We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stirling Castle

Closed Now: 9:30 AM - 4:15 PM
Open today: 9:30 AM - 4:15 PM
ADMISSION TICKETS (1)
Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket
From $19.72*
ADMISSION TICKETS (1)
Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket
From $19.72*
BOOK A TOUR
7,154
All photos (7,154)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good26%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“guided tour”(413 reviews)
“stirling heads”(125 reviews)
“unicorn cafe”(94 reviews)
About
Dominating the skyline for miles around, Stirling Castle is a shining example of Renaissance architecture. Visitors can look out from its high stone walls to the battlefields of Stirling Bridge where great medieval armies clashed to decide the fate...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:30 AM - 4:15 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: < 1 hour
Contact
Castle Esplanade | Upper Castle Hill, Old Town, Stirling FK8 1EJ, Scotland
Website
+44 1786 450000
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Stirling Castle
from $19.72
More Info
from $46.01
More Info
from $47.33
More Info
from $51.27
More Info
Reviews (8,107)
Filter reviews
6,372 results
Traveler rating
4,277
1,574
350
108
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
4,277
1,574
350
108
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour stirling heads unicorn cafe royal apartments unicorn tapestries free tour period costume regimental museum scottish history mary queen of scots argyll and sutherland highlanders explorer pass the kitchen car park surrounding countryside great history stunning views
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 6,372 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

car got clamped in the car park and was forced to pay a large fine by the car park attendant. he was rude about it and smirking.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Hungry-Scamp
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We enjoyed our visit to Stirling Castle. The grounds were nice. And it wasn't insanely crowded like Edinburgh Castle. The Unicorn Tapestry exhibit was really interesting. We did some shopping and had a bite in the Unicorn Cafe. I would definitely recommend a stop here.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank compton49er
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Spent a few hours walking around Stirling castle, it’s very interesting. Lots of information boards to explain things to you, staff were very friendly and were seen around the castle, either doing tours or just buzzing about.. we got in for half price being members...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank donnamclean565
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We stopped in here on our way back from a night in Perth. There was ample parking and the staff were all friendly when getting our tickets sorted. We opted just to wander instead of the guided tour and found that everything we needed to...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank KCub28
Reviewed 2 days ago

Throughly enjoyed this experience! £15 entry includes a tour around, and you shouldn't miss it! Our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. This castle is beautiful and is so relevant to Scotland's history... From Mary Queen of Scots, James Wallace and Robert the Bruce...

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank NinaManchester123
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Out with family and everybody enjoyed this wonderful historical place . Love the facts . The castle is amazing.Worth a trip . Must visit !

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank bdineb
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This is a interesting castle. The views of the top is absolutely amazing. It’s very old inside too. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Bibcay
Reviewed 4 days ago

I joined one of the tours and I highly recommend doing that on your visit as well. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and funny as well and told us a lot about the stunning history of Stirling Castle. It took around 45-60min. There are...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Martina1888
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Went with my 2 sons. One had learning support needs. The staff were all very helpful, polite and friendly. The tour guides were well informed. The ticket kiosk staff were very helpful and suggested how I could save a few pounds because of my son’s...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank wilsonm64
Reviewed 5 days ago

We used the explorers pass to visit Sterling Castle, and it was great! Explorers pass is 25 pounds per person during the low season, and will give you access to about 40ish castles & other places around Scotland. This includes Edinburgh Castle, so if you...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank monkeystephanie
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 nearby hotels
The Portcullis Hotel
216 reviews
.06 miles away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2,385 reviews
.29 miles away
Travelodge Stirling City Centre
187 reviews
.29 miles away
Hotel Colessio
951 reviews
.31 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 254 nearby restaurants
The Smithy
303 reviews
.12 miles away
Darnley Coffee House
305 reviews
.20 miles away
Green Gates Indian Restaurant
1,095 reviews
.25 miles away
Hermann's
664 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 139 nearby attractions
The Old Town Jail
412 reviews
.19 miles away
Argyll Sutherland Highlanders Regimental Museum
240 reviews
.19 miles away
Church of the Holy Rude
384 reviews
.14 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Alyson D
October 7, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Jetset124 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, you need cash. There is plenty of parking, but arrive early to avoid crowds
0
Votes
SoraLochiel
October 1, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Barclay W |
This post is politically motivated because Nationalist independence supporters weren’t allowed to gather on the castle esplanade as per HES regulations.
3
Votes