We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portland Hall Spa

17A Portland Street, Southport PR8 1LR, England
+44 1704 537733
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Disappointing

After reading other reviews and visiting using a Groupon voucher I was open minded as to the level... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
KcharlesC59
,
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
via mobile
I'll Be Back!

My friend & I won a voucher in a competition for the full pamper package here. We were certainly... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 5 days ago
michelleduerden
,
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Read all 1,436 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
Portland Hall Spa is a Moroccan themed day spa offering peace, quiet, relaxation, and exceptional customer service.You'll find warmth, cosiness, and quirkiness in the unique, fabulous surroundings of an old Synagogue in the town centre of Southport, Merseyside,NW England.The spa offers massage,facial,body treatments and food. Pamper packages last a few hours or a whole day. Spa breaks are available with the Ramada Hotel. Perfect for couples, friends, and singles.
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good21%
  • Average10%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible21%
Travelers talk about
“spa pool” (99 reviews)
“course meal” (118 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
LOCATION
17A Portland Street, Southport PR8 1LR, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1704 537733
Write a Review
Reviews (1,436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

After reading other reviews and visiting using a Groupon voucher I was open minded as to the level of service we would expect but still found it very disappointing. Right from the offset things were poor. We were greeted by a very sullen receptionist who...More

Thank KcharlesC59
Portlandhallspa, Front Office Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Good Morning, Thank you for your feedback, however I am slightly confused as to why it has taken so long. Your visit to us was clearly a while ago now as we, as always, have had some great improvements over the last few months. One...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

My friend & I won a voucher in a competition for the full pamper package here. We were certainly glad we used it! On entering the spa, we were given white robes & slippers & a key to our locker. We were then shown to...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank michelleduerden
Portlandhallspa, Front Office Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Good Afternoon Michelle Thank you so much for your kind words, it is always music to our ears when our hard work is not only appreciated but mentioned too. In regards to the wait for your treatments, I'm sure that you are aware that this...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

We spent a wonderful afternoon in this peaceful spa. Great afternoon tea followed by three relaxing treatments, delivered by professional staff who knew exactly how to get rid of the knots in my shoulders!More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Neil P
Portlandhallspa, Front Office Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Good Afternoon Neil It always reviews like yours that keep us doing what we are doing so well. Thank you so much for taking your time to leave us this feedback. We would love to welcome you back to our Spa, please look out for...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this spa as a birthday treat for my mum. I have been to many different spas over the years....but portland hall spa is by far the best spa I have ever been to. Compared go other spas I've been to, this is the...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank ashleighgrierson
Portlandhallspa, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Ashleigh, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. I am pleased that your mums birthday treat was absolutely fabulous, I will personally pass on all your feedback to our staff. As a family business we work really hard...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Was very surprised that we were not given water after having a back/shoulder massage and facial, it is the first time I have had one and not be offered a drink. When we were paying for our upgrades I was shocked that we were charged...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank stano2016
Portlandhallspa, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Stan, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do recommend that you do drink plenty of water after massages and I do apologise that no one offered you anything to drink, any of our staff are always happy to assist...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friend and I went for a massage & facial. Upon arrival the receptionist was friendly and helpful. We filled in the relevant forms & enjoyed a drink prior to our treatments. Our therapists were chatty, friendly & the massage was very good. The light...More

Thank Jo M
Portlandhallspa, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Jo, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am thrilled that your visit was pleasant with us and that your treatments where lovely and I will personally pass on your feedback to our team. I would like to take this...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was taken here by my daughter and mum as a birthday treat. We had a lovely day.. Staff were very friendly.. Building is beautifull inside.. The massage and facial was very good and relaxing.. The food was fab.. I would highly recommend this place...More

2  Thank Sandra G
Portlandhallspa, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Sandra, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It was wonderful to read that your day with your daughter was very relaxing and that our staff where attentive to your needs. I hope your birthday was wonderful and I will personally...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Literally one of the worst spa's I have ever been to. We paid for the 'upgrade' for what was supposed to be a 3 course A La Carte menu. It was horrendous. The food was vile, the chicken starter tasted like it was about 4...More

1  Thank Amy S
Portlandhallspa, Front of House Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Amy, What a very disappointing review. I am very saddened to hear you think our food is 'vile', as our chef takes extreme pride in delivering fresh, made to order food to every single customer and we consistently receive positive feedback to reflect this....More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friend bought this for my birthday present and we had an amazing time. The therapists were very good and we throughly enjoyed our neck back & shoulder massages, facials & I had an eye treatment while my friend had a body aliment. We had...More

Thank 3countries4girls
Portlandhallspa, Front Office Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you girls for taking time to leave this review, we are over the moon to hear you had an amazing birthday here at our Spa. I will personally pass your comments over to our restaurant team regarding the afternoon tea you experienced with us,...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Brilliant always have a positive experience when visit. Tried lots of treatments and all have been great

Thank Miss W
Portlandhallspa, Front Office Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are always so pleased to see returning clients, we can't thank you enough for your continued custom, and of course for your fabulous review We hope to see you again very soon, Many thanks Danielle

Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Lings on Kings
582 reviews
.10 miles away
Forge Brasserie
429 reviews
.11 miles away
Twelve
100 reviews
.10 miles away
The Fig Bistro
84 reviews
.14 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Atkinson
543 reviews
.22 miles away
Southport Marine Lake
518 reviews
.37 miles away
Model Railway Village
263 reviews
.33 miles away
Southport Little Theatre
116 reviews
.37 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ClaireGeorgie
January 21, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Portlandhallspa | Property representative |
Hi Claire. Thank-you for your question. I am pleased to inform you that Portland Hall Spa does have a private candle-lit spa pool, Moroccan Mud Rasul and private Jacuzzi pool. Unlike shared or communal spas, where the... More
1
Vote
Sarah W
October 28, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Portlandhallspa | Property representative |
Dear Guest, Please contact us directly if you require any assistance as I am unsure as to the question. Kind Regards Alex
0
Votes
aj1983
October 23, 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from georgina l |
I'm sat here now at the spa after being told to arrive at 9.30 for ten o'clock treatments, we was taken to our room at 10.05 was chilly the therapist said she will get some blankets, hopping on to the bed we realised the... More
3
Votes