lovely setting
    While staying in West Kelowna, the locals highly recommended a visit to Quails’ Gate. The restaurant is situated beside the vineyard where you can almost reach out and touch the vines. We had a great lunch. The highlight for me was the mixed berry and beet salad. My wife really enjoyed her curried lentil soup. Our entrees were good too: risotto topped with salmon and herbed crusted halibut. Make sure you have bread with your meal! Our server, Joel, was excellent.
    Visited September 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written September 26, 2023
  • Cmidd2014
    Ottawa, Canada29 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Lunch with a beautiful view!
    Had a great lunch between friends! It’s a stunning setting and they serve truly amazing food! Wine was excellent. It was a wonderful discovery for our first visit to Kelowna… We will be back next time we are in town! It worth a try.
    Visited October 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written October 30, 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,158 reviews
Excellent
742
Very good
269
Average
80
Poor
33
Terrible
34

Nanaimo bound
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020
The restaurant server freaked out when we tried to move our table six inches to get under the cover from the rain (tables were far a part). The Halibut meal was the size of an appetizer for $38. On the other hand, the tasting room was a Gong show. We lined up outside at the appointed time with 4 other groups. No one came outside to speak with us. We eventually asked the group in front of us to let us in so we could talk to someone. Once inside, the set up is not acceptable. The line up for the cash register goes horizontally through the room. In order to get to the tasting bar (at the back of the room), you have to go in between people who are in the cash register line up. The bartender was wearing his mask around his neck. All he did was say the name of the wine, pour it, then served the young/cute ladies in the next group. He forgot to give us our last pick. He never gave any information about what we were drinking.
Written July 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Odyssey29133359970, Thank you for sharing your feedback. Please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced during your visit. Our team are working hard to insure our guests are provided the safest environment as possible during this pandemic. Quails' Gate has a COVID-19 safety plan in place but guests can expect longer delays than usual due to the extremely heavy traffic of guests to the winery at this time of year. As more staff become available to work we are confident we will be able speed up the processes and reduce the sometimes long waits for tastings, etc. Your feedback is important to us here at Quails' Gate. All comments and suggestions are shared with the management team to help us identify opportunities to improve our products and services. We truly appreciate you choosing to visit our winery and only hope we have the opportunity to renew your confidence in our services in the future. Sincerely, Michael
Written July 21, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ida V.
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 • Couples
Extremely disappointed in this winery. This is a top notch winery (usually) but as soon as we wanted to eat at the restaurant (after I’ve purchased multiple bottles of wine) we were treated extremely poorly. The hostess told us that we cannot be served (me and my boyfriend and this is his first winery tour) between the hours of 2 and 5. Apparently the winery doesn’t serve food between 3-5 to “make it easier on servers”.

1. I used to sever and servers don’t need a “turn around time” to make their lives easier. This is complete BS.

2. The server told us we cannot be served from 3-5 without a reservation. So I said “I respect that, are you completely booked for the entire two hours?” And she said no. So I said “okay then I will go online and book a table” and she said “no you’re actually not allowed to do that” and I asked why if you’re only taking resos between 3-5? And she said because that’s how it is.

We left pissed off and hungry. It is extremely unacceptable for paying customers to be treated this way. Without a good enough reason!
Written August 7, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Art A
Vancouver, Canada203 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020
We were at many wineries in Okanagan. “Quails Gate Winery” - is a big name, and we have booked our tasting . What a disappointment! Winery is very nice. Amazing views, without smoke of course. But wines and and tasting are below expectations big time. They products are on the very bottom of our list after about 20 wineries visited within several years. Why is it so smoky? It is a question about wine $94 per bottle. Answer : because it is a smoke here from USA..... they charged $46 for tasting per two with no waiving a fee with purchase. They give you $10 per person discount. I don’t mind to pay. But the wines we bought are the worst ones we ever tasted including Canada, USA, Spain, Italy, France . Years of experience. It is my honest opinion, nothing personal. Look around and and you will find much better options within 5 min drive, with no smoky tasting:)
Written September 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Art A, We are sorry to here that you did not enjoy your wine experience during your recent visit. We recognize that a wine experience is unique to every individual and we never take the likes and dislikes of our guests personally. Our vineyard and wine making teams work hard and take pride in creating wines from some of the highest quality fruit in the valley. Quails' Gate offers over 24 different wines to our customers and only hope that our guests will find at least one to their liking. We truly appreciate you choosing to try our wines here at the estate. Each year Mother Nature presents a new canvas for us to create new wines. 2020 is looking to be a wonderful harvest and is surely going to make some great wines. We sincerely hope we have the opportunity to share these with you in the future. Michael
Written October 4, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Marty911
Palm Desert, CA1,056 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020
We booked for wine tasting. We have not been to the Okanagan for wine tasting for some years as we spend more time enjoying Napa wines. We booked for the better wine tasting. For Covid the tastings are by reservation only. We brought our dog who was welcomed with us on the patio. The patio looks over the Lake Okanagan so it was a million dollar view. We enjoyed a very nice fleet of Quails Gate chardonnays with a range of styles. We bought several bottles that we enjoyed. The tasty wines reminded us of how good these wines are. It was a very good time. Since we had our dog we did not go to the restaurant but remember that being a very good experience as well.
Written July 27, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Marty911, We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent experience at Quails' Gate winery. Thank you for allowing us to share our wines with you and are delighted that you enjoyed them. We look forward to welcome you back at the estate in the near future. Sincerely, Michael
Written October 4, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JayC
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2020 • Couples
On my birthday weekend, my husband and I decided to start the wine tour in Kelowna here. We forgot to make a reservation but Jen the supervisors worked her magic and found us a spot with Yannick. We were treated wonderfully and Yannick even served us in our mother tongue which was a lovely treat. This winery is held very high in our regard and will be a mainstay in our futur special occasions. A big thank you to Jen and Yannick for your professionalism, knowledge and kindness.
Written June 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Jcad_9, Thank you so much for the great review. We will be sure to share your comments with the tasting room team. We are fortunate to have staff like Anthony and Jenn who really do care and enjoy what they do. Thank you so much for visiting us and we look forward to welcoming you back son. Sincerely, Michael
Written July 1, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

