We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scarborough Castle

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Scarborough Castle Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
+44 1723 372451
Website
Tuesday
Closed
See all hours
Hours:
Wed - Sun 10:00 am - 3:30 pm
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Description:

BLUE BADGE PARKING ONLY IS AVAILABLE. OTHER PARKING PLEASE USE LOCAL PAY...

BLUE BADGE PARKING ONLY IS AVAILABLE. OTHER PARKING PLEASE USE LOCAL PAY & DISPLAY. Head through the imposing gatehouse and step into 3,000 years of history. Explore the castle headland with one of our experienced guides for FREE or embark on your own journey through history with one of our audio tours and gain a fascinating insight into its past, from Iron Age settlements, to the Roman signal station and medieval chapel. The castle's heyday was in the 12th century when it was developed by Henry II and King John. This mighty castle has seen action in some of England's most defining battles. It was twice besieged by Parliamentarians in the Civil War, and has defended king and country from the Jacobites, Napoleon and the German Kaiser, when it came under bombardment during the First World War.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,371 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 738
    Excellent
  • 455
    Very good
  • 131
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Stunning views on a lovely day

Spent a couple of hours here in the castle using our Heritage cards. We went on a tour led by the Heritage staff. Staff were very polite and friendly. The castle isn't as grand as... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed April 11, 2016
TheWoods04
,
Barnoldswick, Lancashire
Add Photo Write a Review

1,371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,348: English reviews
Barnoldswick, Lancashire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2016

Spent a couple of hours here in the castle using our Heritage cards. We went on a tour led by the Heritage staff. Staff were very polite and friendly. The castle isn't as grand as castles on the north east coast e.g Bamburgh but it was worth a visit. The views from the top are stunning on a lovely day.... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheWoods04
Scarborough C, Manager at Scarborough Castle, responded to this review

Hello TheWoods04 Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am really pleased you enjoyed the free tours we offer up at Scarborough Castle. I am sure you agree that they help bring the rich history of the site back to life. The guidebooks and free audio guides also help with further understanding the 3000 year history... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2016

Stopped before entering the door, with a staff member asking if he could 'have a word'. Quite pressurised into signing up, ended up being lectured before we'd taken 3 steps inside the office. Very intimidating and found myself putting myself between the salesman and my girlfriend as I felt very uncomfortable. In the end signed up to make my own... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kieran J
Scarborough C, Manager at Scarborough Castle, responded to this review

Hello Kieran J Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It is unfortunate that your experience left you feeling so presurised into donating to the charity in the form of membership. It is very rare we recieve such comments on the way we sell membership, we try and make visitors fully aware of the benefits of membership... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2016

5£ for students just like me. There were pretty large areas inside. Good panorama from that. There was also a cafe there, hot drinks for everyone just suffered the strong, horrible wind.

Helpful?
Thank Ciaomeng F
Scarborough C, Manager at Scarborough Castle, responded to this review

Hello Ciaomeng F Many thanks for leaving such a lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit up the castle. Sadly weather is out of our control, but please do come back when the sun is shinning! Kind regards More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
539 reviews
379 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2016

It's a bit of a hike up the hill from the town centre but it's well worth it for the fantastic views across both the north and south bays. I wouldn't say there is a lot to see. You can go itto the lower floors of the keep, and there are some other ruins to explore, but it shouldn't take... More 

Helpful?
Thank durham05
Scarborough C, Manager at Scarborough Castle, responded to this review

Hello durham05 Thank you for leaving a review and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your visit! It is unfortunate that you felt there was not a lot to see or that it shouldn't take that long to see. We have 3000 years of history dating from the Bronze Age up to and beyond WWII. With such a lot... More 

Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2016

When we visited Scarborough, we didn't know it had a castle. The walk up to is was well worth the effort. Interesting place, with lovely views.

Helpful?
Thank jane_9758
Scarborough C, Manager at Scarborough Castle, responded to this review

Hello jane_9758 Thank you for leaving a review and I am delighted that you enjoyed coming up to the castle. People are often surprised that we have 16 acres of beautiful headland and I am really pleased you agree it is worth the walk uphill! I do hope that you can make it back up the Scarborough Castle and take... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2016 via mobile

We visited on Tues 5/4/2016 with our 2 daughters 3 and 9, and had a great time. We liked the information dotted around the site. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and gave the girls some time to chat. I'm sure on a warm sunny day you could easily spend all day here with plenty of scope for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen T
Scarborough C, Manager at Scarborough Castle, responded to this review

Hello Karen T Thank you very much for taking the time to wirte a review. I am delighted that you and your family had such a great time. I do hope you will return to Scarborough Castle over the summer (where we hope the sun will be shining) and take advantage of our event days. All details of which can... More 

Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2016

Access to the castle from Scarborough harbor by foot involves a great deal of steps and steep inclines, and there is little parking available adjacent to the attraction. Once through the entrance, and small shop, an incline next to the castle walls leads to the few remaining remnants of the castle buildings themselves. One of the buildings houses a small... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
Scarborough C, Manager at Scarborough Castle, responded to this review

Hello Stephen S Many thanks for taking the time to review the site. As part of the castles natural defences their is an unavoidable incline on to the site. However there is blue badge parking available on site as well as Saint Mary's Church car park and town centres parking being within easy walking distance. I do hope that you... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2016 via mobile

Very impressed with this castle and great views. Must recommend you do the tour, we only got to see the start on our way out and he seems excellent for adults and children. We got a sword and shield for our two 5 year olds to keep them entertained through role play as it is a big site. People probably... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob R
Scarborough C, Manager at Scarborough Castle, responded to this review

Hello Bob R Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am very pleased you and your family had such an enjoyable day. I could not recommend the free guided tours enough. This combined with our guide books and free audio guides help visitors to understand the site, while being entertaining. I hope you will find the... More 

Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2016 via mobile

Disappointed on arrival that there was no particular car park for the castle and so parked in a car park down the hill which had graves in it! Lovely views of north and south beaches from the castle but other than that, it was quite a quick visit round the castle.

Helpful?
Thank Joanne P
Scarborough C, Manager at Scarborough Castle, responded to this review

Hi Joanne P many thanks for leaving a review. I am sorry to see you were disapointed that we do not have a car park. You are right that the nearest car park is down the hill at St Marys church. I am afraid that when the castle was constructed in 1157, there wasnt much thought for parking of vehicles!... More 

Leicester
Level Contributor
280 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2016 via mobile

English Heritage have a monopoly on several of our greatest sites which seems to mean that they can ask what they like for admission - and then put heavy pressure on to take out membership. Surely if it's our heritage then our taxes should pay for it? Having said that this is a stunning castle with great views. The information... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaveThomasLeicester
Scarborough C, Manager at Scarborough Castle, responded to this review

Hello DaveThomasLeicester Thank you for taking the time to write your review. English Heritage has recently become a charity and all the money made is put back into the site in order to protect it for future generations. With the money made through admissions and memberships here at Scarborough Castle for example, repairs have been made to King Johns Chamber... More 

Travelers who viewed Scarborough Castle also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Scarborough Castle and other visitors
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Scarborough Castle staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?