Essington Fruit Farm

Essington Fruit Farm, Wolverhampton: Hours, Address, Essington Fruit Farm Reviews: 4/5

Essington Fruit Farm
4
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
An award winning farm shop, tearoom and pick your own, with on farm butchery and deli using our own free range pork and pedigree Hereford beef. Our own fruit and veg sold through our farm shop when in season along with countless other local suppliers.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Popular mentions

4.0
278 reviews
Excellent
130
Very good
82
Average
22
Poor
22
Terrible
22

Noalll
Wednesbury, UK22 contributions
Nice food shame about the service
Jun 2021 • Family
Really wish I could give this place a higher rating but the tea room service let it down.
I came here with my wife and 18 month old daughter for the strawberry picking, really enjoyed this part. We then decided to have a bite to eat at the tea room. Now first of f all we cannot fault the quality of the food,.

The service however is a different matter.
We were allowed to choose a seat so we sat in the gazebo at table 9, we was given 2 menus 1 for drinks and one for breakfast, we was sat next to a table who were discussing a cake menu, when the server arrived to take our order we then asked for the cake menu. Not sure why we was not given this aswell.
We then placed our order ( 1 cream tea, 1 beans on toast for little one, 1 apple and blackberry pie with custard 1 tea) .
A few minutes later the server returned to ask which bread we wanted for the toast, the server then went off, a few minutes later the server returned again to ask if I wanted custard with my apple and blackberry pie so I asked for custard. Have a guess…… a few minutes later server returned with the beans on toast and ONE pot of tea and informed me that there was no apple and blackberry pie ( no idea why it took this long).
My apple pie with custard then arrived which I thoroughly enjoyed. No sign of my wife’s cream tea so we waited a few minutes to try and get the attention of a member of staff, I ended up going up to the till to ask the lady behind the counter, it took around 20 minutes from when mine and my daughters food arriving and me asking at the till to get my wife’s order. I had already finished my apple pie and my tea before my wife’s had arrived.

As I said at the beginning of this review, I wish I could give a higher rating but the haphazard service let the tea room down, I understand that with Covid the hospitality industry is still under a lot of stress and may not be able to have a full team of staff on but we saw tables have their order before us and pretty much at the same time. I’m glad my daughters food arrived first or there would have been a very hangry toddler. Also there was a lot of empty tables
Written July 11, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jen_Layton81
Birmingham, UK2 contributions
Very much enjoy it here
Jun 2021 • Solo
They do such a good job here. I am new to all this reveiw website but it is very good. And the produce is of good quality
Written June 30, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Karenlisa66
Wolverhampton, UK27 contributions
Farm Shop
Jan 2021 • Solo
I cannot understand the negative reviews. This place is fantastic, the produce is fresh and top quality, locally produced. It is quite expensive but well worth the extra cost due to the quality. My only negative is that although you can get items like cream, milk and juice in glass bottles there is still alot of unnecessary plastic used, if this can be addressed it would just make a great place greater. Staff are so helpful and polite and in these covid times I can honestly say its the safest place I've been to shop.
Written January 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your 5-star review, we really appreciate it. We've done our best to keep the shop a safe environment for people to shop during the pandemic so your kind words are good to hear. In regards to the plastic use, we are looking at ways to reduce plastic or find eco-friendly alternatives where we can, for example some of the trays that the butchery use are biodegradable and our carrier bags are compostable. We will continue to improve this and thank you for the feedback. Many thanks, Becky
Written January 26, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Laura A
2 contributions
Make the event more child friendly during covid
Oct 2020 • Family
On Sunday myself, my partner and my 2 year old attended the PYO pumpkin event. We have been coming here now for years. This is our fourth year attending this event. Im very grateful that this event still went ahead regardless of the current Covid situation. However, we were very disappointed. The farm is usually decorated beautifully for Halloween and is very good and engageing for children. This year it was very dull and very depressing, it made the current situation feel even more dull. The tent is usually decorated and have areas to take photos with you child. However the tent was empty. It just had some stands with some pumpkins on. You had to pay at a tent which again, was very dull. It wasnt enioyable for children or even for adults in that matter. Understandably the cars and tractor ride were not on due to Covid but im not sure why? Limited numbers were on site as it was pre book only and seats/equipment could of been sanitised between use. Especially when many other places and events were doing things abd had made their event a lot more fun for children. I just feel that this PAID event wasn't worth the money.

