We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stirling Castle

Closed Now: 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Open today: 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
ADMISSION TICKETS (1)
Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket
From $19.32*
ADMISSION TICKETS (1)
Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket
From $19.32*
BOOK A TOUR
6,916
All photos (6,916)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good26%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“guided tour”(410 reviews)
“unicorn cafe”(91 reviews)
“stirling heads”(119 reviews)
About
Dominating the skyline for miles around, Stirling Castle is a shining example of Renaissance architecture. Visitors can look out from its high stone walls to the battlefields of Stirling Bridge where great medieval armies clashed to decide the fate...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
| Upper Castle Hill, Old Town, Stirling FK8 1EJ, Scotland
Website
+44 1786 450000
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Stirling Castle
from $19.30
More Info
from $39.90
More Info
from $41.20
More Info
from $46.40
More Info
Reviews (8,005)
Filter reviews
6,293 results
Traveler rating
4,218
1,557
349
107
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
4,218
1,557
349
107
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour unicorn cafe stirling heads unicorn tapestries royal palace free tour period costume regimental museum scottish history mary queen of scots argyll and sutherland highlanders explorer pass the kitchen car park surrounding countryside great history lots of history
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 6,293 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

This castle was so in tact we spent hours here. They had crafts for kids, dancing, a great cafe, live actors dressed up, a loom work exhibit, a Lego exhibit. They also had interactive ways to learn about the history from audio to video press...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Anaispins
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Absolutely beautifully restored and maintained by Historic Scotland. I will not spoil the surprises waiting your visit, but do take a guided tour included in the entry price, fascinating and informative. Just go and see.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Stephen D
Reviewed 3 days ago

Spent the afternoon here, and the castle is really easy to reach from the train/bus station. There is a free land train to reach the castle entrance if you are travelling with children/elderly, as well as parking which my friend and I noticed. Good views...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Chow_TW
Reviewed 4 days ago

Fantastic place to visit even on a damp winters day the guild was very knowledgeable and entertaining and it was well worth the money, a must visit we would go again if in Stirling

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank oldboy54
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Six and four year olds lasted two hours! They liked the children’s section with the various hands on activities. Best of all was the LEGO display around the back. As an adult always good to visit the castle. Looking forward to the Argyll’s museum reopening

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Bill R
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I had a weekend break in Stirling in early February. We loved wandering around the old town area. Stirling Castle is absolutely stunning inside and so is the outer areas. What an amazing view. The guide was excellent too. Well worth a...More

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank carolinemL3241FK
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stirling Castle certainly looks impressive as you drive up to it. Stirling Castle and the Wallace monument sit atop opposite Hills. There has been considerable restoration work undertaken at Stirling Castle and although necessary it did seem to detract from the authenticity. I particularly enjoyed...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Jo C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

For sure worth of going for a guided tour and book minimum 2 hours. Keep in mind that Scotland can be windy and cold snd castle is on a top of a hill.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank T8259SGpeter
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are pleased to enjoy the castle,everything there good, if the ticket price lower, that's better. Better in a nice weather.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank WilliamWilson4302
Reviewed 1 week ago

I did a free tour with Julia and she was wonderful. She provided good stories about life in the past in Stirling Castle. I would also recommend the audio tour to be able to get more detailed info. Super easy to get to from Edinburgh...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Daisy_Alberta
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 nearby hotels
The Portcullis Hotel
214 reviews
.09 miles away
Travelodge Stirling City Centre
159 reviews
.30 miles away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2,358 reviews
.32 miles away
Hotel Colessio
917 reviews
.34 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 250 nearby restaurants
The Smithy
298 reviews
.13 miles away
Darnley Coffee House
295 reviews
.22 miles away
Green Gates Indian Restaurant
1,022 reviews
.25 miles away
Hermann's
656 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 140 nearby attractions
The Old Town Jail
407 reviews
.22 miles away
Argyll Sutherland Highlanders Regimental Museum
240 reviews
.17 miles away
Church of the Holy Rude
379 reviews
.17 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Alyson D
October 7, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from chayblyth | Reviewed this property |
A park and ride is the easiest way and yes money is essential.
0
Votes
SoraLochiel
October 1, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Iain M |
This would only happen if it was a political gathering that had not informed H.E.S. If you had informed the custodian I'm sure they would have accommodated you as long as you were there for non political reasons
3
Votes