We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Ganton | Station Road, Ganton, Scarborough, England
Phone Number: +44 1944 710329
Website
Description:

One of the worlds top golf courses

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 35 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 18
    Excellent
  • 5
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Quality course and people

We visited last week in glorious weather. The course was its usual high quality was especially fiery fairways and the usual cavernous bunkers (some of which were lacking sand... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 5 days ago
slingyerhook
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 34: English reviews
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited last week in glorious weather. The course was its usual high quality was especially fiery fairways and the usual cavernous bunkers (some of which were lacking sand leaving just a clay base to play off). The caddiemaster was particularly helpful and members very welcoming, making sure that we had a good time. Staff were also very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank slingyerhook
RichardPM7, General Manager at Ganton Golf Club, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed the course & many thanks for the feedback on the bunkers. Their inconsistency of the depth of sand is something we are working on but with 113 of them, & a number of them being very large, it is not a quick process. More 

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The combination of bouncy fairways ,penal rough and cavernous bunkers (with varying amounts of sand) make this a course which will only be enjoyed by competent golfers when its defenses are at this level .Experienced Lady golfers with high 20 handicaps will (and did struggle). That said a very good test and when the rough is lower a fair one... More 

Helpful?
Thank 364tilley
RichardPM7, General Manager at Ganton Golf Club, responded to this review

The course you played was the same one that the members play every day. The rough is the product of the Spring & early Summer weather & is thinning out now we are getting some warmer weather. The inconsistencies in the bunkers is a problem that we are trying to resolve but with 113 of them there is no quick... More 

Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

If you don't like bunkers - forget it! If you haven't got a Blazer and Tie be prepared to be "asked to leave" early. if you want "traditional" Ganton is a must, from the course to the clubhouse. You can almost hear Peter Alliss whispering in your ear as you go around saying "Ben Hogan hit it there in 1949...he... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phil C
RichardPM7, General Manager at Ganton Golf Club, responded to this review

I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Ganton & that you like the traditions we have. We have relaxed the dress code from being entirely jacket & tie to accommodate golfers who prefer to be more casual, but still have a lot that like the formality post golf as it is different from the norm. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2016 via mobile

If only my golf was a good as the club Make sure you book months ahead Wonderful grounds impeccable greens and Geoff the time keeper made us fell at home. 11/10

Helpful?
Thank Richardrobertson
RichardPM7, General Manager at Ganton Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Richard I am really pleased that we have left you with that impression because that is what we try to do for all our golfers. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back again even though it is a long journey for you to make. Kind regards Richard Penley-Martin Club Secretary More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016 via mobile

What can I say about the course other than it was up there with Woodhall Spa and The Ailsa for me in quality. Superb course, brilliantly designed and in great condition for this time of year. Food and hospitality in the clubhouse and shop were also very good. We enjoyed a chat with the friendly starter who's words were "that's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
RichardPM7, General Manager at Ganton Golf Club, responded to this review

We look forward to welcoming you back & judging by the comment from the first tee Fred was starting that day! More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

Always immaculate with every hole a pleasure to play - unless you get stuck in one of the massive bunkers that characterise the course! The staff in the clubhouse, locker rooms and professional's shop are courteous and professional. A comfortable 19th hole and outstanding dining room. In the summer there's nothing more enjoyable than sitting on the terrace, surrounded by... More 

Helpful?
Thank SueSpencer
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed my visit. High winds but had a dry round. Lives up to its reputation for bunkers and the rough was really rough. Would advise taking a few extra golf balls. Would happily go back, preferably in better weather.

Helpful?
1 Thank dalgarnO_12
RichardPM7, General Manager at Ganton Golf Club, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your visit & hopefully we can welcome you back in the summer when the weather will be better More 

England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015

I have read some of the previous reviews and wonder if I played the same course. We were treated to this fantastic experience by our children for our 30th wedding anniversary and were a bit worried that it was some 200 miles away! It was certainly worth the journey and we wouldn't hesitate to do it again. The course is... More 

Helpful?
Thank golfcrazyEngland
RichardPM7, General Manager at Ganton Golf Club, responded to this review

I am pleased that your visit to Ganton was everything that your children hoped it would be & we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2015

Helped by some marvelous weather, we had a great day at Ganton. The course is superb - watch out for the bunkers !! You're not supposed to go in them anyway - however there are a lot of them !! The proshop was very well equipped and the Pro was extremely friendly. The bar was great afterwards as a 19th... More 

Helpful?
Thank ManxmanSJP
RichardPM7, General Manager at Ganton Golf Club, responded to this review

I am glad that you enjoyed your visit & by reading your post you would have seemed to have got the full 'Ganton experience' by going in some of the bunkers. I hope you missed the gorse! More 

london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Of course it's a lovely old clubhouse with very polite gentlemen all around, but the course is very very difficult and I sense they don't like ladies or higher handicaps. Ladies tees on the same tee box as men and you're expected to blindly carry 150 yards or more on several holes. Nothing so vulgar as yardage signs anywhere and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Foodie_Bell
RichardPM7, General Manager at Ganton Golf Club, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy the golf course. It is a championship golf course & as such isn't meant to be an easy challenge. The longest carry off any of the ladies tees is 120 yards & most are less as the majority of our members are higher handicappers. We have reduced the amount of gorse from... More 

Travelers who viewed Ganton Golf Club also viewed

Potter Brompton, Scarborough
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Ganton Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ganton Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?