We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stirling Castle

Closed Now: 9:30 AM - 4:15 PM
Open today: 9:30 AM - 4:15 PM
ADMISSION TICKETS (1)
Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket
From $19.66*
ADMISSION TICKETS (1)
Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket
From $19.66*
BOOK A TOUR
7,049
All photos (7,049)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good26%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“guided tour”(413 reviews)
“stirling heads”(124 reviews)
“unicorn cafe”(94 reviews)
About
Dominating the skyline for miles around, Stirling Castle is a shining example of Renaissance architecture. Visitors can look out from its high stone walls to the battlefields of Stirling Bridge where great medieval armies clashed to decide the fate...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:30 AM - 4:15 PM
See all hours
Contact
| Upper Castle Hill, Old Town, Stirling FK8 1EJ, Scotland
Website
+44 1786 450000
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Stirling Castle
from $19.66
More Info
from $40.64
More Info
from $49.82
More Info
from $45.88
More Info
Reviews (8,057)
Filter reviews
6,335 results
Traveler rating
4,250
1,567
349
107
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
4,250
1,567
349
107
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour stirling heads unicorn cafe unicorn tapestries royal palace free tour period costume regimental museum scottish history mary queen of scots argyll and sutherland highlanders explorer pass the kitchen car park surrounding countryside great history stunning views
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 6,335 reviews
Reviewed today

Rhys our guide, gave an informative tour of the castle. He appeared to know his stuff and answered all questions thrown at him.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank 483trishm
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Absolutely fantastic place me and hubby came away for the weekend and visited the castle and grounds steeped in our Scottish history we will be back with the kids

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Natasha C
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

A great visit - history is explained well and architecture is worth the visit alone. Fascinating insights into the detail of historical events. Thoroughly recommend the time needed to do it justice.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank kevinwU9884RO
Reviewed 5 days ago

I walked up the hill to Stirling Castle since I had never actually stepped foot inside a real castle. Stirling Castle did not disappoint. I think my favorite part was Queen Anne's Garden. It was beautiful and relaxing. Trying to picture Queen Anne tending to...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank KellyChristine
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

It was beyond what I thought , so quaint and so cute , so much history absolutely stunning place. Loved it

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank NatashaPrinsloo
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Another great visit, especially to see the tapestries and the Lego exhibition. The staff were very helpful and professional. Plenty of room for parking.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Roger B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent an afternoon with my daughter and family at Stirling Castle. We went, mainly to visit the Lego Exhibition, but took in the other attractions at the castle. Being my first visit to this lovely castle, and having only previously visited Edinburgh Castle many years...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Jim4413
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have lived in Stirling for over 25 years and visited the castle on several occasions. We have watched the transformation of the great hall, the kitchens and the palace. Truly amazing restoration. Staff are friendly and welcoming.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Catherine C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A bit expensive, but we were there all day. I went with my nephew. We have been couple of times before, its fantastic. There is lots to see and do, i would recommend that you buy from the gift shop within the military part as...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank margareth481
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a beautiful visit, the rooms are well furnished giving the visitor an idea of what it was like to live in the castle way back in history, the kitchens display the way food was prepared, the queens apartments are impressive, everything is sign posted...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank henryborgbarthet
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 nearby hotels
The Portcullis Hotel
214 reviews
.09 miles away
Travelodge Stirling City Centre
182 reviews
.30 miles away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2,373 reviews
.32 miles away
Hotel Colessio
939 reviews
.34 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 253 nearby restaurants
The Smithy
302 reviews
.13 miles away
Darnley Coffee House
300 reviews
.22 miles away
Green Gates Indian Restaurant
1,070 reviews
.25 miles away
Hermann's
660 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 140 nearby attractions
The Old Town Jail
410 reviews
.22 miles away
Argyll Sutherland Highlanders Regimental Museum
240 reviews
.17 miles away
Church of the Holy Rude
381 reviews
.17 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Alyson D
October 7, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Jetset124 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, you need cash. There is plenty of parking, but arrive early to avoid crowds
0
Votes
SoraLochiel
October 1, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Iain M |
This would only happen if it was a political gathering that had not informed H.E.S. If you had informed the custodian I'm sure they would have accommodated you as long as you were there for non political reasons
3
Votes