We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Base de Pop

103 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Base de Pop

103 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Google
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Guiche
from $84.07
More Info
from $221.57
More Info
from $72.06
More Info
103Reviews8Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 73
  • 22
  • 4
  • 2
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rita wrote a review Sep 2020
Province of Livorno, Italy2 contributions
Almost impossible to reach the park. Virtually no road signs. Due to age limit we were not able to enter, but the manager was very unhelpful and rude. I don't recommend it, there are other much nicer water parks in the area.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucien S, Responsable relations clients at Base de Pop
Responded Sep 8, 2020
Thank you for your comment. Sorry you haven't seen the several big signs on the road, maybe you should use a "helping find your way" app on your cell phone, like google maps for example. For safety reasons, we cannot alowed small kids whom can't swim use the water activities, there is an average 8m depht where the water games are. The French law is very specific on this matter: if you cannot swim you cannot jump in a 8m deep lake. I hope that you and your kids still enjoyed the free access to the beach and the supervised swimming area. We apologize that you found rude the manager's behaviour. I'm sure yours was very apropriate.
Read more
Iñigo A wrote a review Aug 2019
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain87 contributions25 helpful votes
The park is lots of fun, basically main attraction are the 3 levels of slides, from lower to the highest. You can throw yourself either with nothing or bodyboard, or even surfboard in the lowest. Helmet is mandatory and provided by the staff. There is another area consisting of inflatable attractions which is also fun, and a zipliner where you can jump from into the lake. You can also go by yourself just to the lake as it is a public site, you just pay for the attractions NOT the entrance. The lace itself has a bar and grass where you can lay on. The staff was friendly, despite a couple lazy asses who were bored of visitors i guess. Safety is taken care of with helmets, water vests and other things, also, lifeguards are everywhere. The place is great fun, but if you want my tip ask for the neoprene so you avoid the burn marks of the slides. Keep it mind you will jump many many times. Also, careful when doing tricks on the jumps, my friends who failed the landing ended up with HUGE bruces, like half the leg or chest all purple. Finally, even if its great fun, i find it quite expensive. Tariffs are made so you pick the whole day thing with the 2 attractions (slides & inflatables) so the best value for money is the whole day entrance of.... 35€, which for me is a bit crazy, but thats up to you. PS: Bring your own food and drinks! It is allowed and it will save you money if you pass the whole day as you can imagine th bar is also expensive. Dont forget sunscreen if its too sunny as the only shades are the ones of the bar terrace. Have fun!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucien S, Directeur général at Base de Pop
Responded Aug 6, 2020
Thank you, see you. For the prices I let you compare with the other water park around.
Read more
siobhan7116 wrote a review Jun 2019
6 contributions
Our 2 girls aged 11 and 14 loved this. There are slides and slides with ski jumps off the end. There is a inflatable part, with some smaller slides. You can do both parts or just slides or inflatables. There is also a zipline into the water and a 3.8 m platform to jump off. My 11 year old did these. There are toilets, change rooms but no showers . There is a cafe but we didn't try the food as we didn't have time. The staff were friendly and spoke good English. Didnt open until the afternoon of 1st of June which was a shame as that was the day we left. There is not much shade but you can hire an umbrella.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Dave S wrote a review Jul 2017
Camberley, United Kingdom82 contributions32 helpful votes
We have been here the last two times we have stayed in Biarritz, and wouldn't miss it for the world. Not seen anything like it in the UK, mixture of ski slope type slides into water, inflatable obstacle course, zip wires and high jumps. Let me warn you, the ski slopes which thrust you skywards before dumping you in the lake are fast and scary as hell. Expect to go about 30 foot up before crashing into the water. At my age (53) I had a sensible level of caution, but my 12 year old son was happy with the fastest highest thing he could get on....great fun. The inflatable area is more pedestrian but also good fun....try the zip wire and the 'cliff' jump off the platform, will get the adrenaline going. It's a bit tucked away about 40 minutes from Biarritz town.....but worth a trip, particularly with early teenage kids.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2017
Helpful
Share
Chris M wrote a review Aug 2016
Oakley, United Kingdom17 contributions7 helpful votes
If you're in SW France, a visit to Base de pop is an absolute must. Ski style water slides of varying speed and height, inflatable obstacle park, paddle board hire, etc. A fantastic day out whatever the weather (you're going to get wet anyway). I just wish I was braver to go for the high jumps.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2016
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
Frequently Asked Questions about Base de Pop