We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stirling Ghost Walk

St John's Street, Stirling FK8 1EA, Scotland
+44 1592 874449
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great tour

The actor who conducts the tours is excellent - full of stories and histories. He seems to adapt... read more

Reviewed September 23, 2017
mcateesphar13
,
Sacramento, California
Great Fun!

If you are going to do anything in Stirling do this! It's serious craic. Wear comfortable shoes and... read more

Reviewed September 19, 2017
Michelle M
,
Newry, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 275 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
The Stirling Ghost Walk - now nearing it's twenty-fifth year - is a guided dramatic guided tour of Stirling's historic Old Town, using comedy and drama to recount frightful tales from the history and folklore of the area. Tours run at 8.30pm, Tuesday-to-Saturday in July and August, each year, and at 8pm on Fridays and Saturdays from September-to-June - all tours meeting at the gates of the Old Town Jail / SYHA Hostel in St John Street, Stirling. Private bookings are available throughout the year - and a 10% discount offered to patrons of local hotels, hostels and B&Bs.Visit our website or Facebook for details and updates.
  • Excellent92%
  • Very good5%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“jock rankin” (18 reviews)
“david kinnaird” (12 reviews)
LOCATION
St John's Street, Stirling FK8 1EA, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
+44 1592 874449
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 264 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2017

The actor who conducts the tours is excellent - full of stories and histories. He seems to adapt to meet the crowd, adjusting for younger or older. We had a great time and learned some things too!More

Thank mcateesphar13
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2017

Thanks for the kind words. After nearly thirty years we have so many tales it's easy to adapt the 'Walk to audiences of all ages and backgrounds...and if we can throw a few bits of local history in between the chills and the chuckles, so...More

Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile

If you are going to do anything in Stirling do this! It's serious craic. Wear comfortable shoes and dress for the weather. We're sorry we missed the history tour but plan on doing it next time. Don't let the cranky Hangman fool you he really...More

Thank Michelle M
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

As Shakespeare said, Michelle, 'the Prince of Darkness is a Gentleman'! Glad you enjoyed your experience. The Old Town Tour (led by The Hangman, in his mortal guise of actor and historian David Kinnaird) runs at weekends from May to September. Details can be found...More

Reviewed September 11, 2017

I was spellbound by the stories the Happy Hangman spun. He was so good, he sent shivers down my spine. The spooky atmosphere in the graveyard made everything seem much more real. David Kinnaird is thoroughly entertaining, well versed and great at interacting with his...More

Thank jmacsport
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Thank you, J. To be honest, we ARE rather spoiled for stories and curious historical characters in Stirling - even after 28 years we're finding new tales. Glad you had a positive experience!

Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

After visiting the Stirling Jail and having a brilliant time there, a member of staff reccomended the ghost walk to us and we are sooooo glad we went. This was such a memorible expiriance. We loved every single minute of this brilliant tour. The actor...More

Thank Dafydd C
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Thanks, Dafydd. So many ghost tours try so hard to be grim and grotesque that they forget that chuckles can be just as satisfying as chills. I hope you enjoy the books - the author's royalty goes to support a local childrens' cancer charity.

Reviewed September 4, 2017

The tour guide got really into it and his stories are so funny and entertaining. He was so nice and even gave us a discount on an already underpriced experience. I would pay double the price for a tour of this caliber, we had an...More

1  Thank Megan L
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Thank you, Megan. We try to keep our prices low to encourage audiences to participate in live entertainments.

Reviewed September 2, 2017

Jock was full of stories and passion for the tour. Definitely worth a visit. He has well polished facts and good banter with the group.

Thank N8_G
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2017

Thank you, N8. A good audience creates the atmosphere for a good show...so The Happy Hangman has to share the credit!

Reviewed August 30, 2017

The host was really great a interesting, fun atmosphere to the tour. He had the whole group in stitches, and really did have me interested in the history of the city of Stirling. Was certainly pleasant to have a interactive experience away from technology for...More

Thank Arrin M
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

It's safe to say that The Hangman is low-tech! Glad you enjoyed the experience, Arrin.

Reviewed August 26, 2017

What a great way to get to know the darker stories in Stirling's history! Tales of ghosts and ancient crimes, dramatically delivered by the dynamic, talented host (an alum of Stirling's own university) in the old graveyard overlooking Stirling Castle. This was definitely one of...More

Thank hastingsmom
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2017

Thanks, Hastingsmom! I'm glad The Hangman could add to your enjoyment of Stirling.

Reviewed August 25, 2017

This was brilliant--our ghost host lead us through the graveyard with tales both spooky and funny. An absolute delight.

Thank Adriana-Ashwin
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2017

Many thanks, Adriana. I'm glad we could add to your appreciation of the Old Town.

Reviewed August 25, 2017

We happened to see a pamphlet for the ghostwalk at our hotel and had some time available and thought, why not? We were surprised to find this one of the highlights of our trip. Facts: You can drop in to the tour without pre-booking. The...More

Thank spike256
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2017

Thanks, Spike. Glad you enjoyed the show. We never cancel for rain...or wind...or snow. If the audience is good humoured and ready to begin, then The Hangman is happy to proceed!

Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Hermann's
577 reviews
.03 miles away
The Smithy
210 reviews
.11 miles away
Darnley Coffee House
236 reviews
.07 miles away
Green Gates Indian Restaurant
873 reviews
.22 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Stirling Castle
6,712 reviews
.25 miles away
The Old Town Jail
305 reviews
.04 miles away
Church of the Holy Rude
320 reviews
.09 miles away
Argyll's Lodging
266 reviews
.07 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Melanie M
June 9, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from David K | Property representative |
£6 for adults, £4 for Kids, Students or Seniors
0
Votes
allison f
August 31, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from David K | Property representative |
We start at the gates of the Old Town Jail, St John Street, Stirling (next to the SYHA Youth Hostel), at 8pm on Fridays and Saturdays - tickets available from 7.45pm. Booking in advance is usually unnecessary - except for... More
2
Votes
Jake H
September 17, 2015|
Answer
Response from David K | Property representative |
Hello, Jacob - I think I've already responded to your e-mails. TripAdvisor takes a day or so to flag PMs like this one. Just wantewd you to know I wasn't ignoring the message.
0
Votes