We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Zog trail - good but could be better

This trip was our third in the series (previous trails where the Gruffalo and the Highway Rat). The... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Border2000
,
Hereford, United Kingdom
Great stopping place

We were there on a beautiful warm sunny Easter Saturday, it was very busy but there is so much... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
70ish
,
Worcester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 150 reviews
All photos (47)
All photos (47)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good29%
  • Average11%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“gruffalo trail”(17 reviews)
“go ape”(16 reviews)
“play area”(15 reviews)
About
Beechenhurst lies in the heart of the forest, and is a great place to start your adventure in the Forest of Dean. Beechenhurst is the starting point for the famous Sculpture Trail, there are additional waymarked walks of varying lengths beginning...more
Contact
Speech House Road, Coleford GL16 7EG, England
More
Improve This Listing
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
83
44
17
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
83
44
17
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gruffalo trail go ape play area forest of dean activity pack car park plenty of parking forestry commission older kids adventure park few hours play ground nice cafe great walk circular walk picnic tables autumn colours
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This trip was our third in the series (previous trails where the Gruffalo and the Highway Rat). The Zog trail was entertainining and good fun and is best followed using the activity pack that's available from the visitor centre. Just about the right distance for...More

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Border2000
FC-Ranger, Beechenhurst Ranger at Beechenhurst, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your feedback. The Corsican pine was infected with Dosthistroma Needle Blight which causes the trees to lose their needles and eventually die and the Japanese larch was at risk to Phytopthora ramorum – a highly contagious disease found in other parts of...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were there on a beautiful warm sunny Easter Saturday, it was very busy but there is so much space it didn't feel crowded at all we purchased tubs of ice cream and had no difficulty finding a seat. As well as the play area...More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank 70ish
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you are thinking of doing the sculpture trail then be prepared to be disappointed! We have done many sculpture trails in the past, and expected a lot more from the Forest of Dean. 4.5 miles of trail does not reward you with many sights...More

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank ilikeengland2015
FC-Ranger, Beechenhurst Ranger at Beechenhurst, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy the Sculpture Trail. We have 17 Sculptures on the trail that are inspired by the trees, wildlife and heritage of the Forest of Dean. A free map can be downloaded from our website that gives details...More

Reviewed April 13, 2019

Plenty to do here, with surrounding walks, picnic tables, play are for children, nice cafe. WheelchIr accessible in some parts where it is flat and tarmaced, disabled parking area available.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank melaniegetg00d
Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

Visited Beechenhurst for the second time and another great visit. Lots of paths to stroll along and, as always in woodland, plenty to see. There is the sculpture trail to follow, though not all the sculptures are great, but something to keep children amused and...More

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank mrsgeyser1
Reviewed February 27, 2019 via mobile

This is the second time I have been here and it was just as nice as the first time. There's two trails to do here, a sculpture trail and one for younger children which feature a character from a Julia Donaldson book. Last time we...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank addict2holidays
Reviewed February 20, 2019 via mobile

We took our grand daughters aged 4 and 6 for a day out in the February half term to do the Zog trail which had been advertised. The visit got off to a bad start because, not having cash we had to pay the £3...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Tony210913
FC-Ranger, Beechenhurst Ranger at Beechenhurst, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Tony, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit. We have a pay and display machine that accepts cards near the main building and a Rangers Hatch that sells tickets during the school holidays. I believe that during the half...More

Reviewed February 4, 2019 via mobile

We arrived at the car park, went off and bought a trail map, then the expedition began. The paths are well maintained and clearly sign posted making for an easy and straightforward walk. The facilities were of a very high standard and the staff very...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 989robertf
Reviewed February 1, 2019

As a destination Beechenhurst was a good venue. Easy parking, child friendly cafe, good play ground and nice walks. But the Zog trail was very disappointing. A circular walk round pictures of various dragons based on Zog’s dragon school, but little to engage a three...More

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank RaRawith3yearold
FC-Ranger, Recreation Ranger at Beechenhurst, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

A Zog activity pack is available that makes the trail even better, inside you can find: •A special lens which reveals hidden pictures along the trail •A booklet with fun activities and a pencil •A Zog mask to help make your day picture perfect Thank...More

Reviewed December 9, 2018

Loved the big car park and excellent tea shop/cafe with good selection of cakes. You have to buy the leaflet to walk the sculpture trail however worth buying as had a good walk! Only thing that could change is the ticket machine, very slow and...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Holly M
FC-Ranger, Beechenhurst Ranger at Beechenhurst, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2019

Hi Holly We have just installed a new pay and display machine that now accepts cards and the Sculpture Trail Leaflet is now available for free download from our website. Thank you for your review.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
The Speech House Hotel
899 reviews
.37 miles away
Bells Hotel and Country Club
369 reviews
2.34 miles away
The Belfry Hotel
178 reviews
3.54 miles away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
813 reviews
3.56 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 40 nearby restaurants
The Woodman
290 reviews
2.44 miles away
White Hart Inn
97 reviews
2.44 miles away
Postage Stamp Cafe
57 reviews
2.51 miles away
The Wye Fry
35 reviews
2.54 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 29 nearby attractions
The Forest of Dean
563 reviews
.93 miles away
Cannop Cycle Centre
111 reviews
.50 miles away
The Cyril Hart Arboretum
48 reviews
.60 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Wendy M
April 4, 2019|
Answer
Response from Patricia S | Reviewed this property |
Yes!
0
Votes
Marie J
October 17, 2018|
Answer
Response from Patricia S | Reviewed this property |
In parts, yes
1
Vote
Road545180
October 1, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Peonie99 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, lovely area for walking dogs, with many routes through the sculpture trail to follow
0
Votes