We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Interesting house & gardens

Unfortunately it was a wet day so the time in the garden was limited. The house was full of... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
goodi134
,
UK
A fabulous place To Visit

My husband & I bought a joint season pass for Holker & visit most weeks when we can. The house is... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Ann C
,
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 599 reviews
All photos (264)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good32%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“formal gardens”(19 reviews)
“gift shop”(40 reviews)
About
Holker Hall is the home of the Cavendish Family who welcome visitors of all ages to one of the best-loved stately homes in Britain. Magnificently situated only a short distance from Grange-over-Sands and the expanse of Morecambe Bay and is set in...more
Contact
Cark-in-Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 7PL, England
Website
+44 15395 58328
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (599)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveler rating
312
195
44
16
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
312
195
44
16
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews well worth a visit formal gardens gift shop stately home cakes lovely house and gardens courtyard cafe national trust interesting house lime tree deer park room guides stone circle open to the public wander around entry price round the gardens
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 591 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately it was a wet day so the time in the garden was limited. The house was full of interesting objects & felt a loved & lived in home. The restaurant was overpriced & we were a captive audience. Burger & chips were over £16!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank goodi134
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time I have been to Chilli Fest. But it will be the last time. Very poor this year - very few stalls, even fewer with a ‘chilli’ theme and no actual chillis/plants to be found (they had them last year -...More

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank V4683HOjohnt
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went along to the chilli festival, entrance was £6.50 per adult, there was about 15 stalls there and only 3 of them had any chillies, everything was so expensive as the stall holders had to recoup the money paid to be there, a complete...More

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 624RobertM
holkerhallandgardens, General Manager at Holker Hall and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi 624RobertM, We are sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience at our chilli festival this past weekend. We had 42 stall holders all told, some of which were sole chilli traders, others had tailored there offering to those looking for...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband & I bought a joint season pass for Holker & visit most weeks when we can. The house is lovely with lots of interesting things to see & the gardens have so much to see & enjoy it’s lovely to see the difference...More

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Ann C
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a lovely morning here a few days ago. There were 4 in our party plus a dog. 2 went into the house and gardens whilst the other 2 went into the park land with the dog. Staff were all very friendly and the...More

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Travelbuddyholly
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I enjoyed visiting Holker Hall. The Hall interiors are well worth a look. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful and information packs to read as you go round are supplied. There are also guides in the rooms. The gardens are simple but...More

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank hvine
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Previous intended visits had been thwarted by the weather. This visit was more propitious. There were a limited number of stall holders at the plant sale fair that day but there was plenty of variety and we found several products to buy. We visited the...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank KBofLB
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review is solely for the purpose of letting people know about the struggle I had with the wheelchair in the gardens. I had made enquires before I purchased the ticket about viewing the gardens with my elderly mum in the wheelchair and was given reassurance...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Caroline B
holkerhallandgardens, General Manager at Holker Hall and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Afternoon Caroline, We are very sorry to hear about your experience. We like to pride ourselves on being accessible for all our visitors and have many disabled and wheelchair using visitors every week. The ground in the gardens is uneven in places and these...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

nothing their in the gardens apart from a few very expensive cake stands £13 each to look round the hall was far too expensive for a large family staff very abrupt and either not knowledgeable or not very informative thought we would spend a few...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank BarbaraPeter S
holkerhallandgardens, General Manager at Holker Hall and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Afternoon Barbara, Thank you for your note and we're sorry that you did not enjoy your visit with us. Our ticket pricing is £13 for the Hall & Gardens with under 16's going free which we feel is good value for money. The cake...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'll think twice about coming again! Saw this advertised on Holker website advertised as local growers selling local produce, spring bulbs, hardy plants. We thought we would have a day out driving from Garstang. Got there lovely staff directed us to free parking on the...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank 55gardner
holkerhallandgardens, General Manager at Holker Hall and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Afternoon 55gardner. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your visit to us on Bank Holiday Sunday. The plant fair and food market was a very well attended event with many visitors commenting on how full and vibrant the stalls looked. There were...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 nearby hotels
Uplands Inn Cartmel
118 reviews
1.95 miles away
Lambert Manor
303 reviews
2.21 miles away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
332 reviews
2.43 miles away
Clare House
93 reviews
2.77 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 54 nearby restaurants
Fat Flour Bakery
75 reviews
.30 miles away
Flounders Fish & Chips
154 reviews
.59 miles away
The Ilex Bar and Brasserie
56 reviews
.34 miles away
Hope and Anchor
152 reviews
.60 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 42 nearby attractions
Skydive Northwest
94 reviews
1.17 miles away
Bogle Crag Trail
8 reviews
1.61 miles away
Lakeland Segway
556 reviews
1.66 miles away
Lakeland Miniature Village & Oriental Garden
171 reviews
.57 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
66425kh
March 4, 2019|
Answer
Response from holkerhallandgardens | Property representative |
Hello! Our afternoon teas are £16.50 each and pre booking is essential. Please call 015395 58328 to book these in. Alternatively you can buy a combined ticket for the Hall & Gardens with an afternoon tea for £26 each. We... More
0
Votes
332kirstyh
August 25, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Dawn J | Reviewed this property |
Not in the gardens themselves - but dogs allowed in the parkland outside of the gardens
0
Votes
Abi G
February 24, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from raer963 | Reviewed this property |
If anyone is still after this info, the price was £12.50 for entry to Hall and Gardens as of October 2018!
0
Votes