We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!
Sponsored by:
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Currock Road, Carlisle CA2 4AS, England
Phone Number: 0844 826 3013
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 69 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 14
  • 12
    Very good
  • 21
  • 14
  • 8
Nice enough

Decent enough wee place the staff wer all very nice. Apart from the manageress who was clearly trying too hard to put customers off going there. As someone that manages 100s of... read more

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 15, 2016
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 69: English reviews
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Haven't been bowling for some considerable time and decided to take the grandparents along for the advemture! Staff at AMF bowling were very helpful and interested in hearing about our children's half term antics. Bowling lanes were well kept, plenty of choice of different size bowling balls and a great range of snacks and drinks. Connor on reception took some... More 

Thank NeeliaDunoon
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked a party for my 9 year old daughter and 6 friends at AMF bowling Carlisle and was really disappointed. It is advertised as being 2 hrs of non-stop fun which actually involves an hour of bowling (the lanes shut down whether you have finished or not!) and an awful kids meal. The member of staff told me for... More 

Thank Helenlm79
HollywoodBowlAMF, Customer Service Advisor at AMF Bowling, responded to this review

We’re sorry to hear you had a negative experience at our centre in Carlisle as we pride ourselves on the facilities we offer our guests. I’d like to look into this further for you, so please can you email your contact details to hollywoodamf@gmail.com and I’ll be in touch shortly. Many thanks, Katy (Hollywood Bowl Customer Services Team) More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

Visited today with 5 children and we had pre booked online. The manager Sammy jo was very welcoming and friendly it was one of children's birthdays so she put some balloons out and changed screen to say happy birthday was unexpected. The bowling alley has just had an update, fresh paint and bit of decorating which was nice to see.... More 

1 Thank Beverley M
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2016

Four of us went to AMF and had a fantastic time. We booked and paid online which was very easy to do and although we arrived slightly late, the staff were great in getting us set up. They do provide shoes if you want to use them but you can wear your own if you want as long as they... More 

1 Thank Juliet H
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

6 of us were bowling we had 2 babies with us we all played 2 games and had drinks it was good fun we all enjoyed our night its not something we have done together before but is something i would seriously consider to do again as it was good fun and great value for money

3 Thank mrsgol
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2016

With 5 of us playing one game which took about an hour , plus a drink and a few goes on the game machines it can be quite expensive and maybe a thing you do once a month ...but saying that it was fun and the place was clean and tidy and staff very friendly .

2 Thank HAYDN M
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

Decent enough wee place the staff wer all very nice. Apart from the manageress who was clearly trying too hard to put customers off going there. As someone that manages 100s of people, service is key....take some advice and lighten up ;) Apart from that it was good fun altho the games area was limited and the Pool Hall bit... More 

Thank Sanchez247
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

I went here with some friends, there was a deal on for 2 games of bowling and a drink for £9.99, so we thought why not. Staff were quick to locate us a lane and we got started right away, however, as the game of bowling went on, more and more faults became clear. First the machine knocked down some... More 

Thank Philip E
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2016

I booked online on a saturday evening about 10:40 as all the previous times were 'unavailable' I also accidentally booked for 12:40 which I was unaware of. 20 minutes later I received 13 missed called off one of the staff at AMF and 2 voicemails telling me I booked twice and if I was going to turn up to either... More 

Thank megandomville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

Nice place, lots ob bowling alleys, were plenty free (though from around 2pm onwards there was a massive queue so glad we got there at 12:30). Went with nine friends. Cheaper to pay to buy 3 games instead of 2, not sure why so we just got 3 games even though after that time it gets a bit repetitive. Anyway,... More 

Thank Thea W

Travelers who viewed AMF Bowling also viewed

Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria

Been to AMF Bowling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from AMF Bowling staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?