We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
WHAT A LITTLE GEM

What a wonderful find. Searching for cream teas whilst on holiday and up pops this little gem... read more

Reviewed today
RonJLock
via mobile
Quaint, fun quirky

What a great find. Tucked away behind some residential houses you are welcomed into a warm and... read more

Reviewed yesterday
the_grants_uk1
,
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Read all 586 reviews
All photos (158)
All photos (158)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good14%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“cakes”(164 reviews)
“old mill”(24 reviews)
“cream cheese”(21 reviews)
About
SEASONAL ONLY: Please see website or FB. Opens 11am, last orders at 5pm. 4 times Winner of the Devon Life "Best Tearoom in Devon Award" . 16th century working watermill and now Bunny Barn for all us kids . About half a mile east of Ilfracombe town...more
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
Watermouth Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9QY, England
Website
+44 7554 310176
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveler rating
474
83
18
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
474
83
18
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes old mill cream cheese home made chocolate cake potting shed from the oven flour milled warm scones lovely owners well worth a visit treasure hunt little gem tucked away feel very welcome coastal path lovely place
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 584 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

What a wonderful find. Searching for cream teas whilst on holiday and up pops this little gem. Cream tea to die for, all freshly baked scones, sandwiches with generous fillings and huge teapots. As for the coffee and walnut cake, what can i say, better...More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank RonJLock
Reviewed yesterday

What a great find. Tucked away behind some residential houses you are welcomed into a warm and snug old mill. The owners and family were all busy serving us and making fresh scones! I overheard 2 other families ask for gluten free scones, and there...More

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank the_grants_uk1
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

What a lovely place! I would definately recommend the afternoon tea for two, great value and delicious. The scones were amaaaazing. Definately worth a visit. And kids could go and feed the lambs and bunnies as a bonus

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Lina E
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Wow, what a lovely little place this is. The homemade cakes and scones are amazing. It took me a while to choose but the caramelized walnuts on the coffee cake swayed me :) my son had the chocolate scone with nutella and clotted cream -...More

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Jonathan R
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Great place to stop off for lunch or cake. Staff were very helpful and they had many different cake choices to choose from including gluten free, dairy free and vegan. The prices were very reasonable and would definitely return.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank clc468
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We visited as we were visiting the area and read great reviews- it didn’t disappoint! The staff were friendly, the scones were delicious and the environment is quaint and picturesque. We will definitely return when we are next in the area.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Monica_Gal1985
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went on Mother’s Day and reserved a table, glad we did, they were so busy but that didn’t effect the service we received or the quality of food. We ordered afternoon tea ....... which consisted of sandwiches, scones, and choice of cake. Between us...More

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank loulou090669
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We took our 10yr old Son who has autism to Hele Corn Mill for afternoon tea. We are always worried how we will be recieved when eating out as it can be entertaining sometimes with our Son. We entered the Corn Mill tea room and...More

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank Becky b
Helemill, Owner at Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review. Perhaps next time take a guided tour of the mill on Mondays Wednesdays and Fridays, at 4.30. Your son can grind some flour and see our 1920's National engine run. If a child or adult has any concerns we...More

Reviewed October 29, 2018

Visited Hele Corn Mill in search of a traditional Devon tea and we were not disappointed. The owner is a wealth of knowledge and educated us on the Devon split scone. We enjoyed these as well as plain and fruit scones which were all excellent....More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Clairesays
Hele_Corn_Mill, Owner at Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2019

Thanks for your kind review. We are currently closed for the winter, re-opening on 29th March 2019. Our full opening times will soon be posted on our website. Other guests, please note:- dogs are welcome in the gardens and Tearoom but, because of food hygiene...More

Reviewed October 24, 2018 via mobile

We had the best cream tea with freshly baked scones and big pots of tea. We had cheese scones with cream cheese and onion chutney as well as the traditional scones with jam and clotted cream. Great way to soak up the late autumn sun!...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank emma963
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 nearby hotels
Varley House
510 reviews
.32 miles away
Marine Court Hotel
450 reviews
.52 miles away
The Royal Britannia
409 reviews
.75 miles away
Imperial Hotel
333 reviews
1.03 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 125 nearby restaurants
Hele Corn Mill and Tea Room
259 reviews
.06 miles away
Adele's Cafe
396 reviews
.77 miles away
Take Thyme Fish Restaurant
442 reviews
.79 miles away
The Hele Bay Pub
402 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 61 nearby attractions
Xtreme Coasteering
104 reviews
.08 miles away
South West Coast Path Walk - Ilfracombe and the Torrs
169 reviews
.72 miles away
Chambercombe Manor
354 reviews
.55 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mark H
October 29, 2017|
Answer
Response from Helemill | Property representative |
We are now closed until spring 2018 while we undertake renovation works starting with the Mill roof and then on to redecoration. Hopefully see you next year Regards the Miller
0
Votes
Gracetommacsen
July 25, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Helemill | Property representative |
If you were to walk it takes about 35 mins by road as we are the other side of Hillsborough (big rock by harbour) so walk round harbour and keep hill to your left and stay on main road by Thatch Pub at top of slope and we... More
0
Votes
ummabdillah2010
March 25, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Hele_Corn_Mill | Property representative |
There is no parking in the mill or Cornmill Close but you may be able to park in Watermouth Road which has no restrictions. The large public carpark is in Beach Road (to the left of Hele Bay pub). Parking is reasonably... More
1
Vote