OKfamilyof4
Kelowna, Canada88 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2023 • Friends
I’ve been to Quails Gate Winery several times now and each time I’ve had a different experience. This is because this winery has several different parts to it. One of the best meals I’ve had in Kelowna was here several years ago. The restaurant is fabulous with unforgettable views of the vineyards and Okanagan Lake. I highly recommend making reservations at least three weeks in advance because it books up quickly! If you don’t get a reservation, you can pop into their Market Store (located on the north side of the buildings). There, they sell cooled bottles or wine, a variety of cheeses, crackers, a small selection of dessert items, and meats. Just ask for some wine cups, grab a picnic table under their trees, crack open your wine and just enjoy. On this trip, we did a tour. Kailia (sorry if I spelled your name wrong) showed us the vines and explained harvesting, pruning, the composition of the different grapes, and much more. We sampled a variety of wines (all excellent) as we walked through a small part of the vineyard. Once at the lookout area, we took more pictures of the views and then returned to the wine tasting area to sample their Pino Noir. Kailia was very knowledgeable and a great host. Thank you!
Written May 22, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

RidgeTravellers
Maple Ridge, BC, Canada190 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2022 • Couples
We've been going to this winery for about 25 years, always a must when we are in the area. This is our first visit back since the pandemic. The winery is as beautiful as always and the wines are wonderful. I've always given it a 5 but changes in the way they do things now has lost them 1 star.
We had to pay for our tasting prior to tasting. We picked the minimum package of $15 for 4 tastes plus tax. This is no longer waived if you purchase. We went to many wineries in our 5 days in Kelowna and this was the only winery to do so. All others were paid or waived at the end of the tasting. While we did enjoy our tastings we were both annoyed with this change. We basically spent a bottle of wine to taste without receiving one. Wine tastings are a way to try before you purchase and it's good business to waive the fee when purchases are made. We don't agree with this practice. We will still enjoy the occasional bottle of Quails Gate but we certainly did not purchase the amount we usually do because we were annoyed.
Written September 21, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Fatima Naqvi
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 • Friends
We booked a wine tasting at Quails Gate and were very lucky to have Anthony Chalmers, Senior Wine Educator as our host. He really took his time with us, he is extremely knowledgable which made the experience that much better!

Anothny paid attention to our individual preferences and got creative with the tasting, he was incredibly friendly and passionate about wine. I would highly recommend this experience.

The property is wonderful, you can roam the vineyard, have a meal and the restaurant or wonder the market for a grab and go snack.
Written July 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Fatima-Naq, We are so excited to hear that you had a wonderful experience in the tasting room at Quails' Gate. We are fortunate to have many people like Anthony working with us who truly love what they do and care about our guests. We thank you for choosing to visit us here at Quails' Gate and hope to welcome you and your guests back soon. Sincerely, Michael
Written July 21, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lynne H
Kelowna, Canada163 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021
We booked our tasting in advance and were pleasantly surprised with a private tasting in the back room. The views are absolutely spectacular. The server was very friendly and knowledgeable of the wines. We decided to add on the ice wine. They had an issue with the card reader so they ended up giving it to us for free. The staff were very helpful getting the wines we wanted to buy. They offered us a choice between a bag that held 6 or the standard case to carry our wine. Overall great service and great wines.
Written July 13, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Savannah N
Brisbane, Australia4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 • Friends
Went and had a tasting with Anthony C and he MADE the experience. His knowledge of the wines and even his wit made us laugh. He made us feel welcome and you could tell he loved his job and talking to everyone he met.

We also had a cheese board at the restaurant in the afternoon and Matt was a wonderful waiter. He told us about his experiences from when in traveller Australia and New Zealand (where my friend and I are from) and made us feel at home. He even cheekily gave us a few more taste testers.

It was overall and amazing experience and can’t wait to return to Quails Gate. I will most definitely pass on my reviews to anyone that travels through the Okanagan and Kelowna.
Written July 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear 196savannahn, We are delighted to hear that you had a great experience at both Old Vines Restaurant and our tasting room. I am starting to sound like a broken record here but it is our staff who really do make our guests experience truly special and we have some of the best in the business working with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, Michael
Written July 21, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,107
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Quails' Gate Winery - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

Frequently Asked Questions about Quails' Gate Winery




Quails' Gate Winery Information

Excellent Reviews

742

Very Good Reviews

269

Quails' Gate Winery Photos

529