After picking our pumpkins we headed up to the farm shop. We asked the gentleman on the door if we could leave our paid pumpkins in the wheelbarrow and if he minded watching them. We said if not one of us would remain outside with them. The gentleman assured us he would watch our pumpkins however when we came out of the shop they had all been put back onto the farm! This issue was resolved however my overall experience this year was very disappointing and i will not return next year.
Written October 21, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Muqtadir H
1 contribution
Bad experience at Essington fruit farm
Sep 2020
Yesterday I went to the farm with my wife after a very long time. We walked into the shop where they were following COVID SOPs but it seemed like there were different rules for different customers according to race. The staff at the till was extremely rude towards us. We went to pay for our items and we were served by an old lady at the till. She Abruptly told us to stand behind the line. We stood on line, waiting for our things to be scanned. At the other checkout we saw a white man paying for his things but he was never told to stand behind the line. He was standing next to a staff member at the till, not even 2 metres apart. We were quite shocked that we were told in a rude manner to stand behind the line, and this other man wasn’t. We recognised one of the staff members who served us from a previous incident at the farm shop and her behaviour towards us was bad then too. Why do your staff have such discriminatory behaviour towards Asians??? My wife was so upset by this behaviour because she lived in Essington as a child and she visited the farm with her parents all the time, so unfortunately the experience has been ruined by racist mannerisms from your staff. Maybe you should all do equality and diversity training. Please stop this kind of behaviour towards Asians, we are all sensible and educated people. Treat others with respect as you would like others to respect you!!!!
Written September 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Muqtadir, thank you for your feedback and we're truly sorry to hear of your experience. We do not condone racism in any form at Essington Farm so it is very disappointing to hear that you felt you were treated in this way. Our current COVID policy is that customers do remain behind the marked lines to ensure a 2m distance and all customers should be asked to adhere to the rules to keep both customers and staff safe during these times. Would it be possible for you to email us your telephone number so we can get a few more details about your visit and the staff members who served you? Our email address is info@essingtonfarm.co.uk. Again, thank you for your feedback and we are sorry about your experience. We hope to hear from you soon. Many thanks, Becky
Written September 14, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MichaelSteph
Wolverhampton, UK3 contributions
Won’t be returning anytime soon
Jul 2020 • Family
Staff are rude!
Fruit is nice
Prices are reasonable
Will not be returning until all this nonsense with COVID is over. We only wanted to pick strawberries I’ve been coming here to do just that for the last 25 years and not once have I been in a field FULL of people so I’m not quite sure why it’s been closed get a system in place if it makes you feel better but seriously get some new staff.
Written July 4, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

james
2 contributions
Not impressed with the meat
May 2020 • Couples
Don't usually go for my meat here but I was passing so thought I would give it another try after not being impressed with a lamb shank I had bought previously. Decided to give the pork ribs a whirl. Can honestly say I have had more meat on a Linda Mcartney sausage. I have had a lot better from supermarkets. I wont be visiting there again.
Written May 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi James, thank you for your review. We're really sorry to hear of your disappointment with your meat from the butchery counter. We will take your feedback on board, and I will pass it on to the relevant managers for their review. It'd be good to hear more about what you bought and your experience - please could you email us your telephone number so a member of management can get in touch? Our email address is info@essingtonfarm.co.uk. Again, very sorry to hear about your experience. Many thanks, Becky
Written May 25, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

EmpressNatalie
1 contribution
Is this the 50s/60s
Apr 2020 • Family
Is this farm rasict? It's the year 2020 and we are talking about Wolverhampton!! and still we felt very awkward at this farm as a black family.

Arriving, the grounds are well kept the gentleman who greeted us as we entered was extremely nice and helpful but then it started, staff inside the shop have no idea what their selling, I enquired about the different Apple juice sold at £3.25 a bottle to which the staff member could not explain the difference between 'Cox' and 'discovery" she also seemed very reluctant to interact with me so I left her to work.

walking around the shop, it seemed very clean, products are over priced but hopefully the quality will be great. you will notice staff memebers staring at you (well at me and my family) again I ignored this and continued with shopping, the lady at the cheese counter seemed polite with me but again they have no idea about the products they are selling, which I find shocking for such a small family run business.

The final blow was when my mum was waiting to pay for our goods, she was served by a young man that I will not name, between him and the lady on the counter they left my mum standing there and served 3 other people, when she finally moved herself and was then served by the young man, the lady then asked the other customers to stand "in line" where my mother had been waiting before hand but was ignored. (my mother is a 6ft black woman so yes they definitely saw her in the queue)

Im not sure if this lady is unaware that you can stand next to black people without catching any diseases but our experience in your shop was not a good one and we felt like it was the 50s/60s again, being pushed to the back of the line and being stared at like we were thieves, I doubt we will come back or encourage anyone to visit which is a shame really as we wanted to support local farms during these hard times.
Written April 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Natalia, I'm really sorry to hear about your experience at the farm. We want to assure you that we are not racist, and we welcome everyone - customers and staff - from all backgrounds. In March, we had to temporarily close our restaurant. We have not furloughed any of our staff, and instead have moved restaurant staff members into other areas of the business including the shop floor. We can only apologise that some of the staff are not as well trained in their new roles and we’re doing our best to make sure they are comfortable and confident whilst working in a different area of the business. Due to the current global Coronavirus crisis, we have had to change the layout of the shop and we are operating strict social distancing measures to keep the shop running in a calm and orderly fashion. This includes a 2 metre distance between shop staff and customers to prevent any contact between the two at our butchery counter, deli counter, tills, and generally around the shop. Again, we want to reassure you we are not racist and we do not condone racism in our business. We sincerely apologise for your experience, we are just trying our best to make sure everyone is safe and social distancing from each other.
Written April 21, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alan R
Bloxwich, UK23 contributions
Essington gem
Mar 2020 • Couples
Now go regularly for lunch excellent food and service, a little more expensive but fresh home cooked food , well worth a visit
Written March 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Alan, many thanks for your review. It's great to hear you enjoy your visits to the farm and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks, Becky
Written March 16, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

paddyr919
Wolverhampton, UK151 contributions
Mid morning brunch
Mar 2020 • Couples
Visited here with my wife for a brunch and a hearty breakfast with all items grown locally, including the sausage bacon and black pudding and all the mushrooms eggs and tomatoes!
A lovley well cooked breakfast In lovley surroundings with tasty freshly squeezed organic orange juice
Lovley breakfast costing around £7 per person - well recommended
Written March 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi there, thank you for your lovely review. Great to hear you enjoyed our breakfasts, and hope to see you again soon! Many thanks, Becky
Written March 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 278
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Essington Fruit Farm

Essington Fruit Farm is open:
  • Sun - Sat 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM