We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jack Sevens - CLOSED

Review Highlights
Saturday trip out

Coffee nice and massive cups! Happy for dog to come in and provided water for him. Service a little... read more

Reviewed May 12, 2018
Sara H
,
Cheshire
via mobile
Lunchbreak visit

Went with a colleague. TBH finding it hard to rate. The food is superb. The venue is quirky with... read more

Reviewed April 5, 2018
rachelbR8234NM
via mobile
Read all 96 reviews
12
All photos (12)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good28%
  • Average8%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“cakes”(9 reviews)
“type of place”(2 reviews)
About
A hidden gem down a small ginnell just off Chestergate in Macclesfield (next to Bank Clothing). Jack Sevens Cafe & Gallery (a re-furbished two storey silk mill) displays regular shows of contemporary art works from local and international artist. In...more
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
23A Chestergate, Macclesfield SK11 6BX, England
Website
+44 1625 403925
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
48
27
8
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
48
27
8
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes an art gallery type of place cute place coffee shop treacle menu tea cafe dishes
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 96 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2018

I take into account that some people rate the food, hence 2 stars. For my personal experience today - 1 star. I never got to try the food! Maybe the first five minutes were my fault? Sitting outside with our dog, no sign of service....More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank AlanJC-1957
Woolpackcottage, Owner at Jack Sevens, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2018

Hi there...we are incredibly busy at lunchtime (and this is peak holiday time) - sounds like your drinks were there in 5 mins....and because we freshly prepare our food at busier times there will be a wait. I am afraid we can't take responsibility for...More

Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

Coffee nice and massive cups! Happy for dog to come in and provided water for him. Service a little slow but staff friendly and gave us our lunch in a takeaway box as we needed to leave.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Sara H
Reviewed April 15, 2018

This is exactly the place Macclesfield needed, and it's in such a cute place you wouldn't know it was there which makes it feel like a best kept secret. Very tasty and well priced food.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank lgcr94
Woolpackcottage, Owner at Jack Sevens, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Thank you for your kind review...jack sevens cafe & Gallery

Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

Went with a colleague. TBH finding it hard to rate. The food is superb. The venue is quirky with arts and sculptures in each room. The layout is slightly odd, you go through, what feels like the back of the cafe to get to the...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank rachelbR8234NM
Woolpackcottage, Owner at Jack Sevens, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Thank you for your review, we are glad you think the food is superb. The cafe is slightly unusual in design...but glad you appreciated the art and sculptures. All food is freshly prepared (we are not a chain) which is probably why you thought it...More

Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Lunch with family members ... Service abysmal in view of the fact the place wasn’t busy. We couldn’t order a breakfast because they were too busy???? Very strange. Had to go look for staff after 20 minutes wait for coffees etc which eventually turned up...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank keh75
Woolpackcottage, Owner at Jack Sevens, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Thank you for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed the food and drinks. Our cafe is slightly unusual in that there are several eating areas, therefore sometimes in one area it may appear we are not busy...whilst several customers are in others. All...More

Reviewed March 14, 2018 via mobile

This is most certainly a tale of two halves - the coffee, cakes & food are wonderful as are the younger members of staff, their attitude and attention to detail is impeccable!!!!! However this is let down rather dramatically by the outrageously poor customer service...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Kazboz
buddricho, Manager at Jack Sevens, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

We are at a complete loss has to what your complaint is?? you do not explain this but give a rating of one star?? The manager and staff are never rude to customers ...maybe you were having a bad day?

Reviewed February 14, 2018 via mobile

I was very impressed with the brunch myself and my partner had today; when u asked about what dishes were dairy and gluten free staff were able to advise me and even offered to make a new dish up for me which was great. In...More

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Starchick82
Woolpackcottage, Owner at Jack Sevens, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2018

Thank you for your kind review - we look forward to seeing you in the future...we are hoping to be able to offer wine from summer onwards. Jack Sevens Cafe & Gallery

Reviewed November 27, 2017

Visited the Treacle fair and nowhere was open, our grandson needed a sit down and a drink, we spotted the cafe setting up and asked if they were open.....although they weren't really, a very pleasant man welcomed us in and provided drinks all round.....bless him....More

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Jan S
Woolpackcottage, Owner at Jack Sevens, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review...David n Chris @ Jack Sevens Cafe & Gallery

Reviewed November 26, 2017 via mobile

Today a male staff was so rude and made us wait for so long, we simply walked out after 30mins of waiting. He was turning away customers due to 'lack of space' although there was obviously free space. Clearly unable to cater for more than...More

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Joanna Amelie Y
Woolpackcottage, Owner at Jack Sevens, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

This is a very unfair review....this is a particular busy day...and we have over eighty covers in the cafe all of which were full...we serve upstairs...we serve a wide range of freshly cooked hot food (not just coffee and cake) - the member of staff...More

Reviewed October 24, 2017 via mobile

A group of up popped in on our lunch hour, the place wasn’t too busy but the service was slow and they brought the wrong order out for me. So I had to wait 15 minutes and then eat when everyone had finished, nothing was...More

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Honeypop21
buddricho, Owner at Jack Sevens, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Hi thank you so much for taking the time for your review - sorry if you though the food was slow - we freshly prepare and cook our food (so if you want fast food maybe go to a chain) - we are a small...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 nearby hotels
Travelodge Macclesfield Central
481 reviews
.31 miles away
Chadwick House Hotel
83 reviews
.33 miles away
Premier Inn Macclesfield South West Hotel
327 reviews
1.23 miles away
Premier Inn Macclesfield North Hotel
551 reviews
1.68 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 227 nearby restaurants
Aristo
305 reviews
.05 miles away
Rustic Coffee Co
398 reviews
.11 miles away
Chestergate Bistro
544 reviews
.09 miles away
Aquila
319 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 67 nearby attractions
Granelli's
31 reviews
.32 miles away
West Park Museum
34 reviews
.30 miles away
Macclesfield Visitor Information Centre
48 reviews
.14 miles away
St Michael & All Angels Church
25 reviews
.26 miles away