We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rutland Falconry and Owl Centre

Features Animals
Review Highlights
Hidden gem not to miss

Spotted this on the way round the North shore of Rutland Water, no idea it existed beforehand. We... read more

Reviewed today
sptrowbridge
,
Lincoln, United Kingdom
via mobile
Superb day out - real expertise

Experience bought as a gift and had a fabulous day. Chance to walk with the owls and hawks, and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jude_Nottm
,
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Read all 342 reviews
All photos (171)
All photos (171)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good18%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“harris hawk”(39 reviews)
“birds of prey”(54 reviews)
“big cats”(17 reviews)
About
Collection of birds of prey located in 42 acres ancient woodland
Contact
Burley Bushes Exton Lane | Exton, Oakham LE15 7TA, England
Website
+44 7778 152814
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveler rating
222
64
19
9
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
222
64
19
9
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harris hawk birds of prey big cats hour experience their natural habitat flying display falconry experience woodland walk birthday present beautiful birds his life perch young man real character groupon deal brilliant experience walking boots
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 342 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

Spotted this on the way round the North shore of Rutland Water, no idea it existed beforehand. We were delighted with what we found. The set up is rustic and natural, the owners preferring to use natural materials rather than man-made to reduce our footprint...More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank sptrowbridge
Reviewed 1 week ago

Experience bought as a gift and had a fabulous day. Chance to walk with the owls and hawks, and flight to glove by both. Lots of experience and knowledge shared by Tom (a well rehearsed but genuine patter!) ; learnt so much and great to...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Jude_Nottm
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited today with the father in law and WOW. what an experience. incredible knowledge from the young host, Tom. not a question he couldn't answer. the walk through the woods with a bird of choice (although I was just a spectator) was thrilling and...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Stuart-Paul R
jkL9993HF, Guest Relations Manager at The Rutland Falconry and Owl Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We’re glad you enjoyed your time with us at the centre. Thank you for a great review. Look forward to seeing you again soon🦉

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My son has an interest in owls and myself hawks and eagles- We searched the web for the nearest owl centre to Kettering. On arrival we were greated and had 2.5 hrs of great fun. The owls and birds of prey seemed quite happy perched...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank carolyn c
jkL9993HF, Guest Relations Manager at The Rutland Falconry and Owl Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

It was a pleasure to meet you both and I’m glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for a great review and for supporting the centre. I’ll make sure you’re booked in for Big Cat Day on 22nd April.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great day out.The activity was excellent and the knowledge imparted was well worth the visit alone.My Bengal owl Benjy watched me like an hawk and for an old man as they say in Leicester I was frit!{Frightened]

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Richard K
Reviewed February 24, 2019 via mobile

Visited today with a friend and it exceeded my expectations in many ways. Nothing was rushed, we arrived and was greeted in a friendly manner. We were told to have a walk around and look at the many different birds who all looked well looked...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Blimey123
jkL9993HF, Guest Relations Manager at The Rutland Falconry and Owl Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2019

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us, thank you for such a lovely review. Sorry about the jokes..... I have to listen to them all the time!!!!!! We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed February 17, 2019 via mobile

2 hour experience with owls and hawks. Lots of contact time with the birds. Guide Tom was brilliant and very knowledgeable. Would highly recommend.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank thelma101
Reviewed February 17, 2019

Really good hour or two for the kids. Fascinating raptors. The chap in charge is really knowledgeable and shares that knowledge really well. Well worth a visit as part of a Rutland Water day.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank David L
Reviewed January 29, 2019 via mobile

I had arrange the 2 hour hawk and owl experience for my mother’s birthday. When we arrived we were greeted by a woman with no customer service skills and very rude, if it hadn’t been for my mother we would had left there and then!...More

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Francesca M
Jeannie K, Volunteer at The Rutland Falconry and Owl Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2019

We are sorry that you were not completely happy with your visit. The misunderstanding on your arrival was because you had not made it clear how many places you wanted when booking. We have to be strict on numbers as not all of our birds...More

Reviewed January 18, 2019 via mobile

I found this place to be upsetting and disturbing. A huge eagle owl locked up in a small garden shed was trying to flap its wings and from the sounds it was making it was clearly distressed....a large vulture trying desperately to fly in a...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank hayleymason100
Jeannie K, Volunteer at The Rutland Falconry and Owl Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2019

We are sorry that you felt the need to give us such a poor rating. We've had some very cold days recently and the on one of those days it was decided that the temperature was just too low to put the birds out. Our...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 nearby hotels
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
1,110 reviews
1.46 miles away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
885 reviews
1.54 miles away
Hambleton Hall
702 reviews
2.43 miles away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
643 reviews
2.49 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 87 nearby restaurants
Brasserie Restaurant
61 reviews
1.46 miles away
The Sun Inn
72 reviews
1.48 miles away
The Potting Shed Cafe
13 reviews
1.70 miles away
The Finch's Arms
475 reviews
2.29 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 38 nearby attractions
Rocks By Rail The Living Ironstone Museum
34 reviews
1.48 miles away
Aqua Park Rutland
327 reviews
2.80 miles away
The Black Horse Inn
32 reviews
2.96 miles away
Rutland Railway Museum
9 reviews
1.35 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
964jenniferw
June 14, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from richardaI1992BH | Reviewed this property |
Hi The terrain is quite flat for viewing the birds. Depending on what you do as you can walk with a bird through the woods into the meadow which is a 10 minute walk. Your grand daughters will love it if they are ok around... More
1
Vote
Geoff C
June 23, 2017|
Answer
Response from julie606 | Reviewed this property |
there are a few pubs that may let you take you dog
0
Votes