Skegness Model Village
Skegness Model Village
3.5
Points of Interest & Landmarks
This location was reported permanently closed
About
Suggested duration
< 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

3.5
198 reviews
Excellent
77
Very good
43
Average
41
Poor
15
Terrible
22

Lisa C
Skegness, England, United Kingdom1 contribution
Aug 2020
We visited the model village today, as residents of Skegness it’s such an important part of our town and seaside heritage. We have taken our children and now take our grandchildren, they love going and reading the funny names of the shops and businesses.
The lady who was working there today was very friendly and chatty and clearly loves working there and helping to restore some of the buildings. It really is a lovely attraction, very reasonably priced and somewhere to escape the busy seafront, it’s also nice to have the sheltered seating area where you can enjoy the views.
Clearly a lot of hard work goes into the site and it’s lovely to return no matter how many times we have visited over the years.
Written August 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Robert E
Norwich, UK15 contributions
Oct 2020 • Couples
Came to Skegness to visit the model village. No opening details or website anywhere. On the gate it says it's open but was all locked up. On our return the gate was unlocked with people outside who said it wouldn't be opening because of the weather. Nothing wrong with the weather on the day we visited and loads of people around. Get the impression it was more about not being bothered to open which is really disappointing. As with all model villages people have put time and care into their creation and it's sad to see when the current team running it don't appear to have the same care or commitment.
Written October 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

KARL24778
LEEDS8 contributions
Sep 2020 • Family
The model village is looking as good as we have ever seen it. Talking to Liz, she has put so much effort, love and care into the attraction and made it look better than ever while adding more to it. Tell me where else you can spend £3 for an adult for a peaceful and tranquil experience. After COVID-19 and adverse weather Liz has taken on the challenge of re vitalising the mode village and it looks just great. Our kids absolutely loved it and Liz was on hand to talk to them and explain things to them and ask my eldest what he would like to see the next time we visit. A lovely experience as always and I emplore everyone to visit one of Skegness’ hidden gems. Fabulous. Thanks for the time you took Liz. Keep up the amazing work.
Written September 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Katie R
Leicester, UK203 contributions
Aug 2020 • Couples
Gutted.

We tried to visit this model village on a Saturday afternoon on August only to find it closed.

Really poor from the outset - we had tried texting and calling the number online for DAYS beforehand to no avail (to find out if our dogs could go - still don’t know an official answer).

We drove about half an hour, parked up and paid, only to find it all closed with big metal gates over all the entrances. Hugely disappointed.

I do understand sometimes businesses have to close for unforeseen circumstances but in this case there’s usually a note on the door or something. This place could do with having a website (even just a single page) with up to date, accurate information.

I’d suggest you call in advance to see if they’re open but there’s little point. Model villages are sadly, a rarity in the country now and I fear this one won’t be around long.
Written August 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Nicola C.P
Manchester, UK5 contributions
Sep 2020 • Family
Fantastic little place. I have been visiting Skegness for 40 years and am so pleased the model village is being restored. I took my 2 year old daughter for the first time and she loved it. Liz was very helpful and friendly and added to the experience. We look forward to visiting again next time we are in Skegness.
Written October 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

rebeljenn
Ruislip, UK896 contributions
Jul 2020
I visited the model village at skegness at the end of July. I didn't understand the bad reviews because I enjoyed my visit and found the village cared-for and not run down as the other reviews suggest. I understand from one of the staff there that the model village has come under new management as it had not been kept after. All of the buildings had been left out over winter and had disintegrated/broken, so she has had to fix them in addition to the up-keep of the grounds and gardening. I really enjoyed the visit, and the signs on the buildings were funny and added a new level of enjoyment to the model village. (Apparently you can get a ticket at the aquarium for a discount or something.)

Note that only cash is accepted unless you have a ticket from the aquarium. Definitely a must-visit if in Skegness!
Written August 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

HappyCamper645
Canterbury, UK5 contributions
Aug 2020 • Family
We love it here and make sure to visit every time we are in Skegness. Our daughters went round three times last time we were there last month. They are building a new fairy garden there as well
Written September 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

864Anne
Nottinghamshire, UK335 contributions
Sep 2019 • Family
Weeds everywhere could do with a lick of paint all over the train didn't work swimming pool full of algie, total let down waste of money real shame I would of loved our grandson to see it on its glory
Written September 14, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Ken C
Boston, UK1,563 contributions
Jun 2017 • Solo
A recent reviewer described this attraction as 'a bit run down' but I disagree. I like model villages and perhaps the best has to be Bekonskot, but I've not been there for 30 years so things may have changed.

However, in my humble opinion, given it's size Skegness Model Village stands up as one of the BEST!

Admission is inexpensive - £3 for an adult - and that is excellent given what it must cost to keep the place looking smart. The builds are all well crafted and a number are quite substantial structures. The project was started over 50 years ago and I expect there have been numerous changes and improvements over the years.

As I was walking round there were a number of other visitors who, like me, were taking a slow walk to take in everything there is to see. As I left, I noticed a somewhat makeshift visitors book - an exercise book - which perhaps could have been better, but it didn't stop people making comments and there were a lot of positive ones.

I hope this attraction continues to thrive for many more years.
Written June 24, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

779Claire
Northumberland National Park, UK49 contributions
Sep 2016 • Family
It is a cute place to pass a hour (if you stretch it out) but the family ticket is way over priced for what it is!!!!!
Don't get me wrong I fully appreciated all the hard work that's gone into this place BUT it's become extremely tired & I'm sad to say the model village is passed its sell by date, it's gone on to long, you can't flog a dead horse.
Ermmmmm... Friendly lady selling tickets at the entrance, same as everyone els says make sure you read the shops names, not that funny but it'll take your mind off the entrance fee for a second, best to save yourself the trouble and just look at the photos on here, it's a bit like a back garden with miniatures in. They are adding more modern bits in with the old and it really doesn't work at all. I did read trip advisor before I went, I should of listened to everyone else and found something different to do. Everything there is to see is on here in the photo section, it's not better in person!!!!
We was in and out within 20 minutes.
Written September 17, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 194
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Skegness Model Village - